Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José

Nice and well located hotel!

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Excelent hotel well located. Very secure and peaceful!!! Next to the Playa Negra Beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Excellent

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Restaurant is delicious and good prices.
Cons: It is important to put doors between batroom and sleeping area in rooms..
Location: Negra Beach and Blanca Beach are awesome
A perfect place to escape the city. People is warm, food is delicious, and the beaches are awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB Canada

Nice newer hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The glass work and cleanliness
Cons: The pool could be skimmed daily
Location: Surf lessons, paddle boarding excursions Turtle watching at high tide which is usually very late (I went at 11 PM)
Although this hotel is not on the beach it is well within walking distance. The staff, especially Lily, are friendly. Located at the same location is Lulu's and there you can get all of your tours booked for the area. I went on the turtle watching tour, which was amazing! The only thing I say about Negra is make sure you bring enough cash as there is no ATM in town. Café Playa Negra also has a fantastic restaurant, I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
Hi Suzanne, thanks for your nice review, we really appreciated. January is our summer season or dry season with offshore winds 24/7, this year in particular with el niño had the strongest offshore winds we had in 15 years that I have been here. Pool is skiimed everyday at 7am and occasionally again in the afternoon, but impossible to keep free of leaves from the wind. Sorry about that. Pool in our rainy season is free of leaves. Thanks again for your nice review. Pura Vida
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folly Beach SC

Great hotel close to good surf.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Very clean, comfortable, friendly staff & owner, excellent restaurant. Very good value. Small lovely pool, pretty grounds, fun common area upstairs.
Location: Close to good surf, shops about 30 min away in Tamarindo. Pargos Adventures (very near hotel) has excellent boards, owner Javier is great surf guide.
Great find! Not much around here but surfing, some horseback riding. If that's your thing, this is the place! Very clean, nice comfortable room with hot water & AC and good food in the area. The restaurant here is a great value for really tasty food, also other good options nearby. You need a car in this area. For such a remote location, we were impressed by the quality of room and food. Owners Carlos and Andrea really care about the quality they provide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surfers' Paradise

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
Carlos, the owner, is very personable & helpful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay but wished we hadn't made plans at another hotel & had stayed longer at Playa Negra. Playa Negra is a sleepy surfers town; just what we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All in one

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: I loved the upstairs deck where the room are located.
Location: Be sure to visit Lula's Tours next door. She is super helpful, kind and loaded with ideas on what to do.
Food was good but expensive. I gave room comfort a 3 because the bed was too hard (although all the beds I slept in while visiting Costa Rica were hard) and the pillows weren't good. The staff in the restaurant were great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing at Cafe Playa Negra

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: Upper sitting room
Cons: Not being able to flush tissues down the toilet
Location: Noisy at times, but central to restaurants
Man that welcomed us was not pleasant and a terrible first impression. They advertise free WiFi but know that you must sit at the router and you can not obtain access from your room or the lovely sitting area on top floor. Dogs bark throughout the night making it difficult to sleep at times. The worst part is that you can not flush toilet tissue down the toilet but must place the toilet tissue in a basket which can create a smell. Do not confuse Cafe Playa Negra with Hotel Playa Negra, Hotel Playa Negra is on the beach, owner extremely nice, better place to stay. The only asset for Cafe Playa Negra is a young man who I believe was Frederick, extremely helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie from Sharon, CT, USA

Thumbs Up!

Posted Feb 24, 2012
I stayed at Cafe Playa Negra for a week in February and had a great time! Though it is off the beaten path a little bit the staff kept you plenty entertained and made me feel right at home. David, the bartender and Lula, Lula's Tours are very kind, helpful and FUN! If you are staying for more than 2 or 3 days I would recommend renting a car(Lula can help with that#. The beach is a short walk#10 minutes) and there are other restaurants even closer. When I return to Costa Rica I will know exactly where to stay! Thanks guys! Stephanie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal for surfer types, good for most

Posted Jan 10, 2012 on Hotels
Rooms/Hotel: The rooms are nicely designed and spacious and there is a good large balcony area to chill. Restaurant/Bar: The restaurant / bar has a good vibe and surfer theme and is a decent place to have a drink. The one dinner we had there was fantastic - something like a fish casado meal if I remember. The complimentary breakfast is scant - a pile of toast and some fruit and coffee, but how can you complain? Although the food was good we ate at another restaurant a block away most of the time since there was a bigger menu and there seemed to be more happening, and the service was better. The restaurant / bar area at Cafe Playa Negra is nice, but we didn't have the best vibe from the employees - they were certainly helpful but seemed a bit indifferent towards us. Location: The "town" near Playa Negra consists of a few small hotels and restaurants, shops, homes and a tiny market along a dusty dirt road. It feels pretty remote, which can be a cool thing. The walk to the beach from Playa Negra is about 8-10 minutes down that dusty (in the dry season) dirt road. Seems like most other people in the hotel had cars and they drove to the beach from there. Saw a lot of other people on ATV's or bicycles. Final analysis: It's a great place to stay room and food wise, and probably a great place to hang out for drinks and food if you happen to have good connection with the folks running the place - maybe if you are a surfer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami ,FL

Fabulous

Posted Jul 31, 2011
What a great hotel,just perfect for the surroundings.Low key,everyone helpful and friendly,and the food was delicious.