Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens NY

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I would like to say it's beautiful hotel and the Diner and food was very good and entertainment was the best I like a lot I had fun but they have to take care of the bugs and mosquitoes to spray outside and inside resorts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I love the Riu Tequila. Everyone is do nice and the food fantastic. The beds need to be more comfortable though but everything else beautiful. Thank you Riu Tequila
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, ca

Horrible service from the staff.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This has been the worst hotel we have stayed at. Most waiters were not friendly at all. The food was good but the employees at the front desk were terrible. I would NOT recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family members.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Would definitely stay here again

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Friendly staff!! Amazing authentic Mexican feel to the entire resort!! Landscape and grounds are full wildlife and feel like a jungle. Pool was great!! All dinning place are a buffet except the steak house.. the restaurants basically had the same food every night which I prlly give like 6/10.. not bad but at times hard to pick through to find good items.. bars and entertainment were good!! Even though I'm convinced the water down the alcohol because it was really hard to even get buzzed. There is a short walk to the beach or you can wait for a golf cart ride that operates 6 hours out of the day.. The cool thing it you get access to all the sister resorts facilities on the beach to eat, drink use the pool, enjoy their entertainment ect.. The beach is perfect!! Very little sea weed, no rocks, white sand!! Very big and tons of chairs to lay out on. The two big things I would say we're a let down we're the beds were rock hard and the pools close at 6pm. Other then the the little thing we're far outweighed by the positives at the Riu tequila!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel with big pool

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Had an amazing time was close to the beach and had access to multiple other resorts. The only part that disappointed me a little was when we first arrived we got in pretty late and the hotel desk handed us our keys and that was it we had no explanation on any activities or even how to get to our room. Other then that we had an amazing time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Good Hotel not expectacular

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very quiet holiday. The food was not bad but only three restaurants.The towels very hard. The staff very attentive. But the property looks old needs remodeling. Cheap vacations but quiet. good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel not desirable

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I felt in the room one night, trying to turn on the lights. I trip over some towels and got an open wound. I called for a doctor and the reception sent cotton balls, peroxide instead. There were bloody towels in my room which were not taken care of right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great place for families

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: One of the highlights of everyday were the great activities coordinated by the entertainment staff. The activities were family friendly.
Cons: The rooms need updating and the front desk staff should be more interested in helping guests.
Location: The hotel is a 10 minutes cab ride to Playa del Carmen which offers many shops and resturants
We did a great deal of research before booking at the Rui Tequila. When you arrive, be sure that the reception staff explains all the amenities including the access the other Rui properties. We had to investigate a lot of that on our own. Once in the room we found the décor a bit dated, however we found the room to be very clean. Overall the property is beautiful. It is obvious that the staff works very hard to keep everything looking good. The breakfast in the main dining room is amazing and was a daily highlight. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall I would rate hotel staff as Excellent except for the front desk who did not seem interested in helping when asked. They were standoffish and overall not friendly. This was not typical of the rest of the staff at the resort. Don't miss the Asian restaurant on the property. We found the food to be very good. No need for reservations for the restaurants on the property. However be sure to make a reservation for the Beach Club for the Mexican food. It was great. The pools at the other resorts are great too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagle Pass, Texas

Great place to spend a vacation!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This is the second time I stay at this facility and it is a great place. The comfort, the food, the staff, everything is superb! I would go there for the third time !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

A great experience overall

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Opulent all-inclusive setting. Hotel staff were exceptional and responsive. A great trip. Be prepared for a lot of walking, though. Facilities are roughly a quarter mile apart from one another, and the beach is roughly a half mile. The hotel runs shuttles to the beach pretty regularly if you don't want to walk. Evening shows had heart, though the venue seemed more like a training ground for up and coming performers. Congrats and thanks to all the staff. Wild life (animals) on the facility grounds were a nice addition.