Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel was closed!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Unfortunately Expedia had not informed the owner that we had reserved (and paid for) a room. We arrived their and were informed the hotel was closed for renovations for one month. Work was to begin the next day but since we were only looking for one night, the manager was kind enough to rent us the room anyways. The hotel was very clean and the staff were more than accommodating. The food at the restaurant is very expensive though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

This place has the buzz of a younger crowd

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, well kept with no surprises.
Cons: Being a bit younger so I could chill out with the others :-) (old guy happy face)
Location: Popular with surfers.
I am guessing the young, energetic staff mostly cater to a younger crowd but they took good care of this old guy including an early breakfast on my day of departure. The place has a nice vibe. Surfers are bound to find fellow riders but everybody is made to feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful clean accommodation right near the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I had the most amazing stay at cafe playa negra. I felt welcome from the minute I arrived, the staff are all really friendly and helped answer any questions I had. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away with beautiful white sand and amazing waves. The hotel has an awesome little pool to relax in post surf and I loved the big screen projector in the cafe for surf films during dinner and breakfast. The food is also really good, the surfers tacos being my favourite after a long day in the water. My room was a nice design and very quiet and relaxing. The hotel manager, Daniel is very committed and passionate about making the place and your stay the best it can possibly be and it shows in every way. Looking forward to my next trip to Cafe Playa Negra already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Quaint hotel with a laid back vibe

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Absolutely loved this place! Extremely clean and close to the beach (10 minute walk) the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and especially daniel.. also the food at the restaurant was some of the best we had while in Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José

Nice and well located hotel!

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Excelent hotel well located. Very secure and peaceful!!! Next to the Playa Negra Beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Excellent

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Restaurant is delicious and good prices.
Cons: It is important to put doors between batroom and sleeping area in rooms..
Location: Negra Beach and Blanca Beach are awesome
A perfect place to escape the city. People is warm, food is delicious, and the beaches are awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB Canada

Nice newer hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The glass work and cleanliness
Cons: The pool could be skimmed daily
Location: Surf lessons, paddle boarding excursions Turtle watching at high tide which is usually very late (I went at 11 PM)
Although this hotel is not on the beach it is well within walking distance. The staff, especially Lily, are friendly. Located at the same location is Lulu's and there you can get all of your tours booked for the area. I went on the turtle watching tour, which was amazing! The only thing I say about Negra is make sure you bring enough cash as there is no ATM in town. Café Playa Negra also has a fantastic restaurant, I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Owner, Hotel Management
Hi Suzanne, thanks for your nice review, we really appreciated. January is our summer season or dry season with offshore winds 24/7, this year in particular with el niño had the strongest offshore winds we had in 15 years that I have been here. Pool is skiimed everyday at 7am and occasionally again in the afternoon, but impossible to keep free of leaves from the wind. Sorry about that. Pool in our rainy season is free of leaves. Thanks again for your nice review. Pura Vida
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folly Beach SC

Great hotel close to good surf.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Very clean, comfortable, friendly staff & owner, excellent restaurant. Very good value. Small lovely pool, pretty grounds, fun common area upstairs.
Location: Close to good surf, shops about 30 min away in Tamarindo. Pargos Adventures (very near hotel) has excellent boards, owner Javier is great surf guide.
Great find! Not much around here but surfing, some horseback riding. If that's your thing, this is the place! Very clean, nice comfortable room with hot water & AC and good food in the area. The restaurant here is a great value for really tasty food, also other good options nearby. You need a car in this area. For such a remote location, we were impressed by the quality of room and food. Owners Carlos and Andrea really care about the quality they provide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surfers' Paradise

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
Carlos, the owner, is very personable & helpful. We enjoyed our 2 night stay but wished we hadn't made plans at another hotel & had stayed longer at Playa Negra. Playa Negra is a sleepy surfers town; just what we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All in one

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: I loved the upstairs deck where the room are located.
Location: Be sure to visit Lula's Tours next door. She is super helpful, kind and loaded with ideas on what to do.
Food was good but expensive. I gave room comfort a 3 because the bed was too hard (although all the beds I slept in while visiting Costa Rica were hard) and the pillows weren't good. The staff in the restaurant were great!