Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family surf spot!

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Awesome private bungalowsbthat are legit little houses. So no bugs or rain gets in. There are so great and well designed! Hot water too! No AC but a nice ceiling fan to keep you cool. The property is great with lots of monkeys, iguanas and dogs to keep kids happy. The restaurant is nice and the food is good but a bit pricy. It's better than a 30 minute drive in a dirt road three times a day! So it's worth the added convenience pricing. The surf break is a bit shallow in the rocks, so not for beginners. But a short walk south has a softer sandy break for kids or beginners. We loved our stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cabinas near the beach.

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Overall great experience. Staff are accommodating and friendly. However the ants can be relentless and there is nothing that you can do to keep them out. My recommendation get the air conditioning unit for comfort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing surf beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is all about the location. The huts are basic but clean but can get hot if there's no breeze. It's remote and you'll be much better off in a four wheel drive, but you can still do day trip to tamarindo, etc. I highly recommend going on the Atares boat if you do go to Tamarindo- it was an amazing day trip after a morning of surfing.
1 out of 5
by dietrich

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room didn't have AC or wifi or TV , there were big ants in the rooms and on the beds, gross! Workers were very nice and sweet . Not worth the money we paid.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Hang loose

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Well this is a place off the beaten path and we hardly left the grounds. It was the dry season so there was that but the beach and sunsets were fantastic. This is a surfer heaven and it was great watching them. We stayed in the bungalows and they were fine. Food at the hotel was excellent. Staff attentive. Can't wait the go back. If you want CNN or Fox news and TV all over the place don't come here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

My favorite place on earth!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Staff - friendly and caring. Rooms- Clean, comfortable and unique. Restaurant - good food at reasonable prices
Cons: I would not change a thing. They know who they are and who their customers are and they do not try to be something they are not - love it!
Location: Surfing is why people come out here, but for us, it was the tide pools, rocks and beautiful beach that made it a perfect destination. Kontiki Pizza!
If you're looking for a typical all-inclusive super convenient resort experience like you have had in Cancun, Florida, etc, this is not it - and that is why this is my favorite place on earth! There is not much happening in Playa Negra, as the town is a few miles down a dirt road from the paved road and not on the way to anything, really. There are maybe 1 or 2 restaurants on the main road, along with 1 or 2 pulperias and a liquor store. There are a few other establishments, but nothing really noteworthy... The 'hotel' itself is a group of individual bungalows with different amenities offered depending on the type of room you book. We have 3 young boys (youngest is a 1-yr-old..) so we opted for the A/C suite, which happened to be the very one we stayed in last time we were here. Next year, we will request #11 and #12 as they are adjoined by a shared kitchen! The bungalow itself is perfect. Yes, there are ants, no denying that. But, a quick chat with Juan at reception solved it as he sent the groundskeeper out to spray the ant piles around the outside of our bungalow. We saw a few after that, but never really thought about it again. The beds are comfortable, there is a safe and a small fridge in the room. The room is clean and we really felt at home here. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is very good. The icing on the cake is the staff. EVERYONE we talked to genuinely cared about our experience and did what they could to ensure we were happy! Stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a very cool place with a great restaurant

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing. This is a classic beach resort with a great bar/restaurant.
Location: Several restaurants nearby within walking distance but if you want to get out of the immediate area you will need a car. Great surfing, horseback.
Every staff person was great, pool was always clean and perfect temperature. Great surf shop and on site restaurant was excellent and well priced. Our room was rustic but comfortable but no a/c which you really didn't need at night. Great surfing beach with swimming beach next to it. Very accommodating help willing to do whatever you needed. Highly recommend and we will go back! Perfect beach resort!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Not what I expected

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: It's located right on the beach.
Cons: Clearly stating what the hotel offers. Cleaning the room a little better.
Location: There isn't anything to do within walking distance of the hotel. You can drive over to other nearby beaches or restaurants.
We booked this hotel for a few nights since it looked great online and was located right on the beach. Side note, the shoreline is very rocky so it's not good for beginner surfers. We loved the idea of having these small cabins as rooms. The problem with ours was that the bathroom was pretty dirty (ie: wear sandals inside) and there were a variety of bugs all over the place (even on the mattress itself). We stayed at a bunch of places throughout CR and bugs weren't a problem anywhere else. When we arrived we were told that the only wifi access they had was in reception which is simply a front desk and a chair for waiting far away from the beach and rest of the hotel. The description of the hotel is misleading because you in fact do not have wifi access. In our case, we required it for remote access to work so we couldn't stay for the remaining nights. Based on the bad experience of the first night, the following morning we decided to move along to another town with a better beach for surfing, the internet access we needed and a bug-free room. Both Expedia and Playa Negra Hotel refuse to refund us for the remaining nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cabinas close to great beach!

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Lovely place to hang out. Warm pool. Great surfing. Several good restaurants within walking distance. It is quite rural though so don't expect shopping and nightlife.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never go here!

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
I left after 2 hours and want a refund!