Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hardyston, NJ

Beautiful pools and rooms

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pool area was very nice however it was very closed in. You could not see beach or ocean unless you trekked out to it. Rooms were beautiful and the food was quite good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dacula, GA

Exceeded All Expectations

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This was my first time taking my husband to Playa del Carmen. I've stayed at several resorts in PDC and La Perla will be our number one resorts for all future travels back to PDC. The staff was amazing, the food was absolutely incredible and hands down the best bartenders and cocktails with top shelf liquors unlike most all inclusive resorts. We had a swim up suite which we enjoyed every day. The rooms were complete with every necessity you could possibly need. If you are looking for your paradise, then go to La Perla. We have only been home 11 hours and we are already booking our next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, New York

Disappointing Experience

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The property is beautiful.
Cons: Ensure rooms are properly maintained ie shower doors. Remove bad smells from rooms. Put out more warnings about slippery floors.
Location: We did not leave the resort due to recent travel warnings.
The resort is beautiful and looks just like the images we saw online. We met with our concierge who gave us a lot of information regarding restaurant choices. We did not hear from him again during the rest of our stay. Our first room had no shower door and the bathroom floor got soaked when we showered as did the adjacent bedroom floor. We asked to be moved to another room. The second room smelled like a dead rat. We called room service and they sprayed to no avail. We decided to stick it out as we only had one more day by then. The resort had all marble floors, which are very slippery when wet. I fell in front of the Esmeralda lobby. Some of the restaurants are outdoors and are very hot as there are no ceiling fans to circulate air. The mosquitos were out in full force and we couldn't enjoy our meals. When we went to Olio for dinner, we noticed a raccoon going in and out of a garbage can a few feet away from where we were having dinner. The drinks were pretty bad as juice isn't fresh, but from concentrate. You cannot get any food after 11:00 PM. The only good things about this vacation were the YHI Spa, food at The Grill and the Expedia roundtrip shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Best all inclusive ever! Resort was so clean, staff was very nice, and we were obsessed with the breakfast buffet. Loved that our room was cleaned twice every day and also the little goodies the staff left in our room each time. The pool was amazing, perfect temp and very clean. Definitely going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Private Paradise

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Exceptional resort with amazing staff!! I have never taken the time to write a review, but after my recent visit to Paradisus, Playa deal Carmen, I decided that my experience was so wonderful from start to finish that it would be almost rude not to give the resort the praise it deserves!! I have stayed in many resorts throughout the Caribbean but this is my absolute favorite!! Book a room with a swim out to the pool...it's luxurious!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren, Ohio

Wonderful Vacation!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We stayed here to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday and we had a fantastic experience! We stayed on the adult side, but the family side looked amazing and we cannot wait to come back with our little one. Danielle Rodriguez who works in guest services was a joy! She went above and beyond to make our reservations for the restaurants and our stay a magical one! she even checked in on us to make sure we had enjoyed where we ate. The Expedia agents that were at the airport and hotel helped us with transportation and travel arrangements. They also helped to answer our questions during our stay. Thanks for a great vacation and we definitely will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Loved the hotel, the food, drinks but specially the service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

A+

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Loved everything about my stay, staff is very nice, food is great!! Will definetly come back :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I highly recommend this resort. Not one thing to complain about
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel but not the greatest beach / water.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Food, service.
Cons: Beach - too much seaweed, water not clean.
The hotel was very nice. Clean, modern design, nice lay out. Food was wonderful - great variety of tasty choices, freshly prepared, nicely plated! What stood out most to us was the service which was impeccable! The entire staff was very professional, polite, always accommodating with a smile. Great job everyone, you made our stay really special! The only downside was the beach more precisely the water - it was quite dirty and full of seaweed. This was our first visit in Mexico so we dont know if other locations have nicer beaches but we were definitely very disappointed in this regard.