Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC/ Kenya

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: quiet safe place with lots of potential. A nice private beach.
Cons: Needs to be modernized.
I was very disappointed with amount charged on my credit card. Much more than what was on the amount on the hotel website. It was at least $300 more. We complained to the hotel Manager who blamed Expedia. When we contacted Expedia, they in turn blamed the hotel. A bad situation particularly because the hotel reception when we called them to make a reservation referred us to book through Expedia that it would be cheaper for us. When my team arrived at the hotel, the hotel had no reservation for my team. We waited for a few hours for our rooms to be cleaned, and this was at night. When we got to the rooms, they were below standard (TV not working, telephone not working and curtains falling apart) . We were given other rooms for our second night. We feel cheated for living in sub-standard condition on Day 1. We tried to get a discounted price for that Day 1 from the Manager and were not successful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Disappointing

Posted Dec 24, 2017
I booked two rooms through Expedia, I'm glad that I didn't pay full price. I don't understand the five star reviews at all. All rooms are beachfront and you can hear the surf pounding. There was only one bar and restaurant open. Watersports shop was closed, and non complimentary. The restaurant is on this lovely deck, so you eat next to the beach. It has seen better days, the internet was iffy when you got it, and the tv channels were a total of five. It didn't matter that our remote didn't work. Extremely dated rooms. The place was cold and there were no mats in both rooms. We had to make due with the little towels, which they proceeded to give us one instead of two. Housekeeping came every day. The food was repetitive. One day they tried a la carte at lunchtime, and the staff couldn't keep up. We rushed to meet the small window for lunch ie 12:30-2:30, and got food at 4. 10 fries for an adult male is not enough. I got the impression that they were counting the teabags that you used. And they limit you to two drinks per meal. Fine. But at least bring the drinks before bringing the food. I went with this hotel because of the all inclusive option, and it was very disappointing. I also chose here because of the other Rex's that I've stayed, and this was very far from their standard. Won't be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Cons: The food category needs a total upgrade. I was totally disappointed with all the meals. 1 year wedding anniversary ruined.
My husband and I went to Turtle Beach Resort to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary and we were left disappointed. Dissatisfied customer and mediocre experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Rude Receptionist

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Customer service was very poor. However, Thessa was very nice!-the exception There is endless possibilities with this resort but poorly managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a wonderful place near to the beach

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: the swimming pool, rooms, the beah.. everything
Cons: clean the pool more often
Location: everything around is beautiful
everybody is so kind, we arrived late to our breakfast, 5 minutes before they had to close, and they let us take that breakfast!!!
4 out of 5
by Karina

Perfect for a weekend getaway!

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel with amazing beach views. Rooms were clean and spacious however, TV was a blur and phone did not work (Room 348). Staff was quite friendly. Breakfast was delicious. Needs some updating but will definitely be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Everything went wrong.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
From rude hotel staff, to disappointing dinners, I will never recommend here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Yes close to beach

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly. People . Made welcome. On arrival.
Location: Location is good. Not too far from airport. Just a taxi ride to get there. About Ten minuets.
Made feel welcome on arrival. Check in was good. Food very good. And entertainment with live music before dinner was very good .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Planned it for my 6th Anniversary. Disappointing!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: The staff was sincerely friendly and courteous. They assisted with our request for towels etc.
Cons: Be more flexible with the meal times. At least have the Kitchen open for late arrivals. Paint the property and spruce it up a little.
We took the All Inclusive plan which was a little costly. The times are set for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and there is no room service so if you miss your meal time there is nothing you can buy. Breakfast is 7.30am to 9.30am - small window. Lunch is 12.30pm to 2.30pm - small window. Etc. it's All inclusive but you have to pay for bottled water. The water in the pipe was dirty/brown. The pool was open from 9.30am to 6.00 pm. Kind of restrictive hours. The beach is ok but extremely rough. I'm not sure if it was the time of the year that the water was rough and dirty. The bath tub/shower was not draining so the water would sometimes raise very quickly in the bath tub and over flow into the bathroom.