Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by matthew

Nice place.

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place to stay, very convenient for by trip and great views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review us! Hope to welcome you again another time. Patricia
4 out of 5
by Peter

Welcoming and cosy!

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great food. Not the most modern room I've stayed in, but perfectly clean, comfortable and cosy. Bit of noise from adjoining rooms, but nothing to worry about. Excellent shower (why can't other hotels manage this?!). WiFi in room was just about ok for basic surfing, but much too slow for streaming. Overall, very good value - I'd have no hesitation in returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Wow! Thank you for your very comprehensive review. We really appreciate it. BT tell us that Fibre should be coming to our area in about 12 months which should see the WIFI improve dramatically. Hopefully see you all again sometime! Patricia
4 out of 5
by Vincent

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
We were on the top floor and we struggled up and down the stairs as there was no lift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. No, we don't have a lift, but we are always happy to help with any luggage you might have. If you call the hotel, we can always try to allocate a first floor room for you if available, although some would argue that the view is far superior from the 2nd floor. This is all very helpful information for other guests too, so many thanks for addressing it today. Patricia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitlam

not what expected

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Said sea view we expected to be by the sea and it wasn't - was in Dartmoor to be honest not plymouth. Lovely area though, we preferred it. Staff were not the most helpful. Didn't chose to eat here in the end... Just didn't seem that clean, toilet was very dirty, skirting boards not done, smelled musty etc and needed TLC like the tap was wobbling all over place, shutters didn't properly shut or block out hardly any light. No fridge in room either
5 out of 5
by STEPHEN

Highly recommend

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful location - walk straight on the moor. Good views from rooms too. Very good food, nice bar with oudoor seating. Pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
by Dudley

Homely Moorlands

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
We were on a family visit and stayed for two nights. The hotel is a home from home in the way that it treats its customers.
5 out of 5
by P

I'd stay again

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable and clean with helpful staff and tasty food
4 out of 5
by philip

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
we enjoyed our stay a bit of a mix up at breaskfast though, which we had a laugh about, had a fantastic veiw of the moors from our room and it was great for our little dog, would certainly stay at your hotel again!
5 out of 5
by Liana

Great stay

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at the moorland! The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and pleasant to sleep in :) there is a handy bar and restaurant within the hotel which we had pre booked a table at & the food was great! They also allow your dogs to stay which is another great feature. As to the local area, we only stayed at the hotel as stop pit so didn't get to explore the surroundings but it did look very peaceful & tranquil and would be great for walkers! Highly recommend the Moreland!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Not the best of rooms, I had to sleep with the window open on a freezing cold night due to the room smelling very musky / drains. On the plus side the mattress was quite comfortable.