Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness and service.
Cons: Only improve I see is for the fishing boats, which are docked on the beach to be moved. It makes swimming very difficult with all the ropes & boats.
Location: Location is great, merely a couple short blocks from the busy 5th. Tons of restaurants and shops within steps of the hotel. Great choice.
I enjoyed my stay at the Playa Palms although the weather wasn't the best during the week. The place is maintained very well, room was spotless and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time and that you enjoyed our convenient location. Regarding the boats, please keep in mind that Playa del Carmen, long before it turned into the famous tourist destination it is now, was a small fishermen's town. The fishermen are still around and for many people part of the city's charm. We do understand, however, that not everybody likes them. You can walk a couple of steps to the right to enjoy the beach without boats, ask at the front desk which close by beaches we recommend, or check out our blog for recommendations. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again - hopefully with sunny weather for you to enjoy! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet Hotel neat Everything

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Playa Palms is small, quiet and peaceful. It is near all the restaurants and night life on Quinta Avenida. It's a gem.
Cons: I was awesome for me, but I'm sure people would like to see more food offerings.
Location: everything is in walking distance. I was there for a week and never needed a cab.
I loved everything. It might not be for all, but was perfect for my stay. Playa Palms is a small, quiet and very safe hotel. No restaurant but that is what I loved about it. I was able to venture out and explore the many restaurants that are just steps away. The step under Luis are all incredible and did all to make my stay perfect. Truly a vacation to remember. As stated, its not for all. If you are looking for the all inclusive with tons of amenities, this is not the ideal place for you. But if you just want to relax and enjoy Playa Del Carmen this works. I usually say I never go back to the same place twice, but I met too many great people in Playa and I will definitely stay in the Playa Palms again. Awesome views
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Myron, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you're planning on coming back! Regarding the food, we don't count with a restaurant on site or a fully equipped kitchen. This is why we "only" offer breakfast and we serve snacks, like guacamole or hamburgers, to the beach. Please notice that the restaurant next door also serves to our beach or even to your room. And, as you mention, there are many places within a short walking distance. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

great hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This hotel is a little gem. Each room is very quaint and very clean. Each room has its own patio with a table. The hotel felt very safe and I felt comfortable leaving wet and sandy cloths on the patio. The hotel doesn't provide food besides breakfast, but the room had a kitchenette. The staff was super nice and attentive. They were kind and as helpful as they could be. Things to note about this hotel: -They don't provide drinks/food -They don't offer parking (we rented a car from Cancun and didn't have trouble finding parking on the street) - The beach this hotel faces is occupied by boats. If you want to lay out and swim you have to walk about 10 mins on the beach to access parts where you can swim All in all- I would recommend this hotel and plan on coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Diandra, Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and felt safe and comfortable. We would just like to correct your comment regarding drink and food service. We do serve drinks and snacks to our beach, daily from 11 am to 8 pm. You find a menu with everything we offer in your room and can order directly with our waiters. We know that for some guests who arrive by car the fact that we don't offer is an issue and we apologize for that. The area is safe and you can find a spot to park your car on the street side. Also, since everything is within short walking distance, if you're not planning on many day trips, it is not necessary to rent a car. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great alternative to all inclusive

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great alternative to all inclusive, great restaurants, bars, and shopping within one block. Many beach bars/restaurants close by too. We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Wooky, Thank you very much for taking a moment to review your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location in the heart of Playa del Carmen and right on the beach. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Beautiful place great location ,close to best parks
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking a moment to review your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location in the very center of Playa del Carmen. We'd love to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Clean Hotel Very Nice and off the 5th Street

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed and pillows nice showers perfect room for 2 and ice cold room in August if you choose. $90 pesos to clean my laundry.
Cons: No phone in the room
Location: Eat where the locals eat. Don't eat on the strip walk 2,3 or 4 blocks for nice cuts of steak or a organic juice bar. Day trip to Cozumel.
This hotel is off the main busy 5th street. It had a small fridge so we stocked it with beer and water. Continental breakfast is included and we always ordered extra fruit for $70 pesos. The hotel is right on the beach but swimming is further down a walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your kind comments and suggestions. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, as well as the amenities and services we provide. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

nice hotel,with ocean view

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: rooms were clean
Cons: restaurant ,bar pool area cleanliness.
Location: in the hart of the city popular 5 avenida ,close to shops,restaurants.
close to town 5th avenue and restaurants yet quiet at night ,not much to do at the hotel no restaurant or bar ,the beach is good for sunbathing but not for swimming as there is a lot of seaweed you need to walk all the way to mamitas to enjoy the beach,I guess the hotel should try to keep their beach area clean like most hotels in the area do. anoher thing is that the pool was being used by people that were fully clothed and kids screaming ,we thought this hotel was for adults only for this reason we are not coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear RB, Thank you for sharing your experience at Playa Palms Beach Hotel with other travelers. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our ideal location in the very heart of Playa del Carmen. We serve snacks and drinks to our beach from 11 am to 8 pm, and our neighboring restaurant offers a room service for our guests. Furthermore, before mentioned location allows to get to restaurants, bars, shopping, and entertainment within a few walking minutes. At Playa Palms we welcome guests of all ages, we are sorry if we didn't communicate that clearly enough. It was a pleasure having you staying with us and we hope to see you again some day! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Clean and friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nice hotel, very clean, friendly and accommodating staff. The only downfall was the smell, it smelt like fish or sewage every morning. We did take in consideration that they had just had a tropical storm and the smell was from all the nasty stuff that washed up on the shore. The beach view was ok from the hotel due to the boats that are parked out by the shore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Ale, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the service we provide as well as the support of all our staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience with the smell. As you mention correctly, the tropical storm that happened just before your arrival, brought a lot of seaweed which is what caused the smell. We do the best we can to keep our beach clean, but since it's a natural phenomenon we can't keep it from washing up. Again, we're very sorry. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

The hotel is not what it says

Posted Aug 6, 2017
You can't get into the beach there is a lot of fisher boats parked there the water is all dirty. It doesn't even have a parking lot you have to leave the car in the street. The breakfast they give is the worst breakfast I ever got in a hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Victor, Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us. We take all comments very serious since they assist us greatly in maintaining and improving the service we provide. We are sorry to hear that we didn't meet our expectations. The ocean in front of our property is not dirty, it's washed up seaweed. This is a natural phenomenon that occurs once in a while and affects all the Caribbean, not only our beach. We do our best to keep our beach clean, but please understand that we can't keep it from washing up. We understand that for guests who travel by car, parking can be an issue. Therefore on Expedia, we clearly state that we do not have a parking lot. We are sorry that you didn't like the continental breakfast we serve. For all guests who prefer a larger or simply different breakfast, we offer an exclusive discount for the breakfast buffet of the restaurant next door. Again, we are truly sorry that your stay wasn't a positive one. Kind regards, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle. WA

Nice hotel on the beach, only 4 rooms with seaview

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Nice small hotel, NO parking if you have a car, beach with parked boats always, to swing have to go true them. Very friendly staff. Excellent service, they don't bother for tipping. NO NIGHT MUSIC AT ALL. Very happy all staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Helge Sturesson, Hotel Management
Dear Alfredo, Thank you very much for taking a moment to review your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, the tranquility inside Playa Palms Beach Hotel, and appreciate your kind comments regarding all our staff. I'd like to mention that we actually have 6 beach front rooms and 29 ocean view rooms, with a view from the balcony. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards from Playa del Carmen, Helge Sturesson General Manager Playa Palms Beach Hotel