Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB

In the middle of it all

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The front desk person carried our luggage to the third floor for us. Extra blankets in closet. Safe was easy to operate
Cons: They do not provide bottled water. The floor was dirty dirty dirty, our feet were always black, had to wear our slippers all the time.
Location: It is truly in the middle of all the action. from north to south. easy access to the beach.
We stayed at Coco Rio for 3 days for a quick business trip. We chose it because it was in the between two companies that we were dealing with. One north end of Playa, one south end of Playa. It was ok . We arrived very early and they let us check our bags while our room was get ready. A little concerned as out bags were just behind the front desk in plain sight, but all was good in the end. They did let us check into our room at 12:30 ahead of schedule. They give you a tv remote, air conditioning remote and the key. The key is on a massive piece of wood, you can check it back at front desk every time you leave hotel so it does become annoying to carry around. Bed was a little hard for our taste. Pillows were the standard WWII army issue wafers. Check out was easy and they made sure they destroy your credit card receipt.
5 out of 5
by Brad

Great simple hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel for needing a basic place to stay that's clean and close to Fifth Ave and the beach. No noise issue at night. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Stayed here just one night before checking into a resort and loved it. The hotel was in a great location, very cute decor and set up, room very clean. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, Great Staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Hotel location is great. Right off 5th but not loud. Easy walk to Mamitas Beach Club. Claudio was very courteous. Carlos was super fun, and went out of his way to help us. The only downside is there is no pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Amazing

Posted Sep 27, 2016
It's such a lovely hotel!! The staff are lovely it's always clean it's so well presented and right in the heart of the playa del Carmen life!!! We had a fantastic time and would love to come back in a couple of years!!! Can't praise them enough!! Thankyou for a great stay coco Rio!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location, quiet, small.
Location: Bars, restaurant, nice Mamitas beach
Nice, small hotel near Mamitas beach. Very friendly staff always willing to help with any issue. I would recommend to use the local bus company to get to Playa and not SuperShuttle (the worst service ever) that would take you at least 3 hrs to get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smaller and simpler place, but lots of character.

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I really liked the decor, I'll try to put up some pics. The hammocks hanging around were awesome.
Location: Right off 26th and 5th.
Enjoyed a week at this gem, great location. This is a smaller hotel, but the rooms are large. There is no pool, but the beach is just a few blocks away.
1 out of 5
by corey from Pastor corey

Dishonest watch out!

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff will try and charge you for extra people that you don't have. Dishonest!! Don't give them your credit card!
5 out of 5
by Ricardo from San Juan

Perfect hotel for a quick getaway!

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great stay with a large group of friends. We all stayed at this hotel, which is centrally located, just steps aways from Quinta Avenida. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Perfect hotel for a getaway.