Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Great hotel, so close to everything. Beautiful pool, bar, and the breakfast was delicious. The only downside was the hot tub was cold/ not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel with great service

Posted Jan 7, 2018
The hotel is well situated, only one block from the main street in Playa Del Carmen. The room was very clean, well decorated, and comfortable. We even stayed here one more night because of how much we liked it. The staff is excellent and very kind. I definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right off of 5th Avenida Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Some PROS & CONS - Great location if you are looking to be close to the action on 5th Avenida. There are tons of restaurant choices and shopping within a short walk. The beach is also close by...it is a public beach though and can get quiet congested. - Hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Mi español es poco...so the language barrier has tricky depending on which staff member you were interacting with. - The hotel has a nice free breakfast with the restaurant Como Como. It is a fixed menu, but the food was tasty. - Hotel pictures on the internet are pleasing; however, they are a little outdated. The facility could use a little TLC (fresh paint, fix broken tiles, fix broken hot tub, etc...) - Hotel does not have parking, there are local lots and a garage nearby. - If you are accustomed to the Waldorf or another 5 star, you will be vastly disappointed. If you are usually stating at Red Roof Inns, this will be a nice boutique upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Playa del Carmen hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: The staff were great
Cons: Softer beds
The hotel is located closer to some great restaurants, bars and shopping. It’s only a 5 minute walk to the beach or 15min to the ferry to Cazumel. Staff are very friendly and they have there own restaurant that serves great Breakfasts, lunches and supper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

The best staff in all of Mexico

Posted Nov 25, 2017
The staff was the best part of La Tortuga! They helped us book special tours and were so friendly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Once through the doors it is quiet and serene. Beautiful garden and pool with bar and restaurant. Rooms weren't luxurious but nice nevertheless. Staff was great and went out of their way to help us. A return is planned
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
We had a wonderful stay here the week of October 9th. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. It was considered the off season and so the area was quiet even though it is close to all the action in Playa del Carmen. It is situated in the middle of main drag and we found it easy to explore different beaches in either direction. We also were able to set up a tour through the hotel at a very reasonable price. The free breakfast at Como Como was AMAZING! We had no problem eating there every morning. It puts all American continental breakfasts to shame. We also tried this restaurant for dinner as we were tired from a long travel day and it was absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this spot for your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will stay here again

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Good in general . I will comeback here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Very friendly staff, beautiful hotel, breakfast was a little disappointing but overall was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beach holiday

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Wotif
Loved our stay at La Tortuga and would highly reccomend staying here. The staff are friendly, helpful and relaxed. Cocktails are great!! Not like some of the cocktails at other restaurants. The hotel restaurant, Como Como is worth trying as food is delicious. Great location, good price and awesome pool.