Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, we wish it was closer to the beach.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Food, entertainment and activities
Cons: Offer in-house currency exchange for US dollars, none onsite. More activities, more food variety.
Location: Quite and peaceful location, lots of places to lay back and relax.
We had a great time, quite surrounding and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca.

Very good I like it.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
I feel very happy and confortable so very good food and service great..!! I cameback again.next time 100%.thanks.for everthing.!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rui-nice

Posted May 21, 2017
Awesome friendly staff enjoyable room n close to the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
AC went out last 2 days........................,.,,,,,,,,,,.....,,,,.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice smaller resort with excellent staff!

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The only thing I wished for was my own bed. The beds are not real great but the are adequate! This was my second trip to the RIU Lupita. I love it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broomall, PA

The Motel 6 of the Riu Chain

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was easy to navigate due to its smaller size
Cons: Provide some A/C - at least in the more hot/humid times - for eating. Without an ocean breeze (or any breeze some nights) it is truly uncomfortable -
Location: Beach club is great. 5th Ave and surrounding area is a fun trip to shop and try some local bars and restaurants.
While not horrible, definitely not a worthwhile venue even with the savings in cost. The rooms are fine and kept clean, the wait and bar staff are wonderful - as are the activity staff. The pools are kept clean. It is a small resort, which has its upside, but there is NO air conditioning in any venue there- so in August, it's can be rough - sweating thru your meals and the shows. Because it is not ocean side - there is no ocean breeze to make it more tolerable. The bus service to the beach club was efficient and timely. The beach club itself is wonderful - lots of shaded areas to sit and the only pool that stays cool (due to shade) in Playa in August (hotel pool is like a hot bath by early afternoon this time of year) The food is ok, we certainly didn't starve, less selection (of course) than better Riu hotels, but presented well - again, downside is the oppressive heat this time of year bearing down on you while eating. The specialty restaurants still use the reservation system, we did not try any of them but I am sure they were fine - the menus for them were exactly the same as at the Riu Playacar -where I stayed a few weeks back. Hanna at the front desk lacks professionalism and any interest-even faux. She started our trip out on a very down note. Other than that -it's a budget experience - and for many that's enough. I just feel a few extra $$ spent elsewhere is money well spent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love RIU hotels but this one was ok............

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The food, beach and pools were ok. Riu is my favorite hotels but not this one. Johnathan at the front desk was a sweetheart.............
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

The beds are VERY hard and too much wildlife!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The resort looks very nice and the staff are excellent, but the beds are SO HARD if you tried to jump on it...you might break an ankle (seriously). My boyfriend has a bad back so it was extremely painful for him. Also the resort is surrounded by trees and wildlife, so if you don't like animals don't stay here. There were Mexican raccoons(yes, they exist and look like monkeys), crows, and giant grasshoppers very visible on the resort. The crows would fly into the buffet area and stalk plates. The raccoons would run away if you came too close so they weren't dangerous but it just didn't make the resort as appealing. ALSO, if you are looking to party and have excellent entertainment... This IS NOT the resort for you! Entertainment was HORRIBLE, very dry no partying or pool bar!!!! This resort is only good if you want to RELAX and go to beach. No extras at all type of stay and the food was pretty good. Also, the resort is not on the beach they have a shuttle that will take you it comes every 20 mins and its only a 10 min ride.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Rooms were dirty. Stained sheets. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice hotel but food was not that great

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The hotel staff was great and helpful rooms were clean great place if you want to be away from the crowd and spend a quite vacation. The bus ride to beach was not bad only bad thing is the last bus to 5th street is at 645. The only real complaint I have is the sharing of the non-motorized things on the beach that had to be shared with Riu palace staff on the beach was not very friendly and gave us excuses when the items were sitting right in front of us when wanting to take out a catamaran boogie board etc.