Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel - nice beachfront amenities. -

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: Get the boats out of the way of access to the water.
The beach itself was terrible for anyone who wants to swim in the ocean. Fishing boats tied up in front of the hotel blocking access to the water and lots of seaweed in the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Alberto Lopez - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why we did not meet your expectations. We will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future. Sincerely, Alberto Lopez - Reservations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not recieve ocean view

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel staff NOT respecting the paid for reservation.
Location: Walking distance to most attractions in downtown area.
I booked and purchased months in advance multiple units, one of which was suppose have been an ocean view. When I checked in the hotel staff mentioned to me there were no ocean view units left, and nothing could be done about it because I did not book the reservation with them directly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Alberto Lopez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Hope this message finds you well. On behalf of all the Condohotels staff, please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. Sincerely, Alberto Lopez Reservations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A delightful place!

Posted May 26, 2017
The apartment was great, with large bedrooms and living areas, all with individual air conditioning control. Provision of amenities within the apartment was also great, with all modern conveniences! The staff were friendly and helpful and the apartment was cleaned to a spotless state every day. I would definitely return and would heartily recommend it to others
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Alberto, Hotel Management
Dear Rudi; Hope this message finds you well. Thank you for sharing with us your feelings about your stay with us and for recommending us with your friends and relatives. Have a good day! Sincerely, Alberto Lopez - Reservations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Excellent hotel next yo the beach. Awesome staff.

Posted May 3, 2017
It is soo nice to come to your hotel after a long day tour to rest in a clean cool place. Nice relaxing quiet pool. Every time i go to Playa del Carmen i have to stay at this hotel. Super super!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Alberto, Hotel Management
Dear Rosalie; Hope this message finds you well. Thank you for sharing with us your experience and for letting us be part of your memories. Have a great day! Sincerely, Alberto Lopez - Reservations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larimore, ND

Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, accommodation, swimming pools, whirl pools, friendliness of staff and security
Cons: To my taste, make cold whirl pool warmer.
Location: Since we like to walk, it was perfect and everything was within walking distance. Even the ADO bus service to Cancun airport and the shuttle to Tulum.
Love that the hotel was right on the beach and it had two swimming pools, along with a cold and warm whirl pools. The accommodation are spacious and each unit has its own patio with plenty of vegetation throughout. The hotel is centrally located on Playa Del Carmen and just steps away from 5th avenue, where most of the restaurants and shops are located. We felt very safe on the premises and as there were many staff personnel always around. The staff was very friendly and courteous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is located on the beach but you can't get in the water because of the small fishing boats. The hotel room was clean but the bathroom was liking and no extra towels. Not good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

RUDE Concierge

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location location Location
Cons: Management
My friend got locked in the bathroom as soon as we reached the hotel, a concierge manager named Brenda did not handle the situation respectfully, when I asked to be compensated for this inconvenience, she developed a defensive and rude attitude.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review of El Taj

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the Taj very much. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good -- quite a good value for what we paid. Two things to be aware of: 1. There is not much of a beach. You can't swim much at the beach because boats are tied up there. It also is a small beach. 2. It was loud at night. The hotel is very close to Fifth Avenue and many clubs. We could hear music all night on the weekends. Fortunately our room had a white noise maker -- and that helped a lot. Overall, we found our stay very pleasant and relaxing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing oceanfront condo with only 1 issue

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
El Taj condos were amazing in every way except 1. They had a storm in November that has washed away much of their beach just in front of the property. The management company has made arrangements with other beach clubs for usage while they work to fix this. We still lazed around several times at the Indigo Beach Club which is right in front of the property. They had great service and 3 amazing ceviche dishes which made up for the lack of beach. When it is time to lay in the sun you can walk less than 10 minutes on the beach to Mamitas Beach Club which is a very happening spot to spend the day. Or you can walk less than 5 minutes and lay on the public beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lo

There is no beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and nicely decorated.
Location: Close to restaurants and shopping. Way too close to loud all night clubs.
Don't let the name fool you. There is no beach. It has washed away. I know this is natures fault, but the pictures are VERY misleading. Also about 20 boats are anchored right in front of the beach that is left. The water is dirty because of this and the ropes are in the way. The hotel is VERY close to many extremely loud clubs. Not only did the noisy continue till 3am the bed actually shook. We only stayed one of our 3 nights. This was a 50th birthday trip for me. It was a complete disappointment.