Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FIRE WAITING TO HAPPEN

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: REALITY is WORSE THAN THERE PICTURES. Could not finish review because I was only allowed 1500 characters. Would not give face cloth. Towels gray.
Cons: DEMOLISH & REBUILD IT. Last pic. no pavement. 7th 8th from last pic. no grass. I am a woman from the U.S. TRAVELED MEXICO. WORSE PLACE I EVER STAYED.
Location: DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.
TOTAL FIRE TRAP...Tried to attach pictures but they would not upload. Top bunk LEAKED when it rained. It is 2 stories and each floor is 10 X 12 feet. TINY. I was traveling alone and I was able to use the bottom bed to store my clothing. No closet, no dresser, no hangars. Light over bathroom sink was an UNPROTECTED LIGHT BULB and it was HANGING OFF THE WALL. A pad lock with rusted screws was used as a door lock. BIG BUGS in the bathroom SINK. I have never seen bugs like this. Big, Black with Antennas. They were up to 2 inches long & thin. Did not move much and seemed harmless. Just very ugly looking. They did not even scamper when the light was turned on. NO LOCKS ON WINDOWS. Some had latches with rusted screws. One window had a paper towel wedged in it to keep it closed. Could not use the latch. LOOK CLOSELY AT THE PICS on EXPEDIA....You can see how dirty the CURTAINS are and some windows have NO CURTAINS but they have a CURTAIN ROD in place. PIC. #6 on the lower right hand side. It is much worse in reality. In the pictures the curtains look clean compared to what they are in reality. they are TOTALLY STAINED and ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING Pic. # 3 Why did they NOT OPEN the WINDOW on the right side as they did on the left side. Because It would not open. Look at the front door. Very flimsy wood with parts of the wood missing. Curtains also had missing hooks and did not hang properly.
5 out of 5
by Wendy

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was so central to everything I had a fabulous stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is an over priced hostel not a hotel.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Orbitz
The access to the beach is a small pathway that has pallets to walk over because the hotel beside the paths air conditioners drip there. You cannot even be at this part of the beach because of all the rented beach chairs and message set ups. We wanted to leave this hotel and area but couldn't because we were locked into an orbitz reservation. Which was more than what the rooms were if you were just a walk in guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closer to a hostel than a hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great bargain! Excellent location. Two minute walk to the beach for a fraction of the price of the surrounding hotels. Mere minutes to dozens of restaurants, the bus and ferry terminals, shops on the outdoor pedestrian mall. The place itself is old and shabby, a real throwback to the old days before the PDC building boom. But the staff is very friendly and clean things very diligently every day. If you need a sterile environment where everything works perfectly, this is not your place. But if you just need a place to throw your bag and crash after a long day in the thick of the action, Popol Vuh is a budget lifesaver.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beat up old place in good location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
I like to travel cheap, but I think most people would find this place disappointing. I chose this place based on a recommendation in a Lonely Planet guide. I stayed in a hotel room for the air conditioning as recommended by that guide. The location is fantastic! Right next to the beach, just off of 5th avenue, right around the corner from the ADO bus station. It is a bit of a walk to get groceries from Mega, maybe 20-25 minutes. I was on the bottom floor of the hotel, and even though it is close the 5th and there is a noisey "locals" bar right outside on 2nd, the room was quiet at night and I slept very well. The room was simple with tile floor & 2 beds, a private toilet & shower ( which I have not had in comparable places in New York or Europe), a fridge, a TV with 2 English channels (BBC cooking shows & some movie channel), & air conditioning. Windows were broken and wouldn't lock properly, dresser was broken. I figured if someone crawled in during the night I would wake up when they tried to open the dresser and it fell apart on them. ;) Otherwise I never left any valuables in the room. I will say that the woman there during the day was very friendly and kept the room very clean daily. Each day she left new towels made into a different animal sculpture, just like you might get at a fancy resort. For me, the cheap price during low season and the good location, outweighed the fact that this is not luxury accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint room

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice area, near to all attractions, beautiful garden with hammocks, very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Close to the beach and 5th avenue,

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice common area where guest can hang out, hammocks. Staff was excellent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great vaca

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was amazing great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Serene and natural beach hideaway in the city

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We loved our hut--the wooden frame, thatched roof and screened windows were charismatic and down to earth! We slept well with all the fresh air in the room and the fans were so practical that we didn't miss AC at all. The sandy courtyard was serene, shaded by big Palm trees which keep it cool during hot times of day. We enjoyed using the hammocks and the communal kitchen was clean and convenient. Walk east out of the property about 50 paces and you're at the beach! Had a great massage there and heard great music at the neighboring beach bar! Walk south out of the property and cross the street for the hotel restaurant--sit at the bar swing and try their margaritas and fish or shrimp tacos. Excellent! The housekeeping staff did a great job--we always had clean towels, porches and floors. It is within minutes walking distance from the pier/ferries to Cozumel, ADObus station, nightlife, shops and great local eateries recommended by a staff member. Thank you to the wonderful people there--Great vacation/experience!
4 out of 5
by barbara from Cozumel

Better than ever!

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
I've stayed at Popul Vuh many times. The location can't be beat and I love the friendly vibe. The owner has made some nice improvements to the property and it is even better than before. Highly recommended for a casual, friendly hotel experience.