Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

overall a good experience

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Pros: We have stayed at different Riu's resorts and know what to expect. Specialty restaurant were very good. Buffets were about as good as expected.
Cons: Pool bar music. Bicycles to ride into town (like other resorts). Update, enlarge gym. 24 hour sports bar like other Riu's.
Location: easy 1 1/2 mile walk to town (very safe) either via beach or sidewalk in front. Scuba diving - Scuba Caribe on site or Dressel Drivers next door.
We have stayed at various Riu resorts around 8 times (Cancun, Playa, and Dominican). Big plus is that there are typically a number of Riu's in walking distance and your all inclusive allows you to visit and get drinks and lunch (except at the Palace's) We like walking the beach and checking out the other locations. Last year we stayed at the Riu Playa. Resort overall much better condition and better amenities, but the pool / pool bar was dead. No music, no activities, people leaving early. We ended up walking down to the Riu Yucatan and spending most of the day there. Great 80's and 90's and newer music playing, activity crew playing games in and around the pool (bocce, darts, bingo, volleyball, etc). This was the primary reason we stayed at the Riu Yucatan this year. This year was not as good as last. There was some music at the pool bar, but typically local or Techno. (better than nothing) Activity crew was good. There was less in the actual pool area, but usually something going on at the beach or near to the pool. Overall room was showing wear, but still good. We were in building 6, near the pool. There were several buildings between the lobby and the road. Those would be a long walk. The gym was near the road and needed improvements compared to other Riu resorts. Also, there was no 24 hour sports bar, which most Riu's have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dayton ohio usa

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Could not be any better. They had Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries there for our 30th anniversary it was excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Not the best RIU

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Pros: The beach was very nice.
Cons: Privacy in the bathroom, better food.
When I arrived at the RIU Yucatan the first thing I noticed was the pool was not the same as advertised on the EXPEDIA web page. The bathroom has no privacy, so if you are with family members you will need to take turns in the bathroom. The food the worst I have even eaten in an all inclusive resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

All inclusive hotel next to beach

Posted Mar 30, 2018
I had a good time at this hotel. The staff is amazing! My room was nice. The pool area was great. The food was pretty good for a buffet. The only thing I didn’t care for was the evening entertainment. It was very cheesy, reminded me of cruise ship entertainment. Overall, a great place. I would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2018
Great service, the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate its guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach access.

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: The nice part about this hotel is you have access to two other hotels.
Cons: Improve alcohol quality.
Location: Ten minute cab ride to downtown Playa. Lots going on there!
For the price it was a decent place to stay. Food overall was pretty good. Went downtown for a change of meal choices. Staff friendly. The alcohol was not the best quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

Posted Feb 26, 2018
HAD A GREAT TIME IN RIU, GREAT SERVICE, FOOD WAS OUT THIS WORLD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

It is a nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Good food and good service at the bars.
Cons: ELEVATORS
Location: PLAYA DEL CARMEN 5th Ave.
I EXPECT BETTER SERVICE AT THE FRONT DESK NO MOORE COMMENTS.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Riu Yucatan in Playacar, Playa del Carmen

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Rooms, grounds and bars.
Cons: Food
Location: Excellent. $4 USD cab ride into Playa del Carmen. Located in a gated community, Playacar.
I was expecting something a bit nicer. Pools were good. Evening entertainment was good. Sister hotel across the street had good entertainment too. Food was just average. Japanese restaurant was not good. Italian was average at best. The marque Mexican restaurant that you had to make reservations for was over rated. And the steak restaurant was average. Nice beach and nice location. Just disappointed in the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coooold Michigan

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on CheapTickets
Such a great place!!! The beach is beautiful! The hotel and the staff are amazing. Alicia at the reception desk was especially wonderful and helpful. The food is great! The place is simply amazing. We’ve been in Playa del Carmen and stayed at other resorts before, but this was one of THE BEST !!