Ratings based on 5,101 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome service, amazing resort, good food.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
From the minute we arrived to when we got in the shuttle to leave the staff was exceptional. Baez was our waiter at the pool and was outgoing and attentive. My husbsnd and i were never in need for anything. Baez took exceptional care of us. Resort is beautiful clean an well run. Food and entertainmrnt was good. Definitely will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cancun, mexico

Amazing!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This was an amazing trip! You are treated like royalty from the minute you pull up. I read some reviews before going and the people who rate this resort below a 5 are crazy. Extremely beautiful, food was excellent with many choices, drinks were amazing, and the entertainment was wonderful! We are already planning another trip here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
It can all be described in just the one word in their title, Excellence!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham, al

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Absolutely incredible. My husband and I have never been treated with so much kindness and hospitality. The only subpar aspect of it was the nightly performances. Other than that, it was amazing. The food was absolutely delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bayside, New York

Excellent

Posted Sep 15, 2017
3rd visite September 2017. By far the best all inclusive hotel in Cancun. The property and service are clearly above expectations. The food quality has declined a bit. The juices use to be made upon request, now they taste as if they were mixed with sugar and water. The other drawback is the fact that the beach is too tiny due to heavy boat and jet ski traffic. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philalphia

Amazing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Couldn't have asked for a better stay! Staff was friendly and inviting, there are so many things to do each day at the resort you will never be bored. The food, drink selection and snacks were fantastic as well! Not only would I recommend this resort but if I make it back to Cancun I will definitely be staying here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear maria, Thank you for your preference and for recommending us to all Expedia viewers. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the resort. Please know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay at the resort. Receive our warmest regards from Cancun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Good time !

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: i liked the room and the clean and friendly staff
Cons: the night life, there is no dancing anywhere in the resort or a nice lounge live music club.
Location: we only stay 4 nights but rented a 100 foot boat and had a blast!! Isla Mujeres is nearby by ferry, we did last year.
We had a great time, it was a yearly trip we take with a group of friends, The only down side is there not dance club at the resort or much entertainment at night. Overall it was a great trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear pat, Thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday! We are glad to know that you had a fantastic time at the resort and that our attentive staff made your holiday even more wonderful. Thank you for your review, and please know that we look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent experience at the resort. Receive our warmest wishes from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

excellent holiday in Excellence

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: We've liked pretty much everything, couldn't pick on anything.
Cons: I would recommend to provide the schedule for all activities etc not just on the daily basis but for the entire period of accommodation of each guest.
Location: In the hotel you can book a lot of excursions (fishing, snorkeling and many others). The hotel is located very close to the Isla Mujeres.
Very nice and big territory of the hotel, perfect service, variety of restaurants and bars, swimming pools,activities during the day and shows during the evening. Staff is very polite and attentive. It was pleasant surprise when they've decorated our table in the restaurant and our room for my birthday.Next time I go to Cancun - it will be definitely Excellence Playa Mujeres.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marina, First and foremost, allow us to thank you for your preference in Excellence Playa Mujeres and for sharing your experience with all our Expedia viewers. It brings us much satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your time with us and that our luxurious grounds, attentive staff, all-inclusive 5 star restaurants and nightly entertainment made your holiday even more special. Thank you for your recommendation in regard to the activities offered, rest assured that your review has been sent to the related departments for implementing improvements. Once again, thank you for your kind words and know that we look forward to your return! Receive our warmest greetings from Cancun!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, not Excellence

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Place is nice. Food is average at best. Service is attentive but a couple of employees were not very friendly. Beach is nice. Night life is not great. Drinks are ok if you order straight whiskey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, thank you for your preference in Excellence Playa Mujeres! We are glad to know that you had a good time at the resort and that our all- inclusive services and immaculate beach made your stay even more memorable. We appreciate your feedback about the nightlife which serves us to review our entertainment standards and implement necessary improvements. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you back to the resort. Receive our warmest wishes from Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Excellence Playa Mujeres

Posted Sep 7, 2017
First time with the Excellence chain and it was a very pleasant experience. I have traditionally stayed with Secrets in the past and found them both to be pretty comparable. The grounds were immaculate, the rooms were very nice, the staff was enjoyable to deal with and the food was satisfactory. We loved the brick oven pizza - which we had on a daily basis. The beaches were well maintained, although not to fault EPM, but seaweed grew about 30 feet out making the water not as pretty as other locations in and around Cancun. The only knock I will give the resort is the ac in the rooms. We had it at 68, which is pleasant, but when you are sunburned, I like the option to make it cooler and we unfortunately could not go below 68 degrees. Overall we had a great experience and will definitely consider the Excellence brand again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Community Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Matt B, first and foremost, thank you for selecting Excellence Playa Mujeres as the host of your Caribbean holiday. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the resort and that our immaculate property, comfortable accommodations and exquisite culinary options, especially our wood oven pizza, made your stay even more enjoyable. Furthermore, given the feedback about the seaweed, we apologize for not exceeding the expectations. Seaweed is a natural occurrence along all coastal destinations. However, in spite of this fact please know that our valued staff performs proactive maintenance on hotel assets, either conducting cosmetic changes or supplying guest service improvements as part of the hotel quality standards. We also appreciate your feedback about the AC which serves us to review our accommodation policies and implement necessary improvements.Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming back for another excellent experience in Cancun!