Ratings based on 1,132 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We loved this hotel. It may not look modern, but the staff and service were amazing and the hotel was quite literally on the beach. We would easily stay here again. The free food was a little bit subpar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Outstanding!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Outstanding service from beginning to the end. All the staff was great and extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Food

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The breakfast food was alright. I didn't enjoy any off the dinner food or snacks. The bar wasn't good. I know it may be because off the pro e that was charged. Hopefully they will improve the dinner and bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso,TX

Grate hotel, private with and excellent staff.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Grate staff with the exception of the guy on reception, he needs more customer service skills
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

If you don’t plan on staying at the hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great staff. But please don’t pay for anything but the standard package. Food is mediocre at best. Alcohol is not upgraded with the package change, although they say it. Our last day, the water leaked in the bathroom, flooding our personal items. Tried to call for help, but the in room phone did not work. Went to the front desk, but couldn’t wake the clerk who was asleep in the back room. Had to find a staff member to go and wake him. They sent a maintenance man to assist. He stopped the leak and said he would be back to mop. He didn’t show up. We showered. Backed our soaked luggage and left. If “extra” money is not involved, there was little interest in helping. Sad end to what started off happily.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Keep you money safe if you go to this hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Overall the hotel was nice except for the security of the room, in my first day at the hotel I left money inside my purse in the room and someone stole it. I did a report to the security personal and they never give me any answer I was very disappointing and angry with that , I been in a lot of places before and this is the first time that happen to me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city, ut

Staff and facility not welcoming.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Upon arrival, expect to get hustled into a time share presentation. They offer gifts for doing so but you will still have to pay to redeem it. We refused for a while but we felt that the bad service we were receiving was due to us not participating so we finally caved. They states it was 90 min but we couldn't get out for 2.5-3 hours. Afterwords the staff involved in the presentation was even less accommodating. The property overall is nice and clean. The staff is unfriendly and it seems like everyone hates their job. The environment of the resort is bland; not exciting or entertaining. Bar tenders at the swim up bar refuse to come down to serve drinks which really bothered us for some reason mostly because it wasn't that inconvenient for them. Less inconvenient than getting out of the pool. One particular bartender, melton, commented once that I should "f****** quit drinking" even though I had only had a few. Expedia represents that this resort charges a cover charge for only one restaurant, the taepenyaki "Japanese" restaurant; however the Mexican restaurant has a $6 cover charge as well. We explained this to staff but they didn't care to try to fix it. We received a free meal at the Japanese restaurant once the hotel received our bad review of check in. We were going to go here anyway but glad we didn't pay the $25 cover charge because once you get in they try to sell you another $20 bottle of wine and $10 upcharge if you want shrimp or lobster. Good service tho.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

DMK Vacation

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Stayed in late Sept. for 7 nights. I have been here earlier in the year in May as well,so i guess that says something right there.This is a small resort with 195 rooms so you get treated like a guest because there are not thousands of people here.The food is pretty good and there are 4 restaurants to choose from.5th ave is 4 blocks away but you have to walk at lest a mile in before you get to the more modern malls and stores.I prefer the small mexican shops and there are hundreds oh them. What makes this place work is the staff. Thanks again Vera (guest services)for all the imformation you provided me before I got there.And for Francisco for all the good service.I will see you next time.They also have another resort Reef Playacar a couple of miles south of Reef Coco beach which is just as nice, I have stayed there seberal times also, but i like the buffet area at Reef Coco Beach because it is air conditioned and the other propeety is not, but the reef playacar is nicer landscaped.They both have certain advantages over one another but are both smaller resrts and both take care of there guests.As far as Mexico being a safe place to go believe me it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Its a great place to spend the summer. The beach is beautiful and the hotel is on a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a ok place it is a 3 start resort at best.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hard to understand the staff but it is a nice place in a pinch to someone who is ready to run away for a weekend..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Micaela Castilla - Brand Executive, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you on the past days. We are sorry to know that it was hard to understand our staff and we would like to know more in detail which was the inconvenience so feel free to email us direclty and we will assist you. We would be grateful if give us the opportunity to change your perception from our Resort. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us. Kind regards,