Ratings based on 1,119 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Its a great place to spend the summer. The beach is beautiful and the hotel is on a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a ok place it is a 3 start resort at best.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hard to understand the staff but it is a nice place in a pinch to someone who is ready to run away for a weekend..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you on the past days. We are sorry to know that it was hard to understand our staff and we would like to know more in detail which was the inconvenience so feel free to email us direclty and we will assist you. We would be grateful if give us the opportunity to change your perception from our Resort. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us. Kind regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Worst experience

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: Service, rooms need to be updated
We arrived early morning at the hotel. The front desk guy was not welcoming at all. I told him we were checking in and he just said check in was til 3 pm. I've been other places and usually they allow you to check in early with no problem or with a reasonable early check in fee. He offer us the option to pay a one night outrageous fee for a couple hours rest. We traveled with our 2 small children and it made me so upset he couldn't make arrangements for the children's sake. I understand if no rooms were available. His only consolation was that he would issue us our wristband so we could have breakfast at 7.30am when the restaurant opened (It was 4am so we had to wait 3.5 hours in the lobby or find something to do in the mean time). Later in the day we were approached by Delia in concierge who tried to offer us tours. My husband explained to her that our first impression had been bad and were not interested. She insisted in allowing her to change that impression that was first presented and wanted to issue us a tour gift as an apology. We knew off hand this would be a timeshare/ vacation presentation as we are timeshare owners. We tried to put it off. She called our room numerous times and approached us every time we would pass the lobby. We gave in an attended the presentation. During this presentation I was highly disrespected by the vacation club (Alejandra Pena and Julian Rangel) In general 90% of the staff there hate their jobs and make you feel unwelcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Staff was nice, pool and restaurants were above average. My room looked like it had a deadbolt lock on it but then it was removed and left off. Beds were brick firm. No information in the room about the hotel, fire exits, etc. Only ate at the buffet and snack bar but it was good. We didn't spend everyday/ all day there so it worked for what we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you on the past days. We are glad that you received our excellent service. We will share your comments with our staff, positive feedbacks as yours encourages us to work harder to offer exceptional service every day. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the food offered at the Snack Bar and Buffet. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Family hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Food & Drinks!
Cons: Beds were a little hard, and evening entertainments needs to be taken outside of the lobby as all the noise comes in the nearby rooms.
Location: 5 blocks from 5th avenue shops, less than a 10 minute drive to club scene.
I've been to many all inclusive hotels and Reef Coco has been the fastest check in. We were greeted with glasses of champagne and friendly service. Overall, hotel staff (especially pool bartenders) were great. However, I couldn't say the same for the bartenders at the buffet. This is definitely a family hotel, there were lots of kids which was great for my daughter. Beach was not pretty but we were able to overlook that with an awesome trip to Isla Mujeres. My family and I had a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear XP, It is a pleasure to read such a wonderful review. We are proud to hear that you keep a beautiful memory of your recent vacation at our hotel, you can rest assured we will share your kind words with our entire team and management. Indeed, our wonderful position nearby the 5th Avenue allows you to reach the heart of Playa del Carmen in a few minutes. Moreover, our hotel is still situated in a quiet area as we aim to provide recreative holidays in combination with mobility. We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them. We would be pleased to welcome you and your family back at The Reef Coco Beach. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

NICE HOTEL

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everyone was courteous and friendly. Overall we had a great time
Cons: I would have/add more music into the evening.
Location: Took the ferry over to Isla Mujeres, and then at the port (Juarez) we rented the golf cart and drove around to Playa Rancheros.
The hotel, staff and daily events (aqua exercises, volleyball, yoga etc.) and the restaurants (Mexican, Italian, Japanese and Buffet) were comfortable and the food was great. The only complaint is that there was not much music in the evening, there was quite a number of young adults that love music, and it would have been great to have music by the Taco Bar situated by the pool, or in the lobby area. Love the fact that it was very safe, saw security around the hotel and by the beach throughout the day and into in the evenings, yet the security was not intrusive. The security gave us peace of mind when my son stayed by the beach bar, until 3 AM, with some young people he'd met.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear Durand, Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful experience at our hotel. We must say we cannot express enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and sensational time you mention to have spent in our property. We are glad that you received our excellent service. We will share your comments with our staff, positive feedbacks as yours encourages us to work harder to offer exceptional service every day. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food and beverages. Indeed, we strive to please all our guests' tastes by offering a wide choice of meals at our 4 individual restaurants. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback. Regarding the music we appreciate your comments and will take them in account. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back in our hotel. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The hotel was very nice, nice staff and entertain!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Staying at the Reef was nice overall, great location-close to all the shops and oceanfront. The service there was very good, good place for families as well as for couples. Great accommodations, we went there with family and they all said they would go back to The Reef.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, It is a pleasure to read such a wonderful review. We are proud to hear that you keep a beautiful memory of your recent vacation at our hotel, you can rest assured we will share your kind words with our entire team and management. Indeed, our wonderful position nearby the 5th Avenue allows you to reach the heart of Playa del Carmen in a few minutes. Moreover, our hotel is still situated in a quiet area as we aim to provide recreative holidays in combination with mobility. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service. We would be pleased to welcome you and your family back at The Reef Coco Beach. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Great hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
It's was great! The food was amazing and staff were great, the only bad thing was that the ocean water was a little bit dirty, but overall was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear Alexis, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you on the past days. We are glad that you received our excellent service. We will share your comments with our staff, positive feedbacks as yours encourages us to work harder to offer exceptional service every day. We would be pleased to have you back in our hotel. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Romantic stay

Posted Aug 1, 2017
This was meant to be a romantic stay for my fiancée and I however rhe room we were originally given was dark and dingy. They did manage to move us to a better room but not until the next day and this seemed To be hard enough. We were told that an upgrade to a premium package would be £19 per person per day. Once arriving they then told us it was actually £20 per person per day. This doesn't sound much but wasn't what was originally told. The Italian restaurant food was well below average, small and tasteless. The first night server was grumpy and disinterested. The buffet was equally poor. It was only the last day of our trip that the food actually seemed fresh. There were not enough staff for the bar and you had to get out of the pool at the swim up bar walk round to the bar to get served and then get back in. Making the 'swim up bar' pretty pointless. The food at the snack bar was poor and terribly slow service with only one waitress for the whole bar. Upon arriving we were told we would be taken the next day to the New sister hotel to speak to the Owner about events and future discounts etc. This was a con and we didn't even see the owner and ended up being a time share for over 2 hours. Complete waste of time! We were unlucky with seaweed this time of year but the beach area is ok but it very clean. The upside is it is only a short walk to the bubbly busy 5th avenue. Won't be rushing back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear Haydn, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you on the past days. We are glad to know that our Reception staff could assist you with the room change on the following day of your arrival. Please note that sometimes due to lack of availability it is not possible to meet all our guests expectations but we always try our best to do so. Regarding the Premium up-grade please let me clarify that the rate per person per night is $19.99 USD. Concerning the food, we are saddened to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations. We do offer a variety of restaurants at our hotel in order to please all our guests' preferences. We are sorry to know that there have been some inconveniences regarding the Leading Vacation Club and we would like to apologize for this. It is important to know that the Leading Vacation Club has useful information about our hotel and you can listen to it on a sales talk that you will have the chance of attending. The Leading Vacation Club is supposed to use a soft approach and should not insist with the sale. We do hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future, so we can change your perspective and offer you the hospitality that distinguishes us. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, boats and seaweed in way

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: small
Cons: night life, food, cups, more ice on drinks, seaweed and boats offer transportation to other resorts housekeeping, not always have towels and wash
Location: fifth avenue was fun
Service was good. It was small and quiet. Music was sporadic and started too early . Nothing to do after 9 pm. Food was the same every day. Did not like the fact that they reuse cups, bring your own cup.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. Our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay. Certainty, it appears we did not have the opportunity to fulfill this during your time with us and would like to express you our most sincere apologies on the behalf of the entire staff of the Reef Coco Beach. We would like to mention that Playa del Carmen is a fishing village. Even before the hotel was built the boats had been in the sea in front of the hotel and unfortunately we are not allowed to remove them from there. The law makes it very difficult for us to take actions. Besides this, the hotel is always promoted with real images from our beach in every website. We would like to mention that fortunately our beach is much better than last year. This situation may keep well or worst but we do not know. This is happening everywhere in the Riviera Maya and the governments together with hoteliers are already taking actions to solve it. We can say at The Reef Coco Beach that the beach area is cleaner than others. Besides this, we also have staff in charge of cleaning the beach area daily but when there is too much seaweed is very difficult to take it out of the sea. We are glad that you received our excellent service. We will share your comments with our staff, positive feedbacks as yours encourages us to work harder to offer exceptional service every day. We would be very happy to have the opportunity to welcome you again so that you can enjoy our facilities and services, hoping to change the perception you have left with. Kind regards,