Ratings based on 911 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2018
Room was not as clean as we expected. Was not happy with the dress code for the restaurants. Staff was amazing specially our favorite server Joaquin at the Don Julian restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jun 4, 2018
Nice hotel, nice location but o my downside was that the AC was making a lot of noise and it disturbed me a lot but other than that everything was fine. The beach itself was terrible we weren't able to get into the water at all due to the accumulation of a lot sea grass and the smell was terrible..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2018
Best hotel in Playa del Carmen! Incredible staff, delicious food! A lot of Algae due to the storm, but other than that everything was fabulous!!! Definitely going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2018
Nice and clean hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break in Playa

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Food, on the beach and did I mention food
Cons: Toilet rooms in bathrooms were too small
Location: Great location/private area, short cab ride into town
Staff was great -specially in restaurants, pool. Toilet rooms in bathrooms were a bit small though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great Location, Great Staff!

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Stayed at this hotel for one week in March. Loved the location, staff and food. With other Riu properties nearby, its a great option to go to other properties for drinks and lunch if you so choose as part of the all-inclusive package. The only negative about the property would be the guest rooms themselves. There is no separate bath room from bedroom area. An open bath tub separates the beds from the sink and shower w/ glass door. It could be an issue depending on who is staying in the room as there is really no privacy in the room. The toilet is the only space with a door but very small. You could not dress in there as a way to get some privacy. Beds were good and room amenities were all fine. I would definitely stay there again even with knowing what to expect with the room setup since we spent little time in the room anyways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Mar 19, 2018
What stood out the most for us was the staff. Whatever we asked for, we were provided with a smile and a friendly disposition. Our room was decent and clean. A little tip for the maid assured extra towels, toiletries, a stocked mini bar, and towel animals with chocolates on the bed. Food was average, great variety. Drinks were on the weak side, but plentiful. The beach was beautiful, with plenty of available seating. Yes, there was a lot of seaweed some days, but the staff worked tirelessly to remove it! Overall, we were very pleased with our experience at the Riu Palace Mexico and would not hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 10, 2018
We had a great stay. Attentive staff anytime you wanted something, everything always very clean. They were having trouble with seaweed on the beach, lots of seaweed on the beach. It was very evident that they were working hard to clean it off. Other hotels had piles of it in front of their beaches. There was a noticeable difference and we appreciated the effort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Mar 9, 2018 on Orbitz
Everything was perfect. From the staff to yhe food and drinks. Rooms were updated and clean. Beaches were combed everyday and grounds were cleaned every hour of every dsy. I will 100% rrturn to to location soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute Indiana

Thank You Riu Palace Mexico!

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Super friendly staff and safe quite location
Cons: A way to remove the seaweed from the beach. Not the resorts fault, everyone had it but some resorts dealt with it better than others.
Location: Walking distance to 5th Ave or there is a really nice smaller shopping area less than a block from the hotel. Many nearby activities to choose from.
Just back from a week at the RIU Palace Mexico in Playa De Carmen and I have no complaints on this place. The area was beautiful, safe and well kept, the room was clean and well stocked and the staff was super friendly and bent over backward trying to please. We have been doing all inclusive's for quite some time and this was the best experience of all. One thing I noticed that was really nice was normally at all inclusive's it can be a bit of a challenge to get a drink refill or make it to the bar. But not here, the staff was always checking to see if we needed drink refills and making sure you didn't need anything. Thank you RIU for a great vacation!