Ratings based on 1,851 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Pricey but worth it

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The fact they make good on their promise. You get all the food and drinks you want at no additional cost. And, above all the friendly staff.
Cons: Focus the entertainment in Mexican fare. Make the entertainment staff that the audience isn't there to entertain but to be entertained.
Location: Each time you leave your all-inclusive you miss services you paid for. But a trip to nearby Quinta Avenida in Playa del Carmen is good.
We were assigned to our rooms right away -confortable, clean and spacious. The appearance of the facilities are impressive, perhaps at times a bit too grandiose. The beach is excellent and well kept. Food is at the main restaurant, Don Manolo, especially at dinner time, is delicious and served by an amazingly friendly staff that will speak any language to ask what you want. The other restaurants' menu, quite frankly, didn't appeal to us, although other guests seemed to like them. Licqour, if that is what pleases you, abounds and is all over -the room, the beach and especially at the bar La Habana, a nice place to lounge, and where in the evening a server named Jose will bring you the drinks and cheerful chat. Entertainment at night was good as long as they focused on Mexican music and folklore. On a night that was not Mexican, the "contest" that some couples in the audience were put through was so grotesque and in bad taste that at least 2 couples didn't find it fun and left the stage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Awesome beach, awesome staff, Excellent food!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Location: Playa Del Carman is nice with friendly people. Shops, restaurants, something to do everywhere.
Best stay we've had in Mexico! Food was the best, beach was the best, and the folks there were outstanding! we'll be hard-pressed to stay anywhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Elegant Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This hotel is a gorgeous classy elegant place located right on the beach in Riviera Maya, Playa Del Carmen. My wife and I will be returning to this hotel in the future. The facilities, staff, and food were outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tacoma,washington

Everything was good

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We stayed there for 8 days, I really like it. Great staff, food was really really good. Shows at night time were really poor. I really liked the beach. Recommend this hotel for who wants to just rest at the beach, who like quiet place -this is yours hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Great Experience with our first time

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: It was very big and beautiful from the lobby to the rooms. Patios and pool area were very accommidating and the staff were very attentive and super
Cons: Minor things from our experience. One of the sinks in our bathroom was cracked but did not leak.
Location: shopping is a 15-20 min walk or a 6$ taxi ride. Tons of shopping and food to keep you busy for a day. There is also a Ferry there to Cozumel
Wonderful doesn't do this trip justice. It was our first time in Mexico and first time with a RIU property. Absolutely, positively a great experience. From the time we entered this beautiful, majestic foyer and checked in, to the time we left, we had a wonderful experience. Great accommodations, friendly staff, and never wanted for anything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Be prepared to be robbed

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Cons: Staff NOT STEALING!!!
Beautiful clean rooms, superb beach, and the the best food I have eaten at a resort.So why the one star review? On the last evening of our trip, my husband and I were going to go to the beach so we decided to take our water camera with us. Upon looking for the camera, we could not find it in our room. It was there that morning & when we needed to use it, it was gone. I immediately went to the front desk. I filed a report & the staff told me security will to come to look in our room. In 15 minutes security came and checked our room thoroughly. They said they will speak to the staff that was in our room that day.For about an hour and a half we waited & we decided to call the front desk.Then another staff member came to our room and told us that there was nothing they could do now because there was not a manager on staff. Then magically, there was a manager there. He asked the same questions as security & told us to email RIU’s headquarters when we got home. Today, almost two weeks after the incident, we received a answer from headquarters member saying that they cannot do anything because we did not put it in the safe & they asked the staff & she said she didn't do it. This is the largest load of crap. Yes, we did not put the camera in the safe. When I am staying at a near five star resort I have the expectation that a staff member is not going to steal from my room. If you ask staff if they stole they wont admit it. Other people had the same issue at this hotel, check google.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
We loved it. Awesome food and staff. Great pool and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
amazing experience loved the hotel and it's Beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We stayed in this beautiful hotel for seven days and we loved every second of it. The care and service we received was out of this world! When they say all inclusive, I mean everything was included! The food was delicious and there was about 6 restaurant to choose from. They have daily activities during day time and music and shows every night. We would definitely recommend it to family and friends and hope to come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockaway, New Jersey

Beautiful hotel Great service

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It was a great pleasure to stay in this beautiful cozy hotel. Great location, super great staff, amazing food. Evening entertainment mostly local. One of the best vacation I ever had ❤️