Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan, NY

Beautiful Tico Huts, pool and beach

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: The pool has a lot of comfortable seating, there is a big restaurant and bar, all the dogs are healthy and friendly.
Cons: Breakfast not included. Food is ok.
Location: About 25 mins from Tamarindo. We went on a quick Zip line tour. You can also book massage, yoga, surf lessons, horseback riding right from there
Amazing place. It's about a 1/2 hour from Tamarindo if you are looking for a big town. Otherwise perfect place to book adventures from, a restaurant with good food and an intoxicating view that is known for surfing, but swimming is possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2018 by Lito., Hotel Management
Hi Dee, Thanks for your kind comments about Hotel Playa Negra. We were very happy to welcome you and we will be glad to see you here again very soon, best regards form all our staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Off the grid

Posted Oct 30, 2017
If you are looking for a private secluded place to vacation, I can’t think of a better place to stay. Individual bungalows that are not placed close to each other. Their private Beach is just steps away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Rejuvenating Exerience

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very private and relaxing. Very good for families. Service and quality of food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family surf spot!

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Awesome private bungalowsbthat are legit little houses. So no bugs or rain gets in. There are so great and well designed! Hot water too! No AC but a nice ceiling fan to keep you cool. The property is great with lots of monkeys, iguanas and dogs to keep kids happy. The restaurant is nice and the food is good but a bit pricy. It's better than a 30 minute drive in a dirt road three times a day! So it's worth the added convenience pricing. The surf break is a bit shallow in the rocks, so not for beginners. But a short walk south has a softer sandy break for kids or beginners. We loved our stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cabinas near the beach.

Posted May 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Overall great experience. Staff are accommodating and friendly. However the ants can be relentless and there is nothing that you can do to keep them out. My recommendation get the air conditioning unit for comfort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing surf beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is all about the location. The huts are basic but clean but can get hot if there's no breeze. It's remote and you'll be much better off in a four wheel drive, but you can still do day trip to tamarindo, etc. I highly recommend going on the Atares boat if you do go to Tamarindo- it was an amazing day trip after a morning of surfing.
1 out of 5
by dietrich

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room didn't have AC or wifi or TV , there were big ants in the rooms and on the beds, gross! Workers were very nice and sweet . Not worth the money we paid.
5 out of 5
by Craig

Hang loose

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Well this is a place off the beaten path and we hardly left the grounds. It was the dry season so there was that but the beach and sunsets were fantastic. This is a surfer heaven and it was great watching them. We stayed in the bungalows and they were fine. Food at the hotel was excellent. Staff attentive. Can't wait the go back. If you want CNN or Fox news and TV all over the place don't come here.