Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Close to beach and nice property

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Had to change room because there were mosquitoes and bad sheets. Guard could not speak English but helped with help from google translate. Nice pool and good food by the bar next to pool
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hermosa heights beauty!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
It was an amazing, tranquil paradise in the trees! Loved the pool and the Sandbar! Such friendly people!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet. Close to the beach. Far fr other activities

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Need to replace both shower heads, old towels, sheet sets, and scratchy cookwares. Overall, it was a nice stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice villa for couple and 1-3 kids.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Gated entry - very quiet. Pool was nice - lot of lizards and birds. Overall grounds were well kept.
Cons: Villa could use a better dusting - AC units filters were dirty.
Location: About 3/4 mile to beach - 1 mile to small market. Nice bar / restaurant ( Sand Bar ) about 1/4 mile.
Overall a good value. Full kitchen allowed for cooking - local market about 1 mile away. Washer / dryer was nice to do clothes and towels. We did not use the maid service. Pool was nice - slide is cool. Only minor thing - some paths were not lighted but we carried small flash light.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not for short term, great for long term

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Cons: Upgrade the bedding.
Location: The town is amazing and quiet. Great beach.
We had a quick stay over here and I wish we had stayed somewhere else. If we wanted to come back for a longer time this could be a possibility. The pool was not clean. There was no in room wi-fi, but rather you had to go to the pool house. It was very quiet and we never saw any staff at all. It was quiet.
2 out of 5
by Francene from Arenal Costa Rica

Reconsider on this choice before booking

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
disappointing for price. Was lacking much, including no toilet paper, no paper towels, no Kleenex, no mattress pads and sheets would not stay on mattress, no fresh towels for second day. We were not told that to get key had to go to a dental office, really! No assistance with luggage, and was a very tedious & dangerous path to get to vela. Very sad experience for quite high price for what it had to offer
4 out of 5
by John from San Antonio, TX

Tranquility and Comfort

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely, peaceful place with friendly, helpful staff. Would very much like to return for a longer stay!
4 out of 5
by Joey from Cape Coral, FL

Recommend for families

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great gettaway spot. Nice living area. couches were not comfortable but the beds were good. None of the staff speaks english, not the receptionist or anyone. No one works on Sunday at all, so if you plan to stay late Sunday night or till Monday morning they would never know the difference. Overall pool was nice, bar area at pool and slides. 5 people in the house and fit comfortably. Overall for the price, well worth it.
5 out of 5
by Joey from Cape coral, florida

Good airport hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Hotels nicr. Beds are hard as rocks, pillows soft. Crazy San Jose. Breakfast was good. Lots of options. We didnt spend long, good for short stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great Location But Needs TLC

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The location of this place is great and you can see that at one time, it was likely fantastic. Currently the place is a little run-down and our villa was a bit dirty and falling apart. When we arrived, the person in the office had terrible difficulty even finding our reservation (even after we gave her the print out). The facilities themselves were not maintained and the mini-golf was totally abandoned (although they had no issue still charging us full fair for a round...and then tried to charge us twice). The pool was fun for the kids though and we loved the nearby beach. We actually had the best night of our whole Costa Rica vacation at the bar/restaurant on the beach which had great live music and world class fish tacos. With some elbow grease and a little investment in maintenance this place could be much better but I would avoid until then.