Ratings based on 3,470 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Macomb, MI

Hotel and grounds are beautiful

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very clean. The property as a whole is well maintained. The restaurants we all very good. we all very good.
Cons: At check in, we completed a card that asked when we would like our room cleaned. Housekeeping was always early. Stick to the time on the card.
Location: We really didn't leave the property except to walk next door to a restaurant and the beach. The beach really isn't a walking beach like Cancun.
We had a wonderful stay with friends at the Royal. Service was great. The restaurants were all good. Check in and out was quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EAST HAVEN, CT

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: LOCATION AMMENITIES THE BEACH
Cons: NO
Location: NICE SHOPPING IF YOUR INTERESTED
THE RESORT WAS WONDERFUL I DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE. WONDERFUL SERVICE ACTIVITIES FOOD BEACH
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Swim Up Room!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Walking down to 5th Avenue for shopping...the beauty of the hotel itself and the great people that work there...they are on top it!
Cons: Better mattress!! The bed is so hard and uncomfortable! After 2 nights of sleeping I woke with back pain everyday! Turndown svc shouldn't come at 5pm!
Location: 5th Avenue shopping, ferry to Cozumel, lots of beach massage places on the beach as well as seadoo rentals. Just about anything is close by.
This was our second time to The Royal and I will come back again! Each time we have booked the swim up room because we like the peace and quiet. The party pool is just a short walk but that isn't our scene at all (we are 49 & 53)...we come to relax and enjoy being together. With that said...each time we have made friends with other people in the next swim up rooms or even out on the beach that we have enjoyed spending time with while we were there. You still get bar service all day long in these rooms as well. You have a view of the ocean from your patio or pool and its a short walk if you want to take in the beach scene. The Royal offers great restaurants, my favorite being Asiana...I could eat there every night! We enjoyed getting up every morning and head to the coffee shop then breakfast, walk on the beach or lay at the beach until the sun came around to our swim up pool. The only negatives I would have is that the bed sucks!! If you like super hard then you will love it but after the 2nd night I woke up with back pain everyday! The one other thing was turn down service would begin at 5pm...we were getting ready for dinner and would have to tell them to come back. Being our second visit we thought about looking at a different resort there or even in Cancun but came back to The Royal because of the phenomenal service, beautiful resort and the convenience of just a walk down to shopping...no taxi necessary. Can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Birthday Celebrations!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The service was awesome! Staff were abundant and always available.
Cons: We were unaware of the non-motorized water sports available until the next to our last day. There is a shack on the beach-just show wrist band.
Location: Location is 1 block off of 5th Avenue and about 8 blocks from the main ferry to Cozumel. Lots of shopping and restaurants if you want to venture out.
From the time we arrived to our departure, the hotel staff was always available to take care of our every need and want. We stayed a week in an oceanfront room - enjoying the beautiful view of the ocean every morning. Our room was gorgeous with a fully stocked refrigerator (soft drinks, water, 4 types of alcohol - all of which were checked and replenished daily if needed). Our friends stayed just below us in a swim-up oceanfront room which was also very nice.Every meal was exquisitely prepared and we never had to wait for a table of 6 at any of the restaurants. We only ordered room service at lunch if we were hanging out by the pool. Otherwise the RINCÓN MEXICANO was convenient and had great tacos. The PELICANOS was also a hit for all meals - great breakfast! Both convenient to the pool area. All other restaurants were closer to the front of the resort but an easy walk. The bars around the pool were usually very crowded but the service by the pool was the way to go. The drinks were very good (suggest taking a Yeti cup as the heat in the tropics will melt a drink within 5 minutes). Favorite drink was the Drunk Monkey and Beachcomber! The only reason I gave a 4 for room comfort was the mattress was a bit harder than ours at home but after a couple of days, I was use to it. Another recommendation is that if you are 50+ year of age and are looking for a quiet pool area, I would suggest getting a room by the EL MEDITERRÁNEO. This is a quiet part of the resort.ENJOY!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Loved Playa Del Carmen

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This hotel was by far the nicest we have ever stayed at. I loved how close it was to 5th avenue shopping in Play Del Carmen. It is an extremely safe area that came recommended to us by a friend from Mexico. We just happened to LUCK Out when we found the Royal. Excellent food!! Excellent drinks! Excellent staff and just a beautiful resort all around. Safe to say We definitely will be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bentonville, AR

Never disappoints

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Everything feels 1st class
Cons: Take out the Chef's plate, put Asiana in that space, and turn the Asiana building into a night club for hotel patrons
Location: Close to shopping and the ferry for Cozumel
We have been to the Royal Playa del Carmen on a number of vacations and have always been pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

we enjoyed our staying. excellent resort.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: service/ cleanliness/ food/ smiling staff,/hotel atmosphere/ beach,
Location: great location
It is second time in this resort. From the staff to the non stop 5star service. This place is stunning from top to bottom. We will always stay here and recommended to everybody else! We are planning to go next year with our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Very nice Hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Everything was very good with no problems.
Cons: More instructions about the hotel and what all that it has to offer we didnot find out about the coffie shop until we had been there several days.
We had a wounderful time at this Hotel the food was excelent the staf was very good and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

This was our 6th visit and still love The Royal!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We love the royal! Should you decide to go there be sure to find out all of the free amenities they offer at the spa. The main pool is fun but if you need some peace and quiet and relaxation use the pool by the Mediterranean Restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Second visit to the Royal

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Our visit was good. Although, there are two things that could be better. One, better drinks/mixes. Everything I had to drink tasted like it had 4 packets of sugar in it. Mixes could be fresher and better. Two, the mattress was horribly uncomfortable!