Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, Ca

great location

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Interesting concept, perfect location, so close to everything, very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, Canada

Hard to summarize, but we'd stay again for sure

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Location and front desk staff who could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Cons: Lighting
Location: The restaurant is 50 paces from Quinta Avenida, the main tourist drag, and a short walk to the beach. What more could you want!
This seems like a place where Thor Heyerdal would have stopped for the night after beaching his raft. Funky, to say the least. There are ropes and red lights and netting and dark wood and vegetation everywhere, and manequins many wearing motor cycle helmets. Strange place for sure. The hotel is dark everywhere and there are too many red lights---we didn't mind at first, but after a couple of days the dim started to bother us. The lobby is large and inviting with many comfortable places to sit and a nice looking bar which was usually empty. We couldn't figure out why other than the fact that the music was loud and horrible all day long (even at breakfast). The staff everywhere - front desk, breakfast, pool -were extremely friendly and helpful, Paulina and Erik especially. We had a large room which, like the rest of this place, seemed newly renovated with sufficient (American-style) electrical outlets and a very modern thermostat that cools off the room very quickly. It is noisy, however, too noisy to keep running during the night for sure. The wi-fi is sometimes fine, but too often very slow. There is what looks like an enormous pool on the roof but it is in fact only a few inches deep for the most part and used for lounge chairs, a neat idea. At one end, there is more depth and one can certainly swim a bit. Breakfast from a menu begins with a dish of delicious fruit, but the rest is pretty average and the lack of a good English menu and the generally poor English of
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa monica ca

Great location in heart of downtown and goo access

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Hotel is clean and nice very well located heart of downtown with good access to the beach, nice room with a romantic videos in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queretari, MX

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Room was comfortable and close to the beach. Nice location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cozumel

Great hotel. Lots of fun!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The different look. Very different from the common, normal hotel. Quite fun!
Cons: Hot water -- the water took very long to become hot in the shower.
Location: Very close to Mamitas Beach Club and 5th Ave -- but not so close that the noise is unpleasant.
We live in Cozumel and have often stayed in Playa del Carmen hotels. I've seen the Reina Roja hotel before, but have never chosen it, but after reading several positive reviews, I decided to try it out. We loved it! It's definitely a change from other hotels, but only in that it is more fun! Different decorations, a very different layout than your standard simple hotel. The staff was very helpful, kind and they handled things well. Some of the reviews made comments about the 'adult' decorations, but it is not perverse or suggestive at all. It's just more fun! We stayed in the deluxe king room, which was huge and incredibly comfortable. Even had a nice balcony. There is a pool on the roof for sun bathing and relaxing, and there is a pool in the center of a courtyard on the ground level, that is deeper/more suited for swimming. There is even a small pool in the lobby next to the bar! The location is very close to all the action at 5th avenue and just a 5 minute walk from mamita's beach club. Many reviewers commented about the thin walls; My man slept like a rock, and I heard through the walls maybe twice. It was not a disturbance at all. Great roomservice, and the tuna tataki fabulous!. When we ordered the meal, the staff actually brought our cocktails first, so we could drink while waiting for the rest of the meal. We loved it, and we will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Customer Service

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: The themes & employees at the hotel were the best.
Very unique boutique that has the best customer service around. Jorge & Enrique were above & beyond helpful and really made our stay excellent. Would visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Beautiful funky hotel. Amazing staff!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Beautiful, funky hotel right in the heart of 5th Ave. Wonderful staff especially Erick! Amazing breakfast included. Rooftop garden and pool were spectacular. Rooms were large and comfy. Fantastic experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Sales dept, Hotel Management
Hello. We are so happy to know that you enjoy you stay At Reina Roja Hotel, we hoppe to see you soon. Have a great week
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Excellent location on shopping strip and one block from beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Saul Hidalgo, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing our property as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a room

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
No valet parking, phone in the room didn't work, no 24 hr room service, wanted to charge for friends to visit, front desk and security were rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at Reina Roja. We are very sorry to read that we were short of your expectations during your stay with us. We will follow up on each of your comments regarding about security and front desk. Please be sure that your opinion and comments are extremely valuable to us. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. In the meantime please accept our best regards.