Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Franciso

Nice hotel close to beach and attractions

Posted Feb 24, 2018
We had a pleasant trip to Cancun, this hotel is closer to main activities or attractions than hotels in hotel zone. It is inside a community area that vehicle need to get pass a gate with sercuity to get in. There are few Riu hotel next to each other that we can visit and eat there. And manager Miguel is a great help to visitors and can be seen everywhere to greet and offer helps
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic customer service!

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Cons: Only downside was the number of bathrooms- they are a bit far from the beach, it was quite a walk to the bathrooms.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel and it's staff. Great food, close to the beach, great pools, swim up bar and fun activities. Not too big but big enough. The staff is AMAZING. From the front desk, to the wait staff, to the housekeepers, I can't say enough good things. We would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was very accommodating.

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Very pleased with facility and staff. Everyone has different expectations about all inclusive resorts and we know there are those that are less expensive and those that are more expensive, but having been to the area several times, this hotel offers all the relaxation, comfort, attention that we require. My only comment would be is the open concept room design leaves little privacy other than the toilet/water closet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft lauderdale

beautifull hotel with ocean view

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Pros: every thing,the decor the ambiance easy access to your room,to all the restaurant and the beautifull peoples working there always smilling andready
Cons: I don't think so thank'you again
Location: the street need to be improve in playacar but for the rest everything is near by banks shopping mall and nice little market close by to get souvenirs
the reception is great the staff very polite and bilingual.the service at all the restaurant was fantastic.the menus and food excellent,but the best is the peoples everywhere restaurants, by the pools,and the room cleaness,.For me he was the best experience of my life .thank'you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey, Mexico

Our experience

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: People are very nice. It has its own beach and in very good condition.
Cons: In some cases the quality of the food.
Location: It is very close to the Fifth Ave. in Playa del Carmen, which is very convenient. Walking distance.
1.- My favorite beer is Tecate Light, the hotel has it but it is not offered at all the bars, nor in the mini bar. 2.- The restroom: it´s a VERY VERY small restroom. I am not that tall but I hardly fit in that restroom. 3.- There is a restaurant close to the beach. During the day they serve meals for lunch, very good and nice food. But at night they offer dinner and they have on the menu a supposed steak (I do not remember wich one) angus qulity. That is not angus AT ALL. It is TERRIBLE. 4.- The sausage served during breakfast is very poor quality. The issue of the restroom is very important for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from white Plains, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
I and my family have A good time in Riu Palace Mexico, the hotel is close to the beach, have excellent accommodation and an excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

On the beach, amazing staff, great food

Posted Jan 7, 2018
The people who work here have amazing attitudes, they really make the experience luxurious, positive and friendly beyond what I could have imagined. Rooms could have been a little nicer but really you don’t spend any time there so it’s fine. Food is plentiful and fresh, every meal was a pleasure, they managed to sit our party of 9 together everyday for ever meal. Wish I could have stayed longer! One week isn’t enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Great experience at Roy! Great food and amazing staff. Great place for a beach vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from white plains, ny

Nice hotel, clean and close to the beach

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We had an excellent time in the Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous beach, nice buffets .

Posted Jan 4, 2018
My husband and I stayed with another couple in the resort during New Year Eve week. The beach is gorgeous, especially if you like long walks along the sea ( 1 hour to the left to reach Playa del Carmen and back) and another hour or even more to the right to Sandos resort and farther... It's the main reason we continue going that area ( visited Sandos, Iberostar, and now in Riu Palace Mexico ). The pros of this resort: 1. Location 2. Beach though no palapas 3. Smaller and less crowded place than others 4. Variety of food in buffets 5. Clean rooms and other facilities Cons: 1. Put a request for a top floor room, and got the room on the ground floor :-) 2. Don't rely on room amenities, like body lotion, conditioner, bring your own. I ran out of mines, and they were not brought to my room even after I called the office 3. The room layout is very open, only a shower and toilet have walls and doors; not convenient if it's not only two of you 4. They don't accept reservations for themed restaurants, so if you decide to have a dinner in any of the places, be prepared to wait for 1+ hour just outside, not sure if it worth. We didn't like Japanese, and after having dinner in Italian place I got food poisoned ( first time in my life in a resort), so we gave up on therm. Overall we like the place, but probably will go to another place next time.