Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Excelent, excelent!
Cons: Nothing
Everything was super, I will go again next year. Room, swiming pool, restaurantes, staff: super
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Awesome Experience!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
The Hotel Staff was Top Notch along with the restaurants, bar and shows!! The kids had a great time with the pool, beach and the Kid Zone! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Lovely experience

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The staff were nice, willing to help and they had enough people on duty at all times. They went above and beyond to make sure my private event was what I wanted. Mayumi was amazing. Our family butler Selene went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we wanted. Things we didn't think about, she thought of and she kept the children looking forward to her visits with them. Loved this hotel. The only thing is the beach was not a true clean beach but that didn't stop us from having fun. They have more than enough pools. Love this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay...with a few precautioy be better

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Based on Family Area Booking Pros- *Good looking modernized hotel *Nice standard rooms but upgraded to the 1 bedroom master suite and was well worth it *Great staff service but inconsistent at times *Decent to good tasting food dependent on restaurant/eatery selected *Wide variety of restaurants/buffets/food places with ample portions provided *Excellent beach Cons- *Trip was during 07/17 and it was a bit crowded with vacationers. With the lack of service workers, at times the terrific service provided was inconsistent and sporadic. *Beach was about a 5-10 min. walk away *Take bug repellent, I'm not sure if it was the time but the mosquitoes were rampant. *No game room suitable for teens/grown ups. Other resorts I have visited have carried ping pong/pool tables, arcade machines, etc. A pingpong table was available but located directly under the sun Lots of kids under 4. My son is 14 and there were mmm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troutdale, OR

Great family resort with awesome food!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Took our 4yr old and 12 yr old to stay in the family concierge part of the hotel. It was awesome for them! Treats every night in the hotel, bath tub with balloons one night, great pool that wasnt too busy because it was only for the families. Kids even got to order from the swim up bar, so fun for them!!! Food was really good, especially compared to other A.I. we've stayed in. Beach was nice also, mostly free of seaweed. Staff was incredible, so willing to help!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Secaucus,NJ

A WEEK AT PARADISUS LAS ESMERALDA

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The service , the food.....
Cons: Front desk need to listen to guest demand very carefully.
Location: location was great, can go to 5th avenue into town, many excursions near by....
We spend a week at La Esmeralda Paradisus Playa del Carmen. Let me start the hotel is beautiful. Services was outstanding. We had a little issue the first date. Front desk gave us the joining suite and the door was so hollow and I could here the guest next door at 2am. I complain to the manger (Izri) and next day he move us to another suite which it was beautiful. Thank you (Izri) for helping us and finding a solution to our problem right away. Antonio the waiter in the buffet was great. Thank you Antonio and Mileni from the Sunrise Grill ....Food was delicious, the hotel have so many restaurants. The hotel is very kids friendly but they also have their adult side which is the Perla. overall 5 stars......
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Didn't Kept the promise from the reservation

Posted Jul 7, 2017
When i made the reservation it apearead a gift of 500 USD for spa of which nobody kneW. I won't recomend ir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Overall experience was excellent!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: We really enjoyed the service provided by the hotel. Especially the Family Concierge service.
Cons: Hotel walls seemed a bit thin. You could hear people talking, kids running in the hallways.
My family and I had an amazing trip. This resort had pretty much everything you needed, multiple restaurants and cuisines, daily evening/night entertainment, beach, pools, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Fantastic Resort, Kids Club Problematic

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Simply amazing vacation! Only "issue" we had, like other comments, was with Kids Club age divisions. 3-4 year olds are in a separate area, even if they have siblings in the older room. The club staff is VERY strict about this and check passports, for birth dates, more throughly than border patrol; so sadly there's NO WAY around this problem. Our 4 1/2 year old was not intrigued by most of the activities in the Baby Club (the resorts name)which included napping among other non developmentally appropriate activities for a child this age. We, and our kids, were frustrated that the resort thought building sand castles, bracelet making, etc were activities our kids couldn't enjoy together and as you can imagine made things a little stressful with crying, mad, disappointed kiddos that didn't want to go AT ALL!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Recent stay at the family concierge master suite.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Everything was amazing...what they need to work on is the food. Old Country Buffet does a better job, and that isn't saying much. Breakfast is only good if u want cereal or yogurt, or let them make u an omelet or eggs to order (which, to their credit is fairly quick) but my picky daughter had a hard time. The lunches and dinners, forget it, go to ANY of their other restaurants. The Market was our favorite, their salad bar was better than the other places and most of their meat options were great (recommend the sausage, Thai chicken, and beef tenderloin!!!) If u have the money for a fancy night out, Passion is AMAZING. My wife doesn't like fish or the pairing rendition of risotto it was served with (I loved it) and they came right over and wanted to serve her something else if she didn't like it, but she declined because we were also both getting full and wanted room for dessert. (OMG their dessert!) Either way, they just wanted to ensure we had a delightful dinner experience and they more than delivered! The kidzone is great, however, our kids just wanted to swim the whole time so we didn't get to use it much. Another reason to get the family concierge is the heated pool and reserved beach section, its fantastic! Not to mention our family butler who found us without fail every day to make sure things were going great!