Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fabulous beach resort!! should be rated a 5!!

Posted May 16, 2017
too tired from trip but the only word would be formidable!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Old hotel but close to the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2017
This hotel is good if you are on a budget, this hotel is 25 years old and need some renovation. Staff are very friendly, food is ok need more variety, the only activity at night is the pool bar where you can dance and drink. Our room smells but comfortable. I decided to stay on this hotel because it's all inclusive and much cheaper that the other, I'd rather use the extra money on excursion which we had a good time (zip lining, horseback riding and atv) overall I recommend this hotel...Pura Vida
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Nice staff for the most part. Inconvenient parking. No wifi expect for the reception area and will have to pay. Slim, steep roads. Hard bed. Warm shower water, not hot nor warm-hot. Would not recommend or stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Close to a beautiful beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel needs repair and updating. Most of the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Villas were clean. Very hilly up in the Villas. Transportation was undesirable. Lots of food and snacks but very bland. Playa Hermosa is a beautiful beach with shade trees and not crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Good, All inclusive resort

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: View, clean and comfortable
Cons: Install elevator, add better wi-fi
Location: Nice beach, a bit hard to get around as it is VERY hilly.
Stayed for a week 02/10 - 02/17. Gorgeous view, fun and relaxing pools, extremely clean and workers have a great attitude. Food is typical 3 star all inclusive. Weather was obnoxiously wonderful. Go for the Palo Verde river tour. Chance to see a lot of varied wildlife. We were very satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Nice layed back place

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great food,great staff,not a four seasons,but a layed back relaxing hotel, bug spray sunscreen,a must and good walking shoes, internet is 25.00 US,for 3days,2people, and only works at hotel,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No free internet, entertainments

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The staffs are friendly. The room is comfortable and clean.
Cons: The food is fair. It has some vegetarian dishes. For two days I stayed there, they did not serve any fish. No free internet access.
Location: Close to playa Hermosa.
This hotel has a great view. It is far away from town. It requires a shuttle to go to the beach. It has no free internet. The entertainments they offer were near to nothing. It is not the price for all inclusive hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive and not worth the price

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Not worth the price of $500 per night for 4 people.
5 out of 5
by Krystal from Atlanta, GA

My serene stay at Villas Sol

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The villa was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and I slept well. The customer service of the hotel is quick and efficient when you call the reservation desk. I thought my room light was not working so I called the front desk and they sent someone within 2 hours. The repair man showed me the other light switch near the bedroom lamp area. The staff are super friendly and care if you are enjoying yourself also the shuttle drivers were very nice. I was so glad for the shuttle services. The next time I return to Costa Rica, I will stay here again. I felt safe and the food was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

The beach is the selling point, it was amazing g

Posted May 9, 2016
The rooms are a little dated. The waitressing staff at the buffet were amazing. The food was a little less than amazing. It was well prepared but lacked variety. A lot of canned foods where fresh would have made it much nicer. I wanted to bring the waitressing staff home with me. They were as friendly and helpful as could be. The cleaning staff was accommodating. The grounds were kept as well as you can expect with an older resort. The activities planner misses the mark. I think that could use improvement. The fancy eating restaurant left a lot to be desired. They tried hard but it didn't come together as a high end restaurant. The villas are laid out all over a steep mountainside giving almost every villa a gorgeous view of the ocean. You are sure to see beautiful birds, iguanas, and monkeys. Not to mention, cats, everywhere, they don't come near you, they just hunt rodents and what not. They are very cute and are a great part of the environment. The beach was perfect. Besides the people trying to sell you stuff at the gate, the beach is private and is the best of all those we visited while we were in Costa Rica. We couldn't decide whether it was more fun to hike the concrete paths and stairs to our villa or to brave the narrow steep roads with our jumbo suv.