Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very clean and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The amenities and location were fantastic! Very clean and you get your money's worth by day 2.
We had an amazing time at the hotel and were greeted in a very professional and friendly manner. The staff at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya were incredibly polite and helpful. They do a fantastic job of taking care of you as well as enhancing your overall experience. Would highly recommend anyone else to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mn

Very Nice Resort

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Was a great place to stay. Access to everything pretty easy. Pools are nice and not to deep. Great beach with towels and easy to get a drink. Have stayed at other resorts and we liked this one the best. Staff is very friendly. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Such a disappointment

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Resort and staff are excellent. Unfortunately they are being flooded with spring breakers now and the 18-20 year olds are legal to drink in Mexico. We are mid 40s with two teenage boys 13 and 15. The college kids were loud and dominated all activities to point my sons gave up trying to get to play volleyball, soccer, etc. Multiple times my boys tried to play and were told to get the Fu#! off the court and don't come back. We complained to the resort and were given a set of keychains and a cheap bottle of champagne. Was an insult to think this made up for being woken up 2am as these college kids ran down our hall yelling and speaking so rude to my children that they no longer felt safe to walk the property alone. I would have still given the week more stars but sadly the food at this resort is also a big disappointment. Multiple times we had cramps and diarrhea. Each evening we would hope for a better experience than the last and each time disappointed. The Japanese only one that was on par but everyone who had the soup got sick. Many nights we did not eat enough, walked mile to the taco bar. always good. Food manager should be fired. Unreal how many times we saw plates of food with only a bite or two taken and left. Wife is very social. Talked to people before ordering and rare to get a thumbs up on anything. Just warnings. How cheap must a place be to serve you Tang anytime your order OJ?? We will never return...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Wonderful Experience

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Spotless, beautiful, especially at night. Good food and drinks. The staff is first class. Great beach and pools. This year we tried the spa. Loved it.
Cons: The entertainment, such as it is, could use work. We worked hard to stay up to 9:30 to see the show, and it was like a second class cruise ship show.
Location: Never had to leave the hotel, since everything we needed was right there. Mall, a bit of shopping, everything.
This was our second visit in two years, and we have never before been back to the same place, only because we like to go to different locales. But the hotel is beautiful, the beaches and pools spotless and inviting, the food is good, and the service is excellent. We had a wonderful vacation, and never had to leave the hotel, even though we thought about going into town at one point. This year we were able to golf, and loved the golf course. Weather was perfect, and we couldn't have been happier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Yor, NY

Very nice hotel and resort

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Its very beautiful and the I loved the personalize check in (made me feel like a VIP)
Cons: The only thing that bothered me was the animals running around the resort that looked like raccoons.
The hotel and resort is very BEAUTIFUL I enjoyed my stay. I celebrated my birthday and mother day with my mother, sister, and cousin. The food was very delicious and the drinks were the best I like how they have many restaurants to choose from and different types of foods. When you arrive the concierge ask you to make your reservations for the difference restaurants so you don't have to wait once you get to the restaurant. The resort is so huge we had to take golf carts to the other parts. (I like that because it made me feel like a VIP) The staff is very pleasant they ask you questions about the resort and make sure your enjoying your time, they have lots of activities and night entertainment throughout the resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The hotel was nice but needed more signs to direct you. The staff was great but the food was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

MILESTONE BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Family vacation of 36 and everyone had a blast! Can't wait to plan our next trip. Beautiful resort, nicest & hardest working people. Iberostar Paraiso Maya a must go to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Excellent accommodations, great food, good entertainment, kid friendly, very clean place. I would recommend it to anyone. Had a greatest vacation ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Quality Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments about your recent vacations with us. Your feedback motivates us to keep working hard and providing the best vacations experience for all our guests. We will be waiting for your next stay. Cordially,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Excellent vacation, friendly staff, good food ,great entertainment
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Quality Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your vacations with us. We are really happy to read that the friendliness of our staff met your expectations. We hope we will see you back soon for your next vacations at the Mexican Caribbean. Cordially,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Beautiful All-Inclusive Resort

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The grounds, beaches, pools, spacious rooms, employees and bartenders were exceptional.
Cons: Varying and often incorrect information from employees about available amenities. Buffet food was always room temp or cold. In-resort transportation
Location: You are just 30 minutes from Playa Del Carmen and 30 minutes from Cancun so the resort is centrally located.
This was our first Iberostar visit and we stayed at the Maya with friends. The resort offers five levels (Del Mar, Beach, Lindo, Maya & Grand). Each "level" offers a gorgeous "themed" landscape, restaurants and buffet options, pools and beach access. Our room at the Maya was far larger than needed given how little time we spent in the room. The rooms at all five levels within the resort are spacious and beautiful. Transportation within the massive resort could be better by simply designating a few multi-seat golf carts to just run laps through the resort going to each level, the shopping center and golf/tennis areas throughout the day as it's quite sprawling and walking in the warm, humid climate is not always optimal. Now, onto the restaurants and buffets. All-inclusive resorts operate similar to cruises in that dinner reservations at "restaurants" need to be made in advance, as does golf. Most of the buffets close at 11:00 AM for an hour before lunch is served at 12:00, there are only a couple restaurants that offer breakfast until 11:30 AM so watch out for that if you are the more leisurely type in the morning. The food at the restaurants and the buffets was room temperature, bordering on cold, every time we ate at them and even at the other "levels" (we did not have access to the Grand). We booked two days of excursions through the resort and thoroughly enjoyed the ruins and snorkeling adventures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Quality Manager , Hotel Management
We want to thank you for writing about your recent vacations with us, we are really glad to read that you loved our rooms and that our team was really friendly, helpful and provided you a great service. We regret the inconveniences that had with the food , our Executive chef work together with an external company to assure that we are providing the best food with the highest quality standards. Kind regards,