Ratings based on 5,217 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic getaway!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: The staff!!!!!!!
Cons: Heated pools and hot tubs
This is our second time to this resort, and it did not disappoint overall. The facilities are great, but the only complaint is that it was somewhat chilly during our stay and none of the pools are heated. Even the "hot tubs" were ice cold, so you could not enjoy the main amenity of the resort. The staff is absolutely the best part and you will never feel more at home than with these folks. They offer a variety of restaurants, and overall, the food is OK with the French restaurant being the top of the list. They have one of the best gyms I have seen for a resort and the sports bar is a welcomed addition as our stay was during the NFL playoffs. The resort itself is beautiful, easy to get to from the airport, and I would recommend it to anyone but I would suggest other options of heated pool areas if the weather is not ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amarillo TX

Beautiful views wherever you look

Posted Jan 22, 2018
This hotel is absolutely beautiful. Not one smudge or spec of dust or dirt anywhere. They have kept the property looking very very nice. The customer service is amazing. Always make sure to tip for their hard work! Great shows and music in the evening as well! We spent 5 days there and didn’t get to do everything. So much to do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful resort right on the beach

Posted Jan 22, 2018
resort is very well kept up and beautiful all the way around Great restaurants and excellent staff that make you feel very welcomed. Plenty of pools and activities. Very nice spa Awesome couples retreat. Definitely be returning for another stay soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday! We are glad to know that your stay with us was one of your absolute likings. Please know that it would be an honor to welcome you back to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clarksville, TN

Honeymoon trip

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Excellence is a great name for this resort! The resort is beautiful and modern. The food is terrific. Maybe a little too good since my husband and I both gained a few pounds on our stay! The staff here are the best part of this resort! They are polite, helpful, and eager to make your time here memorable! A special thank you to Cesar, Raul, Diego, Floricel, and Gamaliel! We plan to go back here some time soon. Why try a new resort when you have already found perfection!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, first of all, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your honeymoon celebration! We are pleased to hear that our modern architecture, attentive staff, and exquisite culinary options exceeded your expectations and made your celebration more special. Rest assured that your review has been forwarded to the related departments to extend your congratulations to our valued staff members Cesar, Diego, Floricel, and Gamaliel. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama city beach FL

Wonderful place to get pampered

Posted Jan 21, 2018
The food was excellent. Would suggest choice of other house wines other than Chile. My husband is allergic to Chilian wines. We enjoyed the nice spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila, allow us to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres. It gives us much satisfaction to learn that your stay with us was a memorable one. We also appreciate your feedback which serves us to review our beverage standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your review and please know that we all look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Receive our best regards from sunny Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Lovely hotel-beautifully maintained property-very attentive staff-variety of upscale food choices and dining experiences. Pleasantly surprised!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Excellence Playa Mujeres! We are delighted to know that our attentive staff and five-star services exceeded your expectations and made your holiday more enjoyable. Please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2018
We had a great stay at Excellence. The staff is friendly and is very helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your holidays in Mexico! We are glad to know that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Receive our best regards from sunny Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgeport, WV

Good food with great service

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Awesome place. Service was excellent and all staff was overly friendly. Can’t wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, allow us to thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holidays. We are pleased to learn that your stay with us was one of your absolute likings. Thank you for your review, and please know that it would be a pleasure to spoil you once again at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NY

Excellent getaway!

Posted Jan 16, 2018
This was our first time staying at an excellence resort and we loved it! We upgraded to the club when we arrived at the front desk because I wanted A room closer to the beach. The room was very clean and spacious staff was very friendly and helpful the minibar was restocked every day the beach was beautiful and the lounge chairs very comfortable. My only complaint is the restaurants don’t allow reservations so you have to go and wait which wasn’t a problem because the resort wasn’t extremely crowded and there are several restaurants but we did have an hour wait for the French restaurant which seemed to be very popular. I felt it was the best one we ate at but we only ate in four places out of nine. I would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Roseann, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the destination of your holidays in Cancun! We are pleased to hear that your first experience at the resort was one of your absolute likings and that especially our luxurious accommodations and attentive staff exceeded your expectations. In addition, we also appreciate your feedback regarding the waiting time at the restaurants. Rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to management and related departments on the property for the revision of our policies and implementation of improvements. Thank you for your review, and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Best all-inclusive experience (with minor issues)

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Service is great, food is great in all restaurants, great entertainment at night.
Cons: Checkin process was slow (and the checkin lady was rude). Also VIP status gives you absolutely nothing (bottle of champagne which is free in any bar)
Location: There is nothing nearby. Playa Mujeres is a closed private area with only big resorts. We did a half day tour to Isla and regretted going.
No need to tell this is a great hotel. It was voted the best all-inclusive resort in the world, so we all know it’s awesome. But there is always room for improvement, so I’ll share the (minor) things I found that could be improved. Please keep in mind that I still rated 5 stars, so these are MINOR issues. The room layout is strange. I’ve stayed in hotel rooms with bathroom integrated before, but in most cases there is a door separating where the toilet is located. There is only a glass door separating where the toilet is located (with huge gaps above and below). It provides no privacy and no sound isolation. It wasn’t a big deal for me because I’ve been with my wife for several years but for newly weds in honeymoon that can be a little awkward. Food takes sooooo long in almost all restaurants. You are on vacation, so waiting is not a big deal, but we found the waiting a little excessive in some cases. The resort has so much to offer sometimes we hoped service was a little faster so we could go to a show or other event after dinner. The dress code is a little annoying. I’m at the beach so I want to use shorts and a t-shirt. But you can’t get in most restaurants without long pants and a collared shirt. I understand that you wouldn't want people using flip flops or sleeveless shirts, but a shorts and t-shirts should be allowed. I wasn’t prepared for this and ended up using the same clothes for dinner during the entire week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2018 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carlos, first of all, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holidays! We also thank you for your valuable comments regarding the factors that could enhance your experience at the resort. Given the report regarding the dress code, please know that some restaurants demand a stricter dress code to preserve the luxurious atmosphere that distinguishes Excellence Resorts for the enjoyment of all of our valued guests. In regards to the glass door in the bathroom and the waiting time to be served at restaurants, we apologize for not exceeding the expectations. Please be advised that your comments have been forwarded to related departments on property for the revision of our policies and implementation of improvements. Once again, thank you for your comments and know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a more wonderful stay at the resort. Please receive our best regards from sunny Cancun!