Ratings based on 2,122 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time!

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Food, activities, night time shows.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading
We got married at Sandos Caracol and we had an awesome time. There is so much to do you don't even have to leave the resort. The food was great, lots of choices! The room needed and upgrading. Beach is really rocky. But overall we had an amazing time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Congratulations about the wedding. Thank you so much fro sharing this amazing moment with us. On behalf the entire family of Sandos Caracol we wish you a love life time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Worst hotel stay

Posted Aug 9, 2017
The only things that were ok at this hotel were the on site cenote and the wild life. Everything else was subpar. First, the room had a sewer smell which I complained three times and the they did nothing to resolve. Two night prior to checkout they offer to change my room but I refused as it was more inconvenience to pack unpack and have to pack again for check out. To make matters worst they front desk told me that I could walk to the other building or they could send a bell boy. Who in their right mind would recommend a guest to move themselves??? Also, besides the room there was no area to cool off as it seems the AC is not being used. The buffet food selection was not at the same level as other hotels in the area (I have stayed at least 4 additional times in Cancun/rRiviera Maya). I would have expected management to contact us and make an effort to make things right or better but that never happened either. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, While we do respect your views and comments, we disagree with them enormously. Over 96% of all reviewers from nearly 10.000 reviews, from different countries and continents cannot be that wrong. Expectations are unique individual characteristics, everyone has his own. Thank you for sharing your opinion that will help us to improve every detail. Kindest wishes,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go here

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The staff is nice but the room we had was not clean. The property doesn't carry straws. The drinks are very distasteful made with fake sugar. You literally have to beg for clean towels. My phone wasn't working in the room and the food was horrible The list can go on and on
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for the taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve and we will take the proper measures to avoid this situation in the future. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Great variety of food, family oriented shows every night and clean rooms.
Cons: Cleaning the beach of seaweed that accumulates, providing more seating in the lobby, transportation to the beach for those unable to walk far
Location: The resort already provides shows and other activities for children. Xplor and Xcaret are near by. Also la quinta of the beach at playa del carmen.
An alright resort in general, but would probably not recommend. Some issues that we had dealt with were hospitality. Upon our arrival no assistance with luggage was offered, we had to find someone to help us. Our previous resort not only parked our vehicle, unloaded our luggage but also greeted us with a nice cold beverage. Sandos did none of the above. We arrived around 2pm, tired and super hot yet we weren't allowed into our rooms till 3:20 pm (check in is set at 3 pm). The check in lobby was super hot and limited seating. The rooms were decent, except the floors are quite slick so you have to be extra careful after showering. The resort is a bit spread apart so there was lots of walking from the rooms to the restaurants. I would overall rate this resort a 3.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review regarding your recent experience with us. All our guest’s comments are valuable for us, as this always help us to improve. Please be certain that we are going to take your highlights into consideration, and we will take appropriate actions to prevent this from happening again. Respectfully yours,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time!

Posted Jul 30, 2017
We had an excellent time at Sandos Caracol. While we were there I proposed to my girlfriend and Wendy and the staff at the hotel set it all up to happen during a Mayan show on the beach. I couldn't have been more happy with the service we got. The rest of our trip was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Wow!! Thank your for your valuable opinion, and congratulations once again for such a celebration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york new york

It was ok

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Would not recommend. No air conditioning in resturants. Tons of mosquitos. And the buffets are horrible. The ocean water is filled of rocks very hard to swim. People were very nice and rooms are always clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Dear Jaime, I am very sorry to see that our hotel fell short of your personal expectations. It is pitiful to see that nothing seem to have worked for you in our property during your stay. We will work with every single head department and the staffs in general to prevent from having in our house things similar to the ones you describe which in no way are reflective of this organization. Kindest wishes,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Needs a lot of updating, has rude staff, food was ok except that we got sick after going to the Brazilian steak house. Beach is dirty and very rocky. Lots of mosquitos which I know is a part of the Jungle, but they could invest in the zappers. AC at restaurants need to be fixed as it is extremely Hot. Whet it rained the water came inside a lot of places in the International Restaurant, we had to move. Neighbors on our floor were banging the doors at night and screaming at 3AM . Woke all of my family up . Staff wouldn't answer to send security up. Pool was extremely hot and dirty....loved the different activities and shows going on every night. Loved all the animals running around. It was a new experience, but would not return. Best restaurant which you must book since its by reservation only and its always booked is the TEMPLE! I give that one a 5!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Dear Luis, We are very saddened to read your review and read that we did not fullfil your expectations. I truly regret the inconveniences you had during their stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we are always worried about our guest’s well-being and strive to make holidays at our property an unforgettable experience. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Family Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
We weren't sure what to expect based on prior reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. We were not looking for a luxury vacation and if you are looking for a luxury resort this is not for you. However it is a kids dream resort. We have twin 7 year old girls and they loved this place. Feeding and seeing the animals everyday, a restaurant with swings, a water park and amazing pool to swim in. We have been to many places and had just goten back from a Trip to Universal Studios and this trip was their favorite. We stayed for four days and didn't leave the hotel and still had plenty to do. The place is very large so much so that it is a bit hard at first to find your way around. Every night there are different shows which the kids loved. The room we had was adequate but a bit hard given the bathroom was really open to the rest of the room so it didn't allow for a lot of privacy. The food was pretty typical for other all inclusives we have stayed at. There was a good variety of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would highly recommend for a unique and enjoyable family vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for you valuable opinion. It is a motivation to the whole Sandos family to read this great review. We hope we can receive you once again really soon. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not Thrilled like the first time

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Something wasn't right this time. Got to the hotel no welcome package offered. Did get necesary info about the new changes, on policies never informed about not need Reservation on restaurants as before. Or feat adult nights on restaurants, waterpark nice adition however some slide rides where closed for my entire stay. 8 Days something fishy there. Visited Sandos playacard waaayyy better food there.... if next time ...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review regarding your recent experience with us. All our guest’s comments are valuable for us, as this always help us to improve. Please be certain that we are going to take your highlights into consideration, and we will take appropriate actions to prevent this from happening again. Respectfully yours,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Gate, California

Nice Hotel with nature theme

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The restaurants around the hotel were great. The food and service was excellent especially in the restaurant steak and fish.
Cons: If it were possible to reduce the amount of mosquitoes as they due tend to get in the way of having a relaxing experience.
Location: There are many activities provided by the hotel, but there are also activities like explore and xcaret nearby where guests can enjoy.
The hotel has a very beautiful and natural scenery, but there was a small issue regarding the mosquitoes. The surrounding made us feel like we were truly around nature, but the only downside was that anywhere that there was an open space, the mosquitoes were a problem. The hotel was very nice and had a great variety for food choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by The management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your SandosCaracol experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guest´s experience. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. Thank you one more time