Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Play Hermosa Dec.2016

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Embedded with the trees and wild life. You can walk right to the beach front.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Not as busy as other beaches along the Pacific like Coco and Tamarindo.
Natalia, at the front desk was warm and inviting and was overly helpful. Great hotel experience. Very remote feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Florida

Nice hotel very close to beach

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Centrally located to everything we want to do. The feel of being isolated.
Cons: Food and room lighting
Location: Tico Tours is right down the street and they do wonderful Costa Rican tours and even pick you up at your hotel.
This was our third time staying at this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to all my friends. Friendly staff and clean hotel all around. Ground maintenance is excellent and you feel like you are staying in the jungle. The drawbacks are the food isn't all that great and the lighting in the rooms is not bright enough. But still an excellent place overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

2nd Time Stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I like everything.
Location: The location is very good good close to other beaches and attractions.
Family Vacation for the second time at this hotel, the staff is great, the food is delicious, the pool area is beautiful and the beach is excellent. Great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel we've stayed at

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: nothing; food was ok at the restaurant
Location: scuba diving
Hotel Bosque was recommended to us by our scuba shop. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We loved every bit of it. The room, the view, the location, the staff, everything was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Small hotel that treats it customers great!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Great scuba diving nearby. A short ride to great restaurants. Also a short ride to Playa Coco, which had casinos, restaurants and shopping
We love this place! Only 32 rooms in a jungle on the beach. Small and cozy. The staff quickly gets to know you and is ready to assist you in every way. Guillermo Ponce, Front Desk Chief, went to great lengths to get us set up for some excursions which helped make the week a great success. The restaurant is excellent and the food delicious. A wide variety of favorites with a Costa Rican influence. We did not stay all-inclusive, but if we had, we would not have been disappointed eating there every day. The only problem with the hotel was the pool and hot tub were not warm at all. The sign says they turn on the heater in the hot tub at 4pm, but later in the evening it was still cold. After all the salt water, it would be nice to relax in a warm tub of fresh water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glenwood Springs, CO

Nice Hotel, Boring Place

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Landscape Proximity to beach Nice pool area Friendly Staff with excellent English
Cons: Restaurant was overpriced and didn't have a great selection of food.
Location: Other than the tours offered through the hotel and other agencies, there is not much to do.
The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are a lush jungle garden. Unfortunately, the town (if you can even call it that) of Playa Hermosa was completely dead and the hotel itself was not very happening either. Granted we came in the beginning of the off season so there were not a lot of people. But I would describe the feel as "Florida Retiree". Not fun or suitable for a young couple looking for activities. The only food options that are close is the Hotels dining area which, while the food was good, lacked any kind of imagination or local flair. We were entirely bored with the restaurant and surrounding area so took a daily taxi to Playa Coco where there were at least local places to eat, and some nightlife. Great hotel if you are 65, not so much for the 30'somethings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camberley, UK

Impressive Hotel in a quiet location

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, quiet location of the hotel and size of the rooms.
Cons: Increased capacity of WiFi. Fine when hotel had few guests, but when large number of other guests arrived it became difficult to get on line.
Location: Southern end of Playa Hermosa, 20-30 mins walk from a small supermarket and a few restaurants. Not a place for night life or entertainment.
Prior to arrival arranged direct with reception to pick up from Liberia airport. Taxi was waiting on arirval, cost added to the bill so no problems paying after a long journey. On arrival at the Hotel very pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to an Ocean View Suite from a Junior Suite. Had a lovely two week stay at the beginning of May '16, all staff we came in contact with were very friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. This included all front desk staff, maids, restaurant staff and even the gents who attended the car park. Restaurant food was to a good standard (although not spectacular), cost was resonable and in line with other restaurants locally and other parts of Guanacaste. Coco Beach is a 15 minute drive away (nearest banks, shops, range of restaurants and bars). All public areas of the hotel / restaurant are cooled by fans and 'natural ventilation, only. A/C only in suites. Pool nicely designed but quite small, and we did not use. Safe to swim from beach, at least when we were there. Make the most of the location; Brown Howler Monkeys, Black Iguanas, Squirrels and many species of birds (Parrots, Parakeets, Caracara, Kiskadee, Pygmy Owl, Motmot, Gnatcatcher, Magpie Jay, Wren, Pelican, Frigate Birds, Doves etc) can all be seen in the vicinity of the Hotel if you keep your eyes open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Great job

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: The facility, room, location, the quiet, the wildlife, and the staff went above and beyond.
Location: The quiet and laid back location of this beach area is what we wanted, you can take a 20 minute taxi drive to another beach with shops and food.
The outside reception desk and the welcome greeting was great, they upgraded our room which was very nice, the staff was always pleasant and greeted us with a smile, the beach was clean, quiet and the staff always had lounge chairs available, the sunsets were amazing along with the wildlife. We chose this area for the quiet and relaxing atmosphere, and the staff was very helpful with suggestions on what activities and sights to see, which was better then we expected. The hotel restaurant had a good selection and the fish and fruit were always fresh. there were small local restaurants just a walk along the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Wedding

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Our stay at hotel Bosque del Mar was better than what we could have even imagined! The Staff was over-the-top Nice from beginning to end! The facilities were beautiful and secluded by lush green trees and wildlife! 10-20 steps directly from the beach! Overall 5 star experience and we are already planning our stay next year! Thank you to all the Staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Nice location, peaceful, beds were a little hard and the a/c in the room was not adequate for the space. Otherwise the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly