Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Cold

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Cons: Window needs sorting, very draftee.
Room was freezing, there was a draft coming through the window. When mentioned to reception, they offered a little heater but not much else, and no apology either. Shower was either burning hot or freezing cold. Definitely would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Old Fashioned Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Good clean hotel with helpful staff.
Cons: The breakfast buffet could do with a rethink. Actually make it a buffet for all items not just some. Also new firmer mattresses would be good.
Location: Good location with local attractions nearby.
The hotel was clean and the hotel staff were polite and helpful. My main problem with the hotel was that it was rather old fashioned. Two of the three rooms that I booked were quite small. Sleeping on the beds was like sleeping on a trampoline. Anytime you moved you bounced up and down for a while afterwards. The buffet breakfast wasn't that great. I thought you would be able to go back and for to the buffet for food. You could do this for cereal and fruit sald etc but not for cooked items.The cooked breakfast was quite sparse when it came a small portion of baked beans and mushrooms and one of everything else. The toast was barley cooked and was quite rubbery. I didn't think that the breakfast buffet was worth the extra payment. Overall it was an ok hotel in a good location but I think there are better value hotels available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Faded Grandeur

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Large room and wonderful bed. The hotel's feeling of history
Cons: Shower in the bathroom
Location: Location is about as central as any hotel in Plymouth. Quiet. Shops are close and The hoe is even closer
Large, well-furnished ensuite room with a shower than needs modernising. Free carpark, if you get one of the 20 places. Good position near the Hoe and not too far to show and cinema. Excellent staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from falmouth, cornwall

A very pleasant stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Great location if you are going to see a show at the Plymouth pavilions. A very comfortable hotel, great clean rooms and very friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Check there's not a wedding on

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Stunning building, great location
Cons: Service is dire, no idea how to deal with complaints just take your money and run. Swap the plastic incontinence sheet for something more modern
Location: Pavilions, Hoe, Brittany Ferries
I booked tickets for a concert at the Pavilions which is right opposite and as it was on a Saturday night thought we'd treat ourselves to a night away in a nice hotel. This was 6 months prior to our visit and there were a few rooms available on Expedia at the time. I always look for hotels with parking on site as we drive a convertible. When we arrived there was no parking available as the hotel had a wedding on. We were given the key to our room which was tiny as they had used some of the space for the lift shaft. There wasn't even room for 2 bedside tables We asked to be moved but were told we had the last room as there was a wedding on. It was also opposite the staircase so was very noisy especially at around 1am when I presume the wedding guests retired for the night. To be honest at this point we considered just packing and driving home. When checking out the girl asked if everything was all right and we said no, she said oh, sorry about that and proceeded to charge us full whack. Finally I should mention the bed, ok in itself but sleeping on a plastic lined undersheet is not something I've experienced in any other hotel, and certainly not something i'm keen to repeat any time soon. I obviously don't meet the criteria for the Duke of Cornwall perfect guest who clearly doesn't drive, cant hear, doesn't want a drink by there bed but might soil themselves!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ST10 2AB

Looks a great building

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The front
Cons: Managers should stay in the rooms to keep on top of things and see what needs to be done. The beds were awful not just out room but my moms room too
Location: The Hoe, The Barbican, Prince William yard etc.
Have written reviews about Best Western before and never received any feedback, so won't be bothering again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Quaint

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The staff. Very good breakfast.
Location: Good. Five minute walk to theatre.
The lounge area was occupied by a private function leaving hotel guests with a small uncomfortable area next to the bar. TV in room malfunctioned and could not be rectified fully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Really nice hotel close to the hoe and town.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Had an excellent stay at this hotel, the building and rooms were stunning and the staff really friendly. It's only a short walk from the hoe and town centre which was brilliant however the car park needed to be a little bigger for the size of the hotel. Would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

"Has been" hotel trying to live it's former glory

Posted Sep 17, 2017
I was excited to be staying in a landmark hotel with a splendid exterior which has hosted guests in Plymouth for many years. The Check in was ok.. the staff were polite and friendly too. However... the hotel itself. My room was old fashioned with a new Tv and the most uncomfortable bed one can imagine. The main dining room is decorated in a way that does no justice to the building, the carpets are old and shabby in places. The lounge area has old carpets and chesterfields to match. The hotel lacks vibrancy and atmosphere. I wish someone would re-vamp the place and inject some life into it. Breakfast was so-so... nothing special. I would like to see the place being managed and operated better. It is absolutely wasted potential right now. Disappointing, uncomfortable and dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford-upon-Avon

An old-style hotel that's well maintained

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The staff and the excellent restaurant
Cons: The child running the bar could use some retraining
Location: It's in the middle of town. I was there for a conference so I didn't see much of Plymouth; it's supposed to be very nice.
This building is visually impressive (a remarkable staircase that makes you want to climb it) and maintained to a high standard. The staff were (with one exception) friendly and highly efficient. At check in and especially at dinner and breakfast the staff maintained the kind of old-fashioned courtesies that you see in period films but not so much in real life. The exception was the young barman: he closed up early having lied to his boss that he'd "called last orders" (I was sitting by the bar the whole time and he didn't) and when a customer who was caught out by this early closure (before 11pm) asked very politely for a small order that wouldn't take a moment he refused even though he hadn't yet completed the close-up. I wouldn't let one kid put you off: the place really is a beautiful and the dining is excellent. (If the sea bass on a chowder of mussels and bacon is still 'on', try it -- best thing I've ever eaten in a hotel restaurant.)