Ratings based on 5,188 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, Mi

Beautiful location. Great staff.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Cons: Food.
As with all inclusive resorts in general, food was just okay. Great service with extremely friendly staff. We have stayed at The Belved next door as well. This is a much larger resort and more elegant. I prefer The Beloved but my husband prefers The Excellence. I'm sure we will return to both. The Excellence Group does all inclusive beautifully.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, ca

VIP room

Posted Nov 15, 2017
So the room was very nice overall. But it had a leak on the top of where the Pool was for us. We told them about it and they never fixed it. It smelled like pee inside the closet and on the side of the bed. They would constantly call for every little thing. They had many different workers go into the room. The restaurants are all super small portions. The drinks i feel like they didn’t put any alcohol. We were constantly drinking but didn’t feel buzzed one bit. Plus side is that it was very good service by those who worked there. Would greet you with smiles constantly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Griselda, thank you for sharing your discontent regarding your stay with us. At Excellence Playa Mujeres we work every day to provide the best vacation experience for our guests to enjoy. We are also committed to provide facilities that meet the resort’s high standards. Therefore, our Housekeeping department is fully committed to following strict guidelines to ensure all of our guestrooms, facilities and accommodations, are cleaned in a timely manner as to not compromise the enjoyment of our guests under any circumstances. Furthermore, please be advised that by standard, the best beverage selection is carefully selected to provide a variety of drinking options that are outstanding in taste and presentation; which in turn are also designed to ensure the full satisfaction of our guests offering a great variety. Nevertheless, we appreciate four feedback which serves us to review our standards and implement necessary improvements. On another note, we are also pleased to hear that our personnel have exceeded your expectations with the quality service that distinguishes Excellence resorts. On another note, we take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words about the aspects that made your stay more enjoyable. We hope you can grant us the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your confidence in our services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Spent plenty of time sitting at the pool and playing beach volleyball. Also enjoyed the fine dining .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference in Excellence Playa Mujeres. It would be a [pleasure to pamper you once more at the resort. Please receive our best regards from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Gardens, Florida

Paradise, perfection.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The staffing was amazingly helpful and positively energizing. Everything was with in walking distance. Were planning on going again in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Albert, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holidays. We are more than happy to learn that our attentive staff exceeded your expectations and made your stay even more enjoyable. Thank you for your review and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcoming you back for another excellent experience at the resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Could've been nice...

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Pool-side pizza place was great.
Cons: Service was lacking for a resort so highly rated. Relax the dress-code a bit. Seat people at a restaurant even if they're still waiting for someone.
Location: Didn't venture off the resort.
This resort has great potential, but unfortunately, it consistently fell short of our expectations. Let me provide a few examples: The dress attire is extremely strict, especially for men. We regularly saw people get turned away from restaurants due to their clothing. Men wearing dress shorts and golf shirts were turned away and told to go put on pants. And when they returned, they had on ripped jeans but were allowed to eat. Why not just let people wear shorts as long as they look presentable? If you're traveling with more than 2 people, the restaurants will be a challenge. In fact, restaurants won't seat you unless every member of your party is present. During one meal, a man in our group was told by the restaurant to change his shirt, and while we waited for him, the restaurant refused to seat us. This happened every single meal! During our stay, we only encountered one hot-tub that was actually "hot." All the others were the same temperature as the pool. We had problems with our room key every single day. Eventually they had to come and fix the lock itself. And each team, we had to walk all the way back to the lobby bc the concierge wouldn't help us. Upon our arrival at the Excellence Club, we were assured we would be getting a late-check-out because of our late flight home. But on the last day, we were told a late-check-out wasn't possible. The staff was very rude about it. Why the bait-and-switch? Average experience at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear George, thank you for sharing your discontent regarding your stay at the resort. Our restaurant staff consists of dedicated professionals ready to provide our guests with good food and service in accordance with our set policies. Given the report regarding the dress code, please know that some restaurants demand a stricter dress code to preserve the luxurious atmosphere that distinguishes Excellence Resorts for the enjoyment of all of our valued guests. Nevertheless we appreciate your feedback, because it serves us to review our standards and implement necessary improvements. Given your feedback about the service, we apologize for not exceeding the expectations. The staff’s behavior described in your letter is certainly not the standard that we are known for and we deeply regret this situation. On another note, we take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words about the aspects that made your stay more enjoyable. We hope you can grant us the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your confidence in our services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville,IN

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Overal is good stay. Very delicious food. Would recommend for everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Igor, thank you for your review and for recommending us to all our Expedia viewers.Please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

AMAZING!!!!

Posted Nov 10, 2017
My husband and I booked a trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres for our one year anniversary. It was easily the best trip ever! We stayed in the Terrace Plunge Pool room and it was sooo worth it!! It was such a beautiful view and the room was so nice and open it was hard to leave (the room had a tub that looked out to the porch and windows that could be opened, a bed outside in the shade, one in the sun, and a pool outside). The resort grounds were incredible!! The way it is laid out is so nice and enjoyable. The people were so nice and friendly. I don't think you have to necessarily tip but the service was so incredible that we did. Oh and the food...it was on a whole other level (you have to try the sea bass at the french restaurant and eat breakfast at the lobster house)! The activities were so fun- they have so many shows with incredible performances. There was a "White Party" so bring something white to wear if you go to that! Everything about this place was amazing and i can't recommend it enough! I realize now why everyone said they can't go anywhere else after coming here! Tips: The only thing we wish we would've done differently is brought our laptop so we could watch netflix from our computer. There is a tv in the room but there is not a tv guide showing you what is on at the moment. A lot of shows were in Spanish and there were some adult channels so just a warning for when you're scanning through channels. But other than that this place was a dream!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Savannah, thank you for your preference! At Excellence Playa Mujeres we take great pride in providing a retreat offering relaxation, fun activities, peace, and luxury. Therefore, it gives us an enormous fulfillment to know that our goal of delivering excellent service in a luxurious fashion is achieved. We are also pleased to hear that our personnel have exceeded your expectations with the quality service that distinguishes Excellence Resorts.We also appreciate your feedback regarding the TV, which serves us to review our standards and implement necessary improvements. Furthermore, thank you for your review and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another excellent experience at the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Exceeded both me and my wife’s expectations. First all inclusive trip, so I personally had some doubts to begin with. Some of the best service we have ever received. I would recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Frank, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your holidays in Cancun! We are pleased to hear that our five star services exceeded all of your expectations. Thank you for recommending us to all Expedia viewers! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Staff, accommodation excellent, entertainment okay

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, felt safe, food great, room lovely, perfect for a romantic getaway. Staff were especially friendly and helpful.
Cons: Entertainment could do with some work. Michael Jackson show was excellent and D.J. each night. Other shows didn't really work for age group staying.
Location: Attended evening entertainment. Views great. Boat trip cool!! Noticed that there were many water sports available. Dancing excellent.
Second time staying at this resort. Definitely will return. Staff were super helpful and really catered to our every need. Accommodation was wonderful and as expected. The entertainment wasn't as good as five years ago but averaged..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres, once again, as the destination of your Caribbean getaway. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your time at the resort and that our intimate ambiance, luxurious accommodations, attentive staff and spectacular entertainment made your getaway more enjoyable. Please know that we also appreciate your feedback, which serves us to review our entertainment standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your review and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

EXCELLENTE!

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location
Excellence Playa Mujeres is a GREAT and a very welcoming place! My husband and I loved everything about this resort. All staff works very hard to make comfortable and unforgettable stay for their guests. We couldn't wish for anything more but just stay a little longer at the resort. Highly recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Roman, thank you for your preference! At Excellence Playa Mujeres we take great pride in providing a retreat offering relaxation, romance, peace, and luxury. Therefore, it gives us an enormous fulfillment to know that our goal of delivering excellent service in a luxurious fashion is achieved. Thank you for your review, and please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you and your husband back to the resort!