Ratings based on 3,525 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Excellent!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
My wife and I just got back home from our anniversary trip and we can not brag enough about The Royal. This is the second time we have visited here and we will not go anywhere else. Everything was fantastic- several restaurants and all the food is amazing. 24 hour room service was a huge plus for the days you have too much tequila or too much sun. The staff knew our names and made sure to greet us at every turn. There is always an activity going on, our favorite was the FOAM party! The hospitality of the staff there makes you feel at home. Just a short walk from 5th Ave where there is shopping, bars, restaurants, nightlife. I could go on and on. We will definitely be back and were very sad to go. Thank you for making our trip memorable and for helping us make lasting memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great Resort

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Everything! So many restaurants to choose from all within the resort.
Cons: Better markings on step-downs as my husband fell.
Location: Within walking distance from 5th Ave and all the shopping stores.
Had a great time. Our room was on the ground floor right in the middle of the main pool. Was very close to the beach and plenty of things to do there. We went snorkeling, deep sea fishing and of course parasailing. I highly recommend The Royal Playa Del Carmen. Note: This is an adult resort only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Return to the Royal!

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location, views, attentive staff!
Location: Walking distance to town is amazing!
Just can't say enough good things about the staff and the hotel. Always love staying here and will be back again. The staff if so attentive and amazing and the location can't be beat! Thank you for another amazing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautiful Hotel - Amazing All-Inclusive Benefits

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The food was fantastic, and the staff was incredibly polite and helpful. Would stay here again.
Cons: The Sewage smell is about the only thing I had to complain about.
Location: Right Downtown. Perfect Location to everything.
This was almost a 5 star experience for me and my wife on our honeymoon. The grounds are kept in immaculate condition, and the staff really makes this place what it is. The location to downtown is second to none, and I would definitely stay here again. The only downside to the property, is the sewer gas issue. The bathroom in our suite reeked of it. Every time you turned the shower on, it was right there in your face. It was not confined to our room however. The grounds reeked of the smell from the sprinklers, and honestly, there isn't much that can be done about it. Unfortunately the sewage system in Playa is not in the best shape, and this is a side affect of the city. It was an unfortunate, yet unavoidable side affect. The atmosphere here is much younger than other hotels. Lot's of younger folks partying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Beautiful resort with everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The resort grounds were well kept, clean and beautiful. We tried all restaurants, but Chefs Plate, and never had a bad meal. Pelicanos being our favorite. Every single staff member we encountered was polite and courteous. It was an easy walk to 5th Avenue and to ferry to cozumel (prepare yourself to say "no thank you" 50 million times on the way there though) The resort had hourly activities throughout the resort so there was plenty to keep you busy if wanted. If I had to say anything negative, it would be about the beach. It was quite small and crowded with chairs and cabanas. Still pretty, but crowded. On Saturday some of the already small beach was closed off due to weddings. And then on Sunday our beach was used by locals as a shortcut to get down to the public beach a little ways down. The roped off swimming area was half sand half rock but this made for a nice snorkeling opportunity. Lots of bait fish and quite a few baby reef fish. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone despite the unfamiliar small beach. Can't emphasis how pretty the resort grounds and landscaping is nor how friendly and helpful all the staff was. Recommend the medeterraneo bar after 5pm for some of Louis the bartender's clever puzzle games.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great hotel. Food needs improvement. Overall it's a really nice place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elmhurst, illinois

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Better than advertised and will be back. Great staff, food, location to 5th.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great experience

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great service, food, staff! Prudy by the pool was so fast and friendly. Only complaint is that we paid for a partial ocean view, our balcony faced a wall at the back of the hotel, only way to see the ocean is with binoculars. Do yourself a favor and do an ocean front swim up room or save the money and do a garden view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Went for a wedding. It’s was such a perfect place to relax and enjoy good friends! Highly recommend. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Hotel was beautiful, the staff was amazing

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The staff's hospitality, and response to any questions or needs was very very impressive. Made us feel like we had at least 4-5 people just taking care of us.