Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Amazing exeprience at affordable rate

Posted Jan 18, 2018
My wife and I went to this property durning the Christmas break. This hotel and the staff is amazing. the hotel does not feel as new as the other Riu hotels around it but I like the Mexican villa theme better. the other hotels have a modern theme which is not as beautiful. The food at this hotel is amazing. The main restaurant is the best for daily dinner since it has the most variety. We did not care for the asian food here. I did not expect it to be good anyway. The steak house was very good. Try the RibEye. I found it very inconvinient to book the mexican dinner place since they take booking at 7am. If you go to the pyramids, you leave the hotel at 6am. If you stay in the hotel, you wake up later. this makes it impossible to get in for that restaurant. I hope they can change that. I loved my experience here and would recommend it to anyone going there. This hotel does not have a beach attached. But the walk to the beach is just 10 mins. Also you can use the bar etc at the Riu there. So I did not think it was too bad. The main dining room is is most beautiful at this hotel among all the Riu. Also, a coffee maker in the room would be nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from mundelein.

Great hotel location.

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Location /mexican felin of the Riviera Maya.
Cons: Beds the y need new ones.
Location: Excelente location nice área to relax.safe..
I love to eat food was great friendly associates nice clean hotel graunds. N been abble to have acces to other propperies Is greeat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2018
We bought a room for four people and got a small room with 2 double beds linked together. Horrible! No wifi in the room, no room service either. Old hotel with old facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not on the beach. Very uncomfortable beds.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Two positive things I can say is the food is excellent And the staff is welcoming. The hotel is not on the beach, the rooms are small and old. Beds are uncomfortable. Bathrooms do not have doors. We were in two rooms and both had black mold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Please trim trees above volleyball court since trees blocks volleyball playing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wow it was so cool

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Hotel was very clean and meal was very tasty.Hotel has many interesting show every evening.We will definitely return to this hotel on our next vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BROOKLYN, NY

nice hotel,not so close to the beach

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Nice beach, funny pool activities /Yucatan/
Cons: poor welcoming- no one to meet you, no refreshing drinks. No lotion available in the room, no room services, no ventilation in the bathroom
Location: Rio Secrets- caves!
it was nice vacation, beach is nice, food is good. If you want to be on the beach and be close to you room- this is not the one. But for us it worked , we were on the beach all day long. Nice entertainment!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2017
The only thing I didn’t like was that they don’t offer any kind of food after 9pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

My experience

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: All Inclusive, The staff was excellent
Cons: Entertainment, Remodel rooms, More lighting throughout the grounds
Location: Prime location, Beach 5 mins awy
The first night was horrible, I had to switch rooms because they’re were lizards and other bugs in my room and the room smelled damped.I called the front desk and they were hesitant at first before agreeing to give me a new room. My new room was much better. I was promised a $35 restaurant credit from Expedia and I never received it. This hotel is kid friendly. The Maneger was fabulous along with the hotel staff. The resort gives you a Mexican feel but the rooms need a makeover and modern entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Excellent hotel, my best recommendation!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
It was excellent, I like RIU Tequila a lot. Wonderful beach and Pina Colada with strawberry at beach bars. We have met a lot of people, who come to this hotel 5-12 times. And I will come back to this hotel too!))