Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not for business use

Posted Feb 20, 2018
If you are looking for a decent WIFI connection your in the wrong place. Reception in the room is at best poor, 1 may 2 bars. Even after having the router restarted I had to connect to the bar a the one suposibly for the room did not work. Even sat in the bar proved to be low signal and very slow connection.
3 out of 5
by Charles

Good views

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Bed was a bit uncomfortable and gave me and my partner a little back ache in the morning. Other than that the view from the window was really nice and it was pretty clean overall
5 out of 5
by Alan

View from the Moor

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly hotel and VERY dog-friendly - been once before and shall go there again. Food and service was excellent, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Would recommend highly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and staff - hotel a bit dated and I only had warm water in my bathroom taps, no cold water to drink. Breakfast was lovely however and service was excellent.
2 out of 5
by Shaun

Plumbing Issue

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
well firstly the staff were great. a very high standard! all very pleasant. however the plumbing in the hotel kept me awake all night. i did not feel refreshed after a good nights sleep. all i could here was taps going on/off. the pumps for all the showers and water system must have been above my room. having said that the maids arrived to clean one of the rooms and i could hear them chatting away which i thought was directly next door to me but it turns out they were two rooms down. must paper thin walls! so overall i had a terrible sleep but the staff were lovely! so with that in mind unless the plumbing gets sorted i wont be staying again!
5 out of 5
by Rose

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
This place is in the country. It has an amazing view. The rooms were clean, comfortable and the bed very comfy. The food was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean room, excellent power shower. Fabulous steak with dinner. Good base for walking, less so for quick access to Plymouth as traffic into city very congested (but there seemed to be roadworks everywhere when we stayed). Overall hotel represents very good value at this price point (£69 for two in double room, £51 for 2 courses for two including drinks). Didn't try breakfast due to early start, but at £8 for a full English, what's there not to like.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster uk

Great pet friendly hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Good overall ambiance friendly staff all willing to please
Cons: Lift ?
Location: On the edge of Dartmoor national park great views and walks
Warm welcome and great food very quiet location slightly remote from the hustle and bustle. ideal for walks on Dartmoor with superb views pet friendly but still retains high standards of cleanliness
4 out of 5
by derek

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Moorland hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
A very comfortable stay. Also enjoyed the excellent food and service.