Ratings based on 1,990 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Good food, friendly staff and beautiful views

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Our room a very weird smell which the staff attempted to fix by cleaning our a.c. vent. Besides the smell our stay was excellent! The food was good, the staff was very friendly and attentive. Everything you need all in one place. Great restaurants, music, dancing activities and entertainment.. I would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Toya, First and foremost, please accept our gratitude for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun for your vacation and thank you also for taking the time to write a review for us. Your comments are well beyond accepted. We are so happy that you found your stay comfortable, welcoming, and delightful. We are already checking what you mentioned abut the smell in the room. Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us. We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in a near future. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Experience

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: no reservations, no wristbands, everyone was very nice
Cons: better property maintenance (broken tiles)
Location: i did the riu secreto (underground caves) tour. it was awesome
Before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews, some of them you take with a grain of salt like: "the food is awful," "beach is terrible," and "the rooms are outdated". Let me set the record straight, if you have no taste buds and eat hamburgers and french fries each and every single day, yes maybe the variety of the food may be terrible to you, but others with taste buds would disagree. The variety of food was quite good and quick service. I didn't have a meal that I was disappointed with. I also liked that the restaurants did not require reservations. I typically eat early (6:30pm) and I did not have to wait around for a table. The beach was small, but it isn't the resorts fault. The staff was out there multiple times a day clearing seaweed as well. My room did not smell musty or look dated. I would say that they could probably work on maintaining the property a little better. There were broken tiles in the pool and in my shower. The spa was also very nice too. I would definitely stay here again for a more relaxing type of vacation. The resort is smaller than some in the area and gives a more intimate feel. The staff was very warm and welcoming. Also to note with the bad press going around, i traveled to this resort by myself and felt safe at every minute. Mostly couples in their 30s or older. I had a few drinks and none of which contained anything other than the standard amount of alcohol that was supposed to be in whatever my drink of choice was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hello! We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun for your last vacation. It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services. Looking forward to welcome you back soon Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Great 4 star hotel!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Air conditioning is not the best but tolerable.
Location: Tulum, underground spring snorkeling...so cool. Excursions sold at hotel.
Great all adult and all inclusive hotel and beach service close to the beach. Beach was amazing and beautiful! Lots of activities to participate or just hang out on the beach in a hammock in your private cabana (50 bucks a day, though). Food was mediocre. Drinks were good. Guest services were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear carol, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun. We are delighted to know you had a perfect time, and that our staff went out of their way to accommodate you. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
This was the perfect getaway for couples! I have all great reviews about the entire experience with one exception the pool closes at 7 p.m. Night Swimming is something we were hoping to do and that didn't happen. Great entertainment fantastic staff beautiful grounds just a wonderful wonderful place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Jill , We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel as well as our food, drinks and the service of our team, we will let them know your kind comments. It was a true pleasure to be your hosts of this holiday and we all hope that you will not leave it too long before you chose to visit us again Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our resort. Best regards!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Huge Disappointment...No Way a 5 Star Resort!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Not much...
Cons: Restaurants (all), pool should be torn out and replaced with a modern infinity type and greatly expanded in size, open the sports bar during the day.
Location: Did not see anything of interest nearby.
I had high expectations for Secrets Capri and even allowed the front desk into talking me into a costly room upgrade (which was worse than my original room). The restaurants are all average to poor (no gourmet dining here). A hostess who worked several of the restaurants did not even smile once or even attempt to be friendly. A bartender at the lobby bar (Omar) was rude and arrogant. The pool (the only one) was at most 3 feet deep and mostly about 2 feet due its sloping sides (I witnessed an elderly woman slip on the slippery tile and hit her head hard...luckily she appeared to be ok). The beach area (what there is of it) does not amount to much and was always covered in seaweed. After just a couple of days my friends and I were so bored we paid costly taxi fares to transfer to Secrets sister resort Maroma (only allowed from 6pm to 1am). My overall recommendation is to stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear DFW, Thank you for detailing your experiences from your stay, firstly please accepts our apologies for the areas that we fell short of expectations. We never like to hear that any guest has been disappointed with their experience and we have noted the aspects of your stay that you felt impacted your experience, making your stay less than perfect. Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible ensuring our guests with the most relaxing experience and we are deeply sorry to know we were not able to accomplish during your stay. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our Hotels where we will surpass all past vacation experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Everything You Would Want

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This hotel is a medium sized resort that combines all the amenities you would expect of a larger resort but without all the people. Even better, it is adults only! The drinks flow quickly, the food options are many and delicious, and the amount of included activities is so many that my wife and I wished we had planned less day trips away from the resort! Overall loved it and will be back asap. The only negatives were small, for example some restaurants have a strictly enforced dress code which is frustrating. Also the resort credit we received when booking was actually coupons and you couldn't use more than $10-40 at a time depending on selection. Didn't use any because the things you could use them on were way to expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this glowing review. We are sure your description of our site's atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination. We are very glad you enjoyed with us the food, our facilities, our team care, friendliness and that you felt pampered and relaxed, I gladly will let know your gentle comments to all our team. We will be glad to host you again at the paradise! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

AC in hotel stinks

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and friendly staff. We really enjoyed the guitar player and singer on the beach at night time.
Cons: The air conditioner definitely! The bathrooms in the public areas smell bad and the rooms smell like mold.
Location: 5th Ave shopping is 20 minutes in a cab. We paid $18 to get there. Cancun is an hour cab ride from the hotel. We paid $55 going and $40 coming back
The hotel is nice. There are broken tiles at the pool and one of my group cut his foot at the pool, another slipped and fell. Be careful. The hotel and rooms were very warm, AC was next to nothing. The men were sweating through their shirts at dinner. The public bathrooms smelt like sewage (ewh). Rooms smelt like mold. The hotel was clean and the food was good but they give you the tiniest portions (order everything on the menu). Men need to wear short sleeve shirts at breakfast. The day time entertainment was pretty good. The place was shut down by 11. So if you are looking for a lively place, this is not it. The drinks do not have a lot of alcohol. Ask for a topper or bring your own bottle to the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear KerriG, Thank you very much for selecting our resort on your recent visit to our destination and for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience through a feedback, it is very important for us. As a service oriented institution, we are in permanent pursuing of our guests satisfaction, and will continue working hard to not only meeting but exceeding their expectations. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beds are comfortable Food is great Beach isn't as nice but still great Something going on EVERY DAY Bad reviews on here aren't really that bad. People are way to sensitive. Highly recommend you try it out the service is definitely five stars all around. Everyone working hard 24/7 to make your stay bad ass
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear carlos-karina, It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your holiday at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, we cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend your vacation at our resort. We feel delighted to know your opinion and we can not wait to get a future chance to serve you again. Best regards!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Service was below par

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The service was below average over all. Multiple problems with our room that we had to ask over and over again to have fixed. The pool bar closes at like 6 and they pick up the pool floats at this time. Hotel is very pretty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels. We regret to know that we have not fulfilled your expectations during your visit. We assure you, that we share all of reviews with our team. If you ever wish to return and need any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is located on a beautiful piece of the beach. The location is great. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay great. The food is similar to resort food. The only complaint I would say about the resort is the constant pressure to pay more money. From the time we got there the hotel presented upcharge fees. They wanted us to upgrade our room. Then, they wanted us to spend 1.5 hours listening to a time share pitch. I was not a fan of all the up-charges. The spa and any extra activities were extremely high!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel as well as our food, drinks and the service of our team, we will let them know your kind comments. It was a true pleasure to be your hosts of this holiday and we all hope that you will not leave it too long before you chose to visit us again Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our resort. Best regards!