Ratings based on 1,171 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 19, 2018
We were very well looked after. Me and 3 kids. Although not really a hotel for kids they were welcomed and accommodated. The standout was the variety of spaces. We loved movie night under the stars. Keep an eye on your drinks - they are not included in the board. Even the kids soft drinks. Can add up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oh

Lovely resort

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Views access beautiful
Wonderful. Will be back very soon Views access food drinks all top notch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel with character, on the beach.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
The palapas-style rooms are a must to experience. Each of them has a patio with hammocks to hang out. Some of the swimming pools are heated, which is much appreciated when the air is a bit cooler at night. We were traveling with an 18-month old and the baby was well accommodated. The only thing is to pay a supplement to have a fridge in the room. We normally wouldn’t even bother to get one, but traveling with a baby makes it necessary. Great staff, friendly add very professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect relaxing getaway

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Everything
Location: Great cafe's, restaurants, shops just a short walk from the hotel
This was our 5th time there. The grounds are beautiful, perfectly kept, employees are more than helpful, ideal location just a couple blocks from the main restaurants and shops. Ideal spot for couples, probably less so for kids. Breakfasts and lunches are outstanding. Enjoy the flexibility of walking to and eating dinner at the great restaurants on the main street through town. If you're not into late night pounding bass, avoid dates of the periodic nearby music festivals. The hotel is pretty good at posting these on their website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A different choice than the standard hotel!

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Staff is very helpful and friendly in general. The closeness to the beach, tropical style, available amenities and location make it a good choice.
Cons: If you choose to use the restaurants, make sure you are looking for a buffet type experience, as you will be charged a flat fee for the meal.
Location: Nice location, near 5th St, which is full of shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and drug stores. Most things are walking distance and taxis are nearby.
Without knowing this hotel, we picked it based mainly on location and the looks. It turned out to be a great choice! It is not your average hotel - the rooms look like a palapa - contain all the main necessities but maintain a tropical feel and look. It's next to the beach, has it's own private beach chairs and palapas, three different restaurants, a few pools, couple of bars, diving and artistic activities, among others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful spot

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Really enjoyed our stay here, great location on the beach (but beach isn't great here) lots of pools, gym, 3 restaurants, very close to 5th ave, games room. Really liked it here would definitely return. staff very helpful, especially Orlando on the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Beautiful property, great pools!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: Grounds, rooms, breakfast, pool, views
Cons: Making credits a bit more clear. Billing was very confusing. We did not enjoy our meal at Fuego, although many people have given it a good rating.
Location: Many good restaurants nearby. look up on TripAdvisor.
Went over Christmas with our family. The property is beautiful and unique. Very well kept. Loved hanging out by the pool and having drinks. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel grounds: I was warned about the noise and there was indeed sound from neighboring restaurant or some other place, but suprizingly it was in afternoon and not night time when I expected, so no problems sleeping. Pool was always nice and no distruptions. LOVED the snorkleing with VIDA Aquatica on the hotel beach. Better snorkling than going to Acumal. I highlty recommend them to anyone staying at the property. They are also open to others staying outside the hotel. Highly recommend them...best company for snorkeling in the area. Food: Breakfast was wonderful. We had it every day we were there. First night we went to Fuego and had high hopes. Services was very slow ( they were very busy---nice staff, but overwelmed and not attentive) We overlooked that hearing that the food was wonderful, but it was terrible. The food was overcooked and the risotto was mushy. I only took a few bites it was so bad. My mother had the lobster and it too was overcooked. We were so disabpointed by the food, that we never ate on the property for dinner again. Instead, we forfieted our credit to eat out. Even with our credit that night at Fuego, it was expensive, so we didn't take the chance to have another bad meal. Loved eating at La Vagabonda and La Cueva del Chango nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Quaint Resort with Perfect Location

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: I like that it isn't a huge resort and it has an island feel to it. It was low-key with respectful people. If you want action, you can go next door!
Location: This is the best location. On the beach, at the northern end of 5th Avenue-you can walk to all that you need, including inexpensive taxis.
This resort was exactly what I was hoping for- lush botanical grounds, on a gorgeous beach, open air dining, a charming, palapa style room, great food and service! I loved the grass roofed buildings and all of the palm trees. The staff were spot on at the restaurants-professional, yet friendly; prompt, but not overly attentive. Remember, In Mexico you need to ask for the check when you are finished! I was at Mahekal for Christmas and was excited to be a part of the Mexican festivities that the hotel hosted. I took part in La Posada and children enjoying the Pinata party with Santa and Christmas Trees right on the beach. Be sure to take note of special dining events requiring reservations held in The Sand Box, as well as at Fuego and Cocina Restaurants. My bed was comfortable, rooms have ceiling fans and AC along with screened windows making it easy to adjust for your own temperature. There are security guards are at the beach and the main entrance to make sure people aren't coming in off the street, and to keep track of the cab drivers who are in and out. It such a quaint resort, not a loud, drinking crowd. The other guests were families and couples while I was there alone. The location is perfect! Just a 2 minute walk and you are on 5th Avenue, where you can access anything you need. I definitely chose the best resort in Playa de Carmen for my vacation! Room Tip: Ask for a Palapa Room (second floor) so that you have the big grass ceiling Closer to the Lobby is more quiet
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Great but disappointing management & loby staff

Posted Dec 29, 2017
I got food poisoning from my first meal at the hotel (I can't say is their fault, it was bad luck). The loby staff helped me get the medicine late night, but they never followed up on my status, didn't offer a mini frige with water and Gatorade (I had to order it for $10/day), apparently they didn't care. On the other hand, the rest of the hotel staff was great. Very nice people, very interested in giving us everything we needed. The hotel y EXCELLENT located and has an amazing stile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Truly outstanding experience with first rate team

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: The service was first class, freindly and everything advertised
If you are looking for a very nice experience with excellent service on a beautiful beach , this is the spot.