Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from woodstock, il

Something's happened in the past couple of months.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
I frequently stay here 1 week every month for the past 2 years. These last few months the upkeep has seem to go down. There was a beer can and empltybglass left on a ledge in the main walkway one evening. It was there the next morning and the next evening I returned. Last month I had bee's in my room and this trip I had to move twice...both for water leackage from my ceiling. The first room was a leak in the main bedroom area. The next room was a pretty large leak from the emergency sprinkler system. It was pretty inconvenient especially since it was first thing in the morning and I didn't have time to properly deal with it with the hotel staff as I needed to pack up and get to where I needed to be. I checked out and told them about the massive leak and they just said sorry. They gave me points for one additional night because they didn't have authority to comp a room. The staff has always been friendly. It's almost like management needs to do some overhauling on maintenance and housekeeping. Then I'd highly recommend again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bemidji, MN

Nice hotel, misleading description

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We specifically booked this hotel for 2 QUEEN beds, which it stated they were queen beds in the room description on Expedia. They turned out to be double beds. Not ideal for my family. The hotel also charged an incidental fee that took several days to be taken off my bank account. Most likely won't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lone Tree, IA

Basic stay qualities

Posted Sep 22, 2017
This is a super nice hotel that gives you what you need at a great price. We have stayed five times with zero issues. Great location and just does it right. Worth checking out and spending a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand forks

Great! Will be staying again

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Unique hallways, location, cleanliness
Cons: Parking
Location: Restaurants, shopping
Great location, great stay! Will come again. Parking situation isn't very convenient. Overall satisfied with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Comfortable stay

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The parking was free, but the parking lot is bit far from the hotel. There are no eating places nearby.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Was told at check in that our room was a out of order room when I asked what does that mean I was told the room was small and had a odd shape to it. I would call this room a big broom closet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Sandy Kleis, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope to do better the next time you stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice room poor security

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: clean comfortable rooms, very nice pool area.
Cons: Read the above section "Write about your experience".
Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The buildings and ground security was very poor. Upon leaving the morning after our stay, the hallway near our room had flower planters that were dumped with dirt and plant material all over the hallway floor. After check out, we went to our vehicle to find our passenger side door window broken in three places. There should be security cameras placed throughout the buildings and grounds to prevent such vandalism. The staff was kind enough to call the local police dept. for us but no other help was offered. This motel isn't your average low end motel, I would consider it a higher end facility that should have better security with cameras in place and more security personnel on duty. I will not stay here again and will not encourage anyone I know to stay here either. Luckily I had insurance to cover the cost of the broken window but I feel that Crown Plaza should have paid for the vandalism done to our vehicle. Maintenance personnel were very kind and considerate, he did stayed with us until the police arrived and filed a report. There were motel glasses and unopened beer bottles in the landscape vegetation near where we parked. Also, the covered area near the motels main entrance is used as a smoking area and is very uninviting to guests as they walk through the smoke cloud to enter the motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada/ Baudette Minnesota

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We ran into a little bit of card trouble when my mother paid for our hotel and then decided to stay somewhere else with my sister. The staff was SO understanding! We made it work without her and her card (I had to pay a deposit) and I'm so thankful they understood because I'm not from the area so would have had trouble finding somewhere else. The front desk, room service, and food were awesome! But one housekeeper was rather rude. She knocked on our door while my Newborn was sleeping before checkout and when I told her we were okay she was really snotty. The beds were really comfortable and all together great room and beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, clean and comfortable and good rate

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location, may places to eat, shop and entrainment within a short distance.
Cons: Nothing
Location: see above
Everything was really great, I have stayed at this hotel for work related seminars this was strictly a family event and the accommodation were great as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you back again in the near future!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Awesome sauce

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
My stay at the crowne plaza was one of the best I have ever experienced. Everyone of the staff was so kind and courteous. I will definitely be staying there anytime I ever need to stay in the cities again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again soon!