Ratings based on 5,048 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Romantic resort

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pretty much a great overall resort. Highly recommended for couples. We stayed in the excellence club which had a nice ocean front view in bldg 8. Liquor selection throughout is pretty much top shelf. The food was also pretty good. Our favorite restaurant was Agave, the chef Vicente went out of his way in creating something that wasn't even on the menu just to cater to us. The only thing lacking is the entertainment. Music should be played at the pool area at all times with a variety of music. The pool even though it closes at 8pm, all bar services end at 6pm. I felt that it just needed a bit more of a night life entertainment since this is an all adult resort. Most of the live entertainment was done by 10:30 which only made you want to go back to the room. If it wasn't for that this resort would get a five star rating from us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

The Excellence Playa Mujeres: First Class

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Our recent stay at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres was nothing short of a truly first class experience. Upon our arrival, we were immediately greeted with a fresh towel and champagne, as a bellhop catered to bringing our luggage to our room. The hotel grounds were so stunningly beautiful, that we thought we were literally in heaven! A true hidden gem, the property is equipped with a beautiful pool, lush tropical landscape and a breathtaking view that leaves travelers in a state of pure relaxation! There are also over nine different restaurants and eleven bars, all convienantly located on the property, offering guests a truly unparallelled dining experience. We were astonished at the personalization, where every restaurant we ate at, the waiter would personally thank us for chosing them. We highly recommend the Excellence at Playa Mujeres, with no reservations. Your stay there will be nothing short of a first class experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chesapeake, Va

Amazing stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I loved the resort and I will definitely return to Cancun or stay at one of the other Excellence locations. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the time we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Wonderful Resort

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Husband and I went with friends to celebrate our anniversary! Hospitality was top notch! Only thing that could use improvement was the food... wasn't great but was good... overall we had a wonderful experience and will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful, Adults Only

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This was our 2nd trip and it was even more fun than the first. There are so many things to do and everyone is so incredibly nice. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Best vacation very enjoyable Would recommend to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh,pa

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I went for my birthday getaway and I had the best time. The resort was beautiful, clean and the staff was excellent. The rooms were so nice and the house keeping staff cleaned ur room every time you left! Also every night they turned ur room down, they even decorated my room with balloons, champagne and chocolates for my birthday. Much appreciated . The food was great and the presentation was awesome. By far my favorite resort, we'll see you in the spring ! Thanks for an amazing time
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jaime, thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean birthday getaway! We are overjoyed to know that you had a tremendous time at the resort and that our immaculate grounds, thoughtful staff and outstanding taste and presentation of our culinary options made your celebration even more special. Please know that we all look forward to welcoming you back this spring to provide you another excellent experience in beautiful Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Muy Excelente!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: Room cleaning sometimes happened later than expected (between 4-5pm some days with turndown at 10pm).
We had high expectations for this place and I would say they were exceeded on every front, particularly with the staff. I feel bad for the staff dealing with some of the literal worst that America has to offer on a daily basis, yet maintaining poise and politeness on every front. Over the eight days we were there we felt like we were cared about - some of the staff at Toscana made little flower arrangements on our table after we visited the first time which was such a nice touch. While on the topic of great staff I would like to shout out to Damien for being the real MVP. Oh man and the food...you'll just have to see for yourself. Other than perhaps getting a fake filet mignon (which like, really, can you blame them) everything was incredible. I'd also like to point out that there was a live butterfly release midway through our stay. LIVE. BUTTERFLIES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to the beach, vey private

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: The pool time should be unitl midnight. Some people don't like the sun and like to be at the pool later in the day. Thas our case.
The rooms are awesome and the staff is so attentive. No complaints. They never got a NO for answer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your preference! We are happy to learn that you had a great time at the resort and our excellent accommodation and thoughtful staff made your holiday even more memorable. We also appreciate your feedback about the access hours of the swimming pools, which serves us to evaluate our pool standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your review, and know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay at the resort. Receive our warmest regards from sunny Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

beautiful adult get away

Posted Aug 16, 2017
From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Everywhere you looked everything was so clean and well maintained. The staff was beyond professional. The was always someone there asking if they could do anything for you. They even walk out to the beach and call out to the people in the water to see if they can bring drinks. There was a very large selection of alcohol. All international which was so nice to be able to get grand marnier after dinner or have a crown royal from the mini bar in the room. Most guests we met had been there several times. I will definitely be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Please, allow us to thank you for your preference in Excellence Playa Mujeres! We are delighted to know that our immaculate grounds, attentive staff, all-inclusive services and great selection of premium liquor and wine bottles made your holiday even more enjoyable! Thank you for your review and we truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back for another wonderful holiday in sunny Cancun!