Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Amazing from start to finish. Everything is top notch, from service to the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

The best resort ever!!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
We have been to this resort many times and it is always the best. The staff is AMAZING. We will continue to go every year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First of all we want to thank you for your loyalty towards IBEROSTAR Grand Paraíso. We are very proud to know that you have taken home the best memories of your vacations with us and we will be glad to welcome you once again to you second home in the Riviera Maya. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Vacation was beautiful! Staff members were excellent. They were helpful, friendly, and lots of fun! Hotel was beautiful. Would definitely go back and recommend for a first class vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your first experience at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Paraiso. We are glad to know that you had an amazing time among us and that you were able to enjoy all of our beautiful facilities. Thank you for highlighting the effort that all our staff does in order to make your trip unforgettable. We will be glad to welcoming you once again. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Short Getaway to Paradise!

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel and guest rooms, loved the sofa swing on the balcony. Fantastic pool area with many shade cabanas.
Cons: Air conditioning - in the main areas of the hotel and restaurants I noticed was little/no AC; a few air blasting stations or something would help.
Location: Close enough to airport, only 30 min ride. Only went to the shopping plaza in the complex, it was fine.
We visited the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for 3.5 days in late September 2017. I've been to all-inclusive hotels, but never an adults-only. I can tell you that it will be adults-only for me from now on! It was luxury, and the service was fantastic. Food at the Italian restaurant and buffets were excellent. The large pool was wonderful, there were plenty of sun chairs and cabanas. The pool bar is great, but a bit small for the size of the hotel, maybe 15 seats. Keep in mind that smoking is allowed. I would love if the hotel added a second pool bar and made one non-smoking, but it wasn't too bad. We did not go to the quiet pool or to the spa. The beach directly in front of the hotel has large coral rock, so you can wade, but not really go swimming. However, a short walk down the beach to the hotel next door and it was fine. The waves were large and undertoe was pretty strong - at least while we were there - so you might struggle a bit with young children. We saw two shows at the colosseum, both were good; broadway and boogie nights. I do wish there was a bar by the pool or ocean front that was open at night, the only bars are inside the main hotel area. The pools are not open in the evening either. So, other than the show at the colosseum at 10, and a piano player in the lobby, there is not much going on in the evening. Something on the beach or poolside, a dinner/show/bonfire, something like that would have been nice. Overall it was wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for sharing your very detailed comments about our hotel and service during your recent stay at the resort. We are very contented to know that you enjoy the time you spent with us. We care a lot about our guests’ opinion since your feedback is of most importance for us to keep improving the quality of our service. We will definitely consider adding another pool bar area for upcoming investment. We thank you for the suggestion and we really appreciate it. Allow us to mention that we offer an International Buffet on Wednesdays and the show “Stars under the Stars” by the main pool, at night. It is the perfect occasion for our guests to enjoy listening to Latin Music while enjoying delicious cocktails. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the resort very soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything food and staff
Cons: No
My experience in the grand hotel paraiso was beautiful the staff was very cordial the food was excellent I will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your recent experience at the hotel. It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoyed every single part of your stay and we hope to welcome you back at the resort very soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Most amazing trip!!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The staff!!
Cons: The food needs improvement
I will say that I was very skeptical about this hotel after all of the negative media hype BUT my husband and I absolutely LOVED this hotel!! The staff is amazing!! I have to give a special thank you to Ricardo who greeted us when we arrived, he was so helpful and went out of his way to accommodate us while we were there.. The bar staff at the main pool, Roberto and Humberto are AWESOME!! The entertainment staff, Luis, BB, Andy and J-lo are so much fun and kept us entertained the whole stay! We have been to Cancun and Riviera Maya several times but I have to say that this resort is by far the best we have been to and will continue to come back! Thank you so much for making my vacation/anniversary so enjoyable!!! We will be back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our resort, with other future travelers. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your vacation so much and that for first-hand experience you confirmed that there is nothing to be worried about. Also, let us thank you for highlighting the service of our staff, specially of Roberto, Luis and BB, we are proud of having such valuable members in our team and we assure you we have submitted your kind review and that their job will be recognized. Thank you for your praising words and for considering us as the best resort on the Riviera Maya. On the other hand we will consider you opinion about our gastronomic variety, we truly appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back really soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

2nd visit. Will definitely go again.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Everything you could want here. Comfort, fabulous food, helpful staff, great facilities and the swim up bar (definitely the place to relax and meet interesting folks). Do be careful of the drink measures though, catches some people out as a lot goes in that glass, not a complaint; just be aware. Overall, the Paraiso truly is a 5 star experience hence we went back and will go again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Haui Arriaga, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from richmond TX

Perfect getaway.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great place! This was our 3rd time at thid property.. Grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained. Service is top notch. Friendliest staff I have ever encountered. The crowd is over 35 generally. Which we liked. Fun bunch but not rowdy. Will be back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you have invested on writing a review of your recent stay at the resort, and on behalf of IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have submitted about our Hotel and service. It is always motivating for the staff to hear that you have enjoyed your vacation and it was a pleasure to have you here with us. We have forwarded your email to all our Department Managers since your feedback is of most importance for us. We hope welcoming you back in the near future and pamper you the way you deserve. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: there may have been a problem with the electricity in the room power would go on and off every other day or so.
Location: great location
great hotel staff, Ernesto at the beach view lunch restaurant, Gloria the maid, Beach drink service Jonathan and Noberto did a great job. Entertainment staff was great Alloy aka teaddybear and Viviana. pool waitress Anna. The guys at the pool bar. morning breakfast workers, waiters and waitress as well as chef, many others. too many great names to list
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your experience about the hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoy the facilities at the resort during your stay. Thank you for mentioning our staff, we assure you we have submitted your kind review, and that their job will be recognized. We are proud to have such excellent members at the Grand Paraiso and we trust in the great quality of the service they offer to all our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another amazing experience with us at the Riviera Maya. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very big pool

Posted Aug 28, 2017
My wife and I had a ball a lot of fun we enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for the kind comments you have shared about the resort. It is so nice for us to know you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We hope welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,