Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Disappointed in this Rui

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We have been to Mexico 4 times prior always staying with different all inclusive resorts in the rui family. This one however was a huge let down, the hotel itself just seemed very old and run down, the room was not clean, towels felt and smelled disgusting, our a/c wasn't working properly. The staff seemed miserable and unhappy to be there which is completely opposite of any experience we have had before. I will say positives the food was surprising good and the beach was gorgeous. So if your not fussy about where your sleeping at night and tend to spend most your time on the beach this may work out well for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Geat Vacation!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Stunning beach, great variety of food at the buffet. Do not waste your time going to the steakhouse or mexican. Went the week of 7/29-8/5 the only restaurant that need it reservation was the mexican. You have to be at the main buffet at 7am or before in order to be able to make a reservation. Liked the Italian and Asian. Grounds are very well keept. Fast check in and check out. Playacar area was very safe. When you reserve at Riu Yucatan you can visit Riu Tequila and Riu Playacar. We like a lot Riu tequila, had a great time at "LA pacha" their night club. Hands down to Riu staff, they are aswome. Excellent customer service!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Excellent beach!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Overall, stay was alright. Check in was not that bad considered we were able to check in sooner by the help of Juan. Room was outdated, housekeeping came in daily, but I think to just make the bed and take the towels. There was a huge bug that was crawling in our room. Came back to the room from the pool and the bug was still there! My wife and I both came back with bites. Santos at the 24hr bar was the excellent! Kept us entertained all night. Food was medicor, the Asian restaurant was the best! Declious food too bad they were only open for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The room was dirty, hotel staff were rude, there were no activities available on the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Need to update showers other than that unbelievable resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great staff & service! Hotel atmosphere is wonderful! Rooms do need some update as well as beds, other than that, everything was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas, usa

Love this place!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Staffs are super friendly, excellent buffets, clean and relax! What else you looking for!!! Will recommend more friends to come this place. Thanks for everything!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Pink Palace

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Sorry but whomever renovated this once beautiful resort has turned it into a two dollar brothel ... the decor is absolutely hideous !! I have been here 3 times in the past and I returned because it WAS such a beautiful property ... I WILL NEVER RETUN !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Nice beach but overall a disappointment

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The beach and the pool were amazing.
The beach is beautiful with clear water and soft sand. The pool was fun with great bartenders. Other than that the whole experience was disappointing. The first night there I woke up sweating because of no electricity at 3 a.m. The front desk did not answer when I called several times. Thankfully it was on by around 7 a.m. The food except for breakfast was average to inedible. I left the steakhouse once my entree was served. It was terrible. The only average meal was the Mexican restaurant which requires you to get up at 6:45 a.m. to make reservations. The quality of alcohol was terrible. Even the beer on tap was not good. My AC in my room never really cooled my room below 23 degrees Celsius even though it was set at 14. The bed was hard and the sheets were like sandpaper. The shower has one dispenser labeled shampoo, conditioner and body soap all in one. I wasn't expecting 5 star but I felt like I was in a 2 star hotel in the US at best. I must say the service at the bars was good and the staff was attentive if you asked. It was more the quality of the resort overall with subpar food and alcohol.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We stayed with 3 teenagers. Overall it was a great stay. There are activities for young kids and adults but I wish there was more to do for the teens. The food was decent and the staff were friendly and willig to address any issue. Would stay again at this resort