Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Tropical Oasis near attractions

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My family and I (5 of us) travelled to Playa del Carmen on August 11 for a 5-night stay. First time ever in Mexico, but I was intrigued by the Porto Playa Condo Hotel because of the outstanding rating it has received from Expedia and every other travel site on the web. They were spot on. This hotel is everything you could want and more from a tropical retreat without the massive resort feel. Our room, suite 207, was an amazing fully furnished three-level suite with a king master bedroom and two other rooms with queen beds and each room has its own bathroom. We had a full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer and private rooftop terrace with jacuzzi, bbq grill, prep area and seating area. It was truly paradise and the best vacation experience we have had so far. The staff was very professional, warm and accomodating. All of this, plus we had breakfast at the sister Indigo Club every morning next to the beach and it was breathtaking. Porto Playa Condos is literally one block from 5th Avenue where the day and night life are, very convenient and if you want to buy groceries, I recommend Walmart which is just a few blocks away. The area is safe and frequently patrolled by Policia Tourista and Federales. I used Local Experts as our airport transfer and they were phenomenal, I highly recommend them. I also recommend taking in some excursions, we went to Tulum and Coba which were wonderful, and a day trip to Cozumel. Can't wait to come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Alberto Lopez - Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tina; Hope this message finds you well. We really appreciate you took the time to share with us your feedback. Very complete and well detailed for people looking for options. The less we can say to you and your family is Thank you! and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Alberto
5 out of 5
by LISA

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017
Thank you for your comments and visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Great place to stay. Excellent location. Rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated and includes all amenities. Staff is fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Unbeatable location!!

Posted May 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Great hotel!!!!! For the price it was an excellent option. I will start with the one thing I did not like, which is, Indigo Beach Club disappointed us a little bit. It is beach front, however, that area is used for docking boats, not for swimming. So you better find another Beach if you want to get sun and swim. Mamita's Beach club and others are less than 10 mins walking. Not bad at all. The hotel is right off of 5ta Avenida. It is in an excellent location, close to all the bars, clubs, shopping, great food, etc etc. We stayed in a penthouse that was huge! It def fits more than 6 people. It had direct access to the pool, so it felt like it was our own private pool. Pretty awesome! Our reservation came with breakfast everyday to two different restaurants, one of them was indigo beach club. For the price, the breakfast was pretty good, we had many selections to choose from. Overall we are pretty happy with our choice of staying in this hotel. I highly recommend it and would def come back!!!
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Great location and excellent private terrace.

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Our hotel/condo was amazing! The room, a penthouse, was well worth the little bit of extra money. It had its own rooftop terrace with full dining area, grill, and hot tub. The front desk speaks very clear English and they were even able to tell us about some more private beaches. The beach in this area of Playa del Carmen is not the best, but it was still only a block to get to the sea. The best part about the location is that the hotel is only a block from 5th Avenue where all the best restaurants and shops are in playa. Everything is in walking distance. Great stay and would definitely book there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Awesome room. A short walk to the beach!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location was close to everything
Excellent complex! Would recommend this to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton. Ont

Great Condo if you have the right unit

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Cons: When booking on Expedia, you should be able to book the exact room type so that you know exactly what you are getting.
Location: Location is good. 10 min walk to the Mega to get groceries. Close to 5th and beach although the beach near our hotel is not great.
We really enjoyed our stay at this complex. The common areas were beautiful with lovely foliage. Pool and hot tub areas were clean and relatively quiet. Units were clean and nicely appointed with everything you would need ie toaster oven, wine glasses, cooking utensils, blue tooth wireless speakers etc. We booked a room here because all the reviews said that it was very quiet and we really liked the looks of the patio areas. We were very disappointed to see that our unit was not quite what we expected. We thought that we were getting a king size bed with 2 twins in the second bedroom but we got 2 rooms with one queen in each bedroom which didn't really work out as we have 2 kids. Also, our patio area was so small we could not fit our family of 4 at the table for meals without someone having to sit sideways. Most of the units had ample room on their patios. As for noise, generally it was very quiet unless you wanted to go to sleep early (before 10). Our bedrooms backed onto a restaurant and you could hear mariachi bands until about 10-10:30 which I can tell you there is nothing more annoying when you are trying to sleep. However, not all units have this issue. If I were booking again I would call to make sure that the unit was not near the restaurant or the gym (our friend's unit was above the gym and they were woken up at about 7 am from the music from the spin classes) and request a room with a large patio.
5 out of 5
by Alice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Issue with wifi and ac.

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location was amazing and kitchen facilities and private baba Nd jacuzzi were wonderful.. Staff very helpful
Cons: Ac was on and off nut ok as condo had three systems but still.... Wifi also off and on.
Location: Great location. Quiet as down one side street. Vey safe and close to beach and fifth street
Very nice location. Quiet street but close to all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Great location Condo/Hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Before booking this hotel, I went to their website to see the rooms that we will be staying. It is what it said. We stay in room 220, the room is spacious, perfect for families with kids. The kitchen has everything you need to make a meal but no need as we found plenty of restaurants nearby 5th ave. We got the breakfast package and eat at The impressivst during our stay,(if you missed the breakfast, it is also good for brunch) friendly waiter and yummy food. The hotel gave us few coupons for free10 min massage/$10 off ( which I used both ). Our first time in Playa Del Carmen, really enjoyed our stay,and the hotel, its staff...just makes everything more enjoyable. Highly recommend !!!