Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

The hotel is not what it says

Posted Aug 6, 2017
You can't get into the beach there is a lot of fisher boats parked there the water is all dirty. It doesn't even have a parking lot you have to leave the car in the street. The breakfast they give is the worst breakfast I ever got in a hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Victor, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us. We take all comments very serious since they assist us greatly in maintaining and improving the service we provide. We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet our expectations. The ocean in front of our property is not dirty, it's washed up seaweed. This is a natural phenomenon that occurs once in a while and affects all the Caribbean, not only our beach. We do our best to keep our beach clean, but please understand that we can't keep it from washing up. We understand that for guests who travel by car, parking can be an issue. Therefore on Expedia, we clearly state that we do not have a parking lot. We are sorry that you didn't like the continental breakfast we serve. For all guests who prefer a larger or simply different breakfast, we offer an exclusive discount for the breakfast buffet of the restaurant next door. Again, we are truly sorry that your stay wasn't a positive one. Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle. WA

Nice hotel on the beach, only 4 rooms with seaview

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Nice small hotel, NO parking if you have a car, beach with parked boats always, to swing have to go true them. Very friendly staff. Excellent service, they don't bother for tipping. NO NIGHT MUSIC AT ALL. Very happy all staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Alfredo, Thank you very much for taking a moment to review your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, the tranquility inside Playa Palms Beach Hotel, and appreciate your kind comments regarding all our staff. I'd like to mention that we actually have 6 beach front rooms and 29 ocean view rooms, with a view from the balcony. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Room, location and staff
Great location right on the beach. Also 1 minute walk to 5th Ave and all the action but quiet at the same time. Smaller property relatively new and well kept with a really friendly feel. Staff were excellent - all friendly co-operative and chatty with good English.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Helge, Hotel Management
Dear Colin, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and especially appreciate you great shout-out to all our staff. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

Wonderful stay, great location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We have just returned from staying at player problems, and Plato Carmen. We've been there many times but this is the first time we stayed at this hotel and it was such a fun trip! It's in the perfect location and you can walk to fifth Avenue in minutes or you can walk minutes the other way from your room and lay on the beach all day. The service was impressive, the staff friendly, the beach/poolside food was delicious and quick. So, overall this was a great experience. We would strongly advise anyone to stay at Playa Palms...and we are already to book another in a few months!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments, for recommending us and the 5-star rating! We are happy to hear that your stay at Playa Palms Beach Hotel was a great experience and that you enjoyed our service and the convenient location. It's always a pleasure to see guests return and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great views, close to the beach and dining

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location is great. The view of the water is wonderful every morning.
Cons: Due to being stuck inside for the tropical storm, additional English TV channels and listing of takeout restaurants would be helpful.
Location: Cozumel, Tulum and Chichen Itza are short rides away. Popular beaches are just a few minutes up the beach. Shopping and dining on 5th Ave.
The hotel location is great for travelers who will want a mix of activities; just two blocks off 5th avenue for shopping and dining, sitting right on the beach. Breakfast on the patio was a great way to start the mornings and watch the boats. The bus station is a short walk away and reached all the attractions we wanted to see: Tulum, Chichen Itza, Coba, and Xcaret. The ferry to Cozumel was just down the beach for a great day trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Helge, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, Thank you for your great feedback and recommendations. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite the tropical storm. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

A small bit if paradise

Posted Jun 18, 2017
A small but very clean hotel, staff is very nice and you're right on the beach and around the corner from la Quinta avenida! We can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Berni, Thank you very much for your kind comment and the 5-star rating. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and the best possible reward for our hard work and dedication. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Playa del Carmen! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Awesome hotel!!!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: 1. Super friendly staff. 2. Great location, in the middle of the strip. 3. Cleanliness. 4. Decent size pool and its super clean all the time. Cons: 1. For some reason this is the only hotel in that area that allows small boats to be docked on their beach property. It's pretty annoying to have a view like that. 2. The continental breakfast is great, but I do wish they offered something besides just ham. Would I recommended this place? Absolutely!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you very much for your review and for the top rating. We especially appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the ocean view from your balcony and having the breakfast served to your room every morning. Regarding the boats docked in front of our beach, please keep in mind that Playa del Carmen, before it turned into the tourist destination it is today, was a small fishing village. The fishermen were here long before we were, and are still part of the town's particular charm for many visitors. We are sorry if you felt different and are happy you enjoyed your stay nevertheless. Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Everything at the hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The view was beautiful and it was walking distance to everything. The only thing that we didn't appreciate very much was them knocking on our door every 15-20 mins every morning, after bringing breakfast, to see if we were done so they could take the tray. When we checked in they told us to take our time with it and simply place it outside of our door but that wasn't the case. Other than that, everything else was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for providing the travel community with your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for drawing our attention to the issue with the breakfast. Please rest assured that we will talk the the person in charge, to avoid similar situations in the future. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Playing in Playa

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
This is my second time staying at this boutique hotel. It is exactly as shown in its photos and advertised. I found it to be clean and well maintained. The staff is super friendly, welcoming and hospitable. You are far enough away from the party noise and close enough to the 5th Avenue shops, bars and restaurants. The beach area is small and showed signs of damage/storm erosion.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you very much for your kind comments, especially regarding our staff. Your words are the best possible reward for us! We are pleased you enjoyed y our second stay as well. We are always happy to welcome our guests back to Playa Palms and hope to see you again one more time! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Paklms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

THREE DAYS IN PLAYA

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The lack of on site facilities is my only gripe, and not sure that this can be fixed.
Location: It is on the beach, and the walks up and down the beach were very nice. Lots of stores, restaurants, clubs and mercados nearby.
The room and the facility was clean and well maintained. the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast brought to the room each morning--a very nice amenity. Room comfort was ok. Size was adequate. Bathroom was fine Only "complaint" is that there is no on site restaurant or bar. But, there are lots of places within a a 3-5 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast we serve in the room. Regarding the facilities you mention, as you said yourself, there are lots of restaurants, shops, and entertainment within a short walking distance, and the restaurant next door offers our guests room service or service to our beach. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Playa del Carmen! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel