Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We go to Playa 1-2 times every year. We usually stay in one of the Riu Palaces. Had not stayed at the Mexico since the renovation. Everything was, as usual, wonderful, however we were very disappointed in the renovations. We loved the warm, rich interior which is now VERY modern, cold - and to us - cheap looking. Our 30something year old daughter and son-in-law were with us and they agreed - so, it wasn't just that we are 60something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city mo

RIU palace mexico

Posted Sep 12, 2017
This hotel was a very nice resort with all the amenities we've come to expect from the RIU properties. The beach, the pools, the staff, were all excellent. There were several RIU properties close by but we chose the palace so we could use the others if we chose. The room was a bit uncomfortable but the maintenance guy did adjust the AC and there was a ceiling fan. The staff was very friendly and accommodating especially around the pools and on the beach. The one off property excursion we did involved atv zip line cenotes and underground censored swimming pool was excellent!! The one bad part but not the hotels issue was hurricane Harvey stranding us for two extra days at some downtown Cancun hotel not nice until we could get out!! Lesson learned be wary of travel to Carib locations during hurricane season!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Nicely laid out- didn't feel restricted in space with a full guest list
Cons: The mixed drinks were ok I think they need to taste a bit more natural less commercialized
Location: Markets in waking distance
Enjoyed, the food was very good, the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virgina USA

Very nice hotel and the food was excelente

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Was very nice and amazing vacation in the Riu palace Mexico
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Family- friendly resort. The nightly entertainment is great, and the staff is exceptional; very kind, polite, and helpful. The beach area is pretty crowded. Overall, nice time at this place. Definitely enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

Beautiful hotel but beach too crowded;

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the architecture
Cons: service
beach is pretty but too crowded. there are no waiter service at this Riu. none of the room have ocean view because of the way is built
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Very nice

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our experience was incredible, fabulous very nice beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Close to a nice beach with a lot to do

Posted Aug 19, 2017
So beautiful. Staff was amazing. Food was great for an all inclusive. The small restaurants at night were great but get there early. The shows were fun. Lots of opportunities to meet others and socialize. Will be going back pronto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

5 stars

Posted Aug 11, 2017
It was all great especially The Food although the animaton would use a little boost everything excelent And all of the city is beautiful I love all Riu 😁
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Incredible staff and food

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The hotel is beautiful. The staff is incredible. They work so hard. They made our experience so great! Please tip these guys. They work so hard and serve it. Our only issue was the air conditioning. It was so hot. We changed rooms and it was still hot. If the air conditioning was working i would give it 5 stars. Another thing to mention was the security. We felt so safe. Theres a security gate to get into the resort grounds and a gate to the hotel. Always felt very comfortable with my surroundings.