Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cancun

Simple jotel on the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Has air conditioning Parking lot two blocks away No TV Breakfast is good and included
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Lili, Hotel Management
;) Thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york.

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Improve Food quality/have more food choices, Add room service, bigger HVAC to cool the entire room, TV's in room . Have a bar in the hotel.
Location: 5th avenida is on the next block/ hotel is on the beach.
So many things were very disappointing. By day two I was ready to go back home! The room was hot when we arrived and it took forever to cool down. We paid for the two bedrooms and my 9year old had to sleep between us during the whole stay because his room was too hot! The secondary room never cooled down so we had to shut the door to keep our master room cool. What a nightmare. The TV never worked and it was probably a 12X12 size ( so even if we wanted to watch TV we probably wouldn't have been able to see much) The food was HORRIBLE. The portions are very small so if you are a average weight adult be prepared to leave the table hungry. The plates and silverware were very old ( it looks like they haven't been changed since the 80's) The food takes about 40-1 hour to get our food for a table of 3 so if you are in a hurry go somewhere else.. Bottom line it felt like torture rather than a vacation! Rooms are too hot to enjoy yourself, no TV to even keep yourself occupied, food was horrible ... Once again what a nightmare!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torrance ca

is on the beach but dirty not a good view

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: not much
Cons: better service
Location: just shopping on 5th street nice beach is little far
disappointing nothing like the pics shows needed to call them to clean my room i paid for front beach and all we saw me and my wife a stack of chairs in front of the window
4 out of 5
by Gustavo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely gem of a place!

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
They let me check in early as a favor and I was so grateful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from okc

Less than I expected

Posted Mar 23, 2016
This place has potential but I won't be back to see if it ever improves. Out dated everything! From the air conditioner that didn't work, shower heads and sink faucets barely flowed, only a sheet for covers on the bed, had a working tv that was 10 years old, mini fridge that didn't work. It was clean and the staff friendly. The entrance hallway was the nicest place I saw there. If you want a bare minimum place to stay, no frills except pretty swan towels on the bed this place will work. It does have a beach with chairs and tables , didn't try the restraunt. I can do basic but not primitive. price was reflective of amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Good basic hotel. We stayed recently at the Pelicano. Pros -- on the beach; rates are good for being on the beach; room was clean; the bar/restaurant had excellent lunch service; chairs and umbrellas on beach are free. Downside: as with most foreign hotels (not a chain), mattresses are hard and pillows are poor; room was spartan (no TV -- but not a problem for us); Wifi was spotty at times; You get what you pay for. if you want a 5 star place, you can get it if you pay for it. If you want relatively inexpensive beachfront, you don't get everything you want for a lower price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugar Land, Texas

Short touch at Playa Nov 2015

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Fine as expected for this second stay at Pelicano. The premises are well maintained and a bit improved in relation to our fomer visit in 2011. Still compfortable, well placed with a direct access to the beach and close to main commenrcial area, quiet, nice staff at front desk, restaurant and services, clean and neat at the room and in all the premises, also at the comfortable rest-room near the seaside.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Philadelphia PA

My Playa Getaway

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was great for the price we paid. Right on the beach. Room and bathroom was clean. Rooms were cleaned daily and they made fancy things out of towels and bed cover. Food and drinks at their little restaraunt and chairs on the beach was good and priced well. Service on the beach was fun and great. Not upscale but very, nice and great value!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015
We were 2 adults and 2children. When arrived there were no hot water in the shower. You cannot access the hotel with a car or taxi. You have to drag your luggage two blocks. Sea weed in the beach ruined our vacation in Playa del Carmen. We moved to Cozumel.