Ratings based on 2,013 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi Tx

Very Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: I liked that it was small and it was easy to get around.
Cons: The check in process. We were taken to a couch with a drink which was a good thing. However, several others were walking up to the table before us.
Location: We were there to relax, we didn't do anything outside of the resort.
This is a small resort that is well kept. The beach is beautiful and clean. You have excellent food choices and the food was excellent. Breakfast omelets were outstanding. The oriental restaurant was our favorite. Be sure to get reservations for the grill when you first get there. Great workout room with lots of choices. They had good entertainment with the nightly shows. They have a good list of activities throughout the day that you can participate in if you choose. However, I didn't think the entertainment staff was as friendly as they could of been. They didn't get everyone involved, many days I don't even think the activities took place. Don't get me wrong, they did ok it's just that I have been to many resorts and they didn't do as well as the other resorts. The staff throughout the resort was excellent. They went above and beyond to ensure you had a great experience. They work hard to please you. Service was outstanding in all of the restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Secrets at a different level (lower)

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, accommodations,
Cons: Food was not as good as other Secrets resorts. Roof leaks. Beachfront not maintained as good
Overall experience was good. That is what I expected based on previous visits. Buckets and towels catching roof leaks were an UN-pleasant surprise. Other then that it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lenexa, KS

Most attentive staff!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach, staff
Location: Definitely check out Harry's Grill off-site in Playa for an amazing experience. We (all 20 of us) took taxis, and it was totally worth it.
We had a wonderful time on our trip to Secrets- from the welcome in the front lobby, to the minute we left. The staff there made the stay absolutely incredible! From the dance instructors (Viridiana and Ivan, I think) to Juan-the absolute best bartender on the planet, they all went above and beyond. We stayed in a Garden View room, and we still had a view of the ocean. We really loved the ocean/beach. Although the hurricanes have thrown up much seaweed, it was still incredible. The room was meticulously clean each day and they even re-organized our toiletries that we left a mess because we were in a hurry. The salmon in the Italian restaurant was delicious and we also loved the made-to-order omlettes each day. The staff at the hotel are the biggest asset to this place- and we can not say thank you enough for how well they took care of us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Bacon Served While Your Omelet Cooks

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The staff at this resort is the best I have ever seen. Glass bottled coke products come stocked in the room fridge, daily. No bracelets No trams
Cons: Very dated furniture Air conditioning needs to be replaced or installed TVs and remotes need to be replaced DVD players seem unnecessary in the rooms
Location: We enjoyed parasailing during our stay. It was super fun. You can also feed the wildlife, take a trip to Tulum or visit a lagoon. There is a lot to do
My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our 6th Mexican vacation getaway. After staying at 6 different all-inclusive adults-only resorts, we've learned what to look for. Summary: This is a small and romantic all-inclusive adults-only Mexican resort. If you are looking for the party atmosphere, look elsewhere. If you are looking to relax a little and have fun with the other guests and staff, this is the place for you. I just have few gripes to mention below that bugged me. Cons: -Hotel is getting dated. The furniture appears to be from the 90s. Our bed broke twice and we needed to be moved to a different room. This sort of thing shouldn't be happening at a fine, all-inclusive resort like this. Other resorts all far ahead of this one when it comes to furniture. -Air conditioning doesn't work well in the rooms. In other areas of the hotel, AC is non existent. At best, the room AC will be able to reach the fringe of one's comfort level. Do not travel to this resort during the months of June through August. -TVs and remotes do not work well either. Many channels come in gritty or with frequent lag. The TVs do not respond to the remote commands. This seems to have been a problem throughout the hotel and not just limited to our two rooms. Pros: -Water pressure in the showers in high -The resort includes all kinds of toiletries in the rooms -The beach is wonderful -Bacon is served while you wait for the omelet stations and then the omelets are cooked in the bacon grease - Yummy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

We liked everything about the hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: I liked the fact that you did not have to do a lot of hiking to get where you want to be.
Location: There is quite a bit within 40 min drive.
Reception was excellent. Room was excellent. Food was very good. The entertainment was especially good, we felt. This area of the beach is beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobe Sound, Florida

Very Nice

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent. Rooms very nice and clean.
Cons: More Mexican food. Don't try to sell another property upon customer arrival.
Location: Far from everything. Excursions a bit pricey. Hotel should have transportation to Playa Del Carmen at a reasonable cost.
Very nice resort. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you. Rooms very nice and clean. Only negative is upon arrival we were not offered a welcome drink and after checking in we were seated and they wanted us to see another one of their hotels and offered a nice breakfast. Sounded like a time share, so we did not do it. This took about 20 minutes of our time and we had to ask for water. The beach has a lot of seaweed and it is far from Playa Del Carmen. We like AM Resorts. The Sunscape in Curaçao was very nice and we will probably visit another in Cozumel next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Best hotel and service EVER!!!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel was very nice and clean. But what it made our experience there was the amazing service, that included them always thinking ahead friendly , very caring on every single detail. What impressed us was that this all inclusive hotel, had a high quality food in all restaurants; food was fresh and never tasted like it was mass produced; because it wasn’t. Was great !! Just awesome vacation in this hotel. Extremely happy and ready to go back. Concierge very attentive and always ready to help, always thinking ahead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bryant, ar

Secrets anniversary trip

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We stayed at Secrets from 9/14-9/18. Overall we had a good experience. The food was great! The only restaurant we did not try was the Sushi/Hibachi type. Room service was an awesome perk and one we took advantage of often. The wait staff that come to you while lounging on the beach are great and a wonderful asset to anyone staying here. There are so many employees that work very hard to keep the resort looking great and events running smoothly. We did a couples massage and it was a great experience that I highly recommend! A few things did happen during our stay. One evening the hot water wasn't working, and our friends staying on the other side didn't have any water pressure. However, we were showering at the busiest time resort goers shower-around 5 pm. We didn't complain because we felt this was a high volume time for water and nothing like that had happened our other nights when we showered around 3-4. One thing that did aggravate me was when we went to leave and pay for massages, we were charged for a local call. It was around 60-70 USD. I used the phone to call our shuttle and set up pick up time to the airport. I did not note any warning or posting on the phone that I would be charged this. Apparently calls to US and Canada are free, but not local calls to MX. We had to pay this in order to receive our ticket to leave in the shuttle. Very irritating! Also, the employee parking is a good walk from the resort, they should be allowed to park closer IMO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merrifield MD, USA

Love this Resort.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: It's service.
Cons: No.
Location: Not sure, because we just stayed at the Resort.
Love everything about it. With just below 300 rooms, their service excellent. The Resort was well kept, love the beach a little small, some weeds but they took care of it, most of all no rocks. Love our floor concierge, knew us by name and provide the best service we could ask for. Love the shows, clearly performed by professionals. Not too many restaurants, however, they provided delicious dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Beyond Expectations! Can't wait to go back!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The staff, food, drinks, and entertainment!
Cons: More grab and go food options.
Location: Stunning resort and beach! Playa del Carmen is a short drive down the road.
This was our third visit to the Cancun area and by far the best! We are so happy that we listened to the reviews of this resort and gave it a shot. Everything that is listed about this resort is actually available, from the amazing food and drink options to the daily/nightly activities. The entertainment staff keeps the fun and party going all day long and into the night at Desires Lounge. We don't normally like to participate in the staff activities but they made it so much fun that we did not want to miss out! The themed nights were a blast and nightly shows were so entertaining! The food and drink quality were outstanding, and much higher-end than our last resort. The resort itself was beautiful and very clean. The beach was perfect and had a private and safe feeling. Though there was seaweed, the grounds staff was continuously there to rake it up. There was always something to do and something exciting going on,and the entertainment staff went above and beyond to make each day fun. We cannot wait to go back to this resort and will recommend it to anyone heading down to the Cancun area.