Ratings based on 2,348 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Family friendly

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Everything from check in to checkout was an absolute breeze, and that's definitely a plus when you travel with kids! The hotel staff was amazing, Alejandra our room cleaning services made sure the room was pleasant to come to every night. The food was delicious, the beach was close to the resort, the room location was wonderful right in the middle of the resort (rm#6026)! I have no regrets booking this place, not to crowded either (we traveled from September 19-26). What I wasn't to happy about was that they didn't disclose at the time of booking, that there was an additional fee of $10 per person to access the kid side of the resort, where the water slides and a park are. If we would've known this beforehand, we would've upgraded our room to have access to that. The whole sole reason that we booked with Princess resorts was because of the water park for kids, however we didn't miss much because our little one wanted to be at the big pool and the Disney theme shows that the put together at the theater every night definitely made up for it. We loved it so much, we are planning to go back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Perfect Vacation

Posted Sep 26, 2017
My girlfriend and I had an amazing time at this resort. We had a suite with pool access and it was so worth it! Only thing was that our room had a jacuzzi and it wasn't working so I would definately make sure it works upon getting to your room. The staff there were corteous and very friendly. Had a romantic dinner at the beach and it was a great experience. Definitely recommend this place to anyone!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
It was end of season so I understand the wear and tear, but the pools were missing tons of tiles, walls were chipping of paint, the outside jacuzzi was gross and the water was merky. Definitely not the same resort I remember from 5 years ago. Also, at check in, we were very happy to be upgraded to the platinum area. That being said; we got stuck with 2 double beds... for our 10 year anniversary trip. After we had already requested a king bed. The train/transportation through the hotel was off too. Either you walked from one end of the resort to the other (which is far & dark) or you have to waste your time waiting for transportation - which always seemed to be a 15 minute wait. Overall not too impressed. We will probably try looking for another resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

do not recommend

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: i thought that the hotel overall was nice. staff outside of front desk were very nice and accommodating
Cons: food was not bad at buffet. hibachi restaurant, miso, must have been 100 degrees and we ended up walking out.
My friend's room had roaches. not the large ones you expect in a tropical climate but a whole bunch of the little ones. she called to complain and instead of moving her they only offered to fumigate. after the second night, she couldn't take it any longer and went to complain. the front desk and the concierge gave her the run around and were pretty hostile. after sitting there arguing with them, they finally gave her another room. they apologized for the inconvenience and said they would be providing her with an amenity. since she was shaken up from staying in the room, i thought maybe a massage or something. they left for her in the room a dessert from the buffet? it was such a disappointment. Also, constantly trying to sell you on on buying packages at every turn. non motorized sports are not included
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is nice, close to the beach. No real night l

Posted Sep 21, 2017
We took my 83 year old mother on vacation, way to much walking , started off bad no transportation from the airport had to wait a hour in the sun . When we finally got to the hotel at 7 am ( $52 later) couldn't check in until 3pm . So the first day was a bust, then with all the walking we looked to see if they have any wheel chairs the second day ,we had to rent a wheelchair for my mother and it didn't get there until 4 on the afternoon so another day of waiting only found two elevators in the whole place and only found them because of some nice guests that were staying there, not the staff who watched me every day carrying the wheelchair up and down the stairs. Then you have to make reservations for the restaurants 24 hours in advance if you want to eat in one of them. When we finally got in one a Japanese restaurant they charged extra for the Japanese beer $10. And extra for lobster $30 . Then after complaining to the Expedia lady there who was very nice and helpful we did go on a nice excursion to the Mayan ruins and paid for transportation back to the airport another $52. So all in all the most expensive so call all inclusive package I've ever taken. I think I'll stick to Cruses. Very bad 1st trip to Cancun not impressed .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC canada

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This hotel was very beautiful. It is very big so make sure you like walking. Our room was right on the pool and it was very nice to be able to swim right from our room. The bed was a bit hard and the room needed a few updates but it was clean and spacious. The food was good and there are lots of options. It was a very nice relaxing break for us!!! The staff were all very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Location, very clean, everyone at the very helpful....
Cons: The food at the teppanyaki grill Miso restaurant... it is bad
Location: The hotel is well located, "Close" to Chichen, Ek Balam,Tulum, and the other Disney type attractions
It took one hour for us to check in.... just 5 people in line !!!! The check in process is to slow The hotel is well located, "Close" to Chichen, Ek Balam,Tulum, and the other Disney type attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Concierge, pool, food, nightclub, hotel grounds, accessible beach, spacious and updated room, friendly and courteous staff, affordable laundry service
Location: Shopping on 5th Ave, Xcaret Park, night clubs, mall, museum. snorkel
Husband and I spent 5 nights at this hotel and we have zero complaints. From the moment we checked in to the day we checked out we had a blast. The staff was very friendly and courteous and knowledgeable. After check in we could take the shuttle to our room but we chose to walk to see the property. It is beautiful and very well maintained. We were delighted to see wildlife on the property (see pictures). The pools were lovely, there was music and the staff was cooking on the grill both of which takes place everyday. We got to the room and were very happy with our accommodations. The room and bathroom are very spacious, updated and the balcony had the best view. The five minute walk from our room to the beach was very scenic and when we got to the beach, there was a beach party with great music, bar, volleyball...We ate at the buffet even though there were a variety of restaurants which requires reservation. The food at the buffet was delicious with lots of choices. There is a nightclub on the property and the music was better than what is played at the clubs in Vegas. We will visit again and take our kids as there many activities for young ones and they will love the suites with pool access.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bunch of route hotel guest.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The resort was OK. The food was OK. The overall attitude of the staff was that they really didn't care very much. Just getting run through the middle of Mexican all inclusive hell. This other guests were just not fun to be around for the most part it was a bunch of British tourist. A couple of the South American and Central American guess were pretty fun. Too bad I don't speak Spanish. Otherwise the group was a pretty big downer. Getting out of the resort however the area was incredible. Tulum is a must see. Very surprised how nice Playa del Carmen downtown was. Felt very safe the whole time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good for couples, not as good for single dudes

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The two bad things: the beach at the resort stinks due to algae, and the beds are rock hard. The plus side: lots of different food to try, tons of bars on site, and the food and drink are included; the layout of the rooms are fantastic, and they have very nice bathrooms which walk in showers and jacuzzi tubs; the staff is very friendly and helpful; lots of wildlife there in the resort; overall a very nice place.