Ratings based on 1,285 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware County, PA

Mountain retreat

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Awesome breakfast! Outdoor & indoor pools, beautiful grounds.
Cons: Guest rooms & bathrooms need updating
Very charming hotel in a beautiful lush mountain setting. Lots of things to do at resort & close by. Rooms & bathrooms could use updating but was clean. Staff, service, & food were all excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit here to Pocono Manor Resort & Spa! We are working to make improvements throughout the resort. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Extra charges

Posted Jul 14, 2017
I was not impressed by the attitude and unfriendliness of the staff as she told me that because I booked on Expedia there are extra charges. No explanation, just handed me a sheet of paper and said read them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about any miscommunications that occurred during your stay. When your card is charged through Expedia it does not charge the resort fee. That fee must be paid at the time of check in and Expedia does not do this before you finalize payment. Again we are very sorry for any miscommunications. We will be sharing your feedback with our Management team to better improve these experiences in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Our experience wasn't the best, no access to a computer, kids running and jumping above us and in halls, this went on from 4:00pm to midnight, couldn't rest and didn't get to sleep until after midnight. You could hear every door open and close all the way down the hallway. Ordered a pizza, went to pick it up and they said they had trouble getting it into the oven. So I waited another 1/2 hour and then when I got it back to the room they had made it wrong. The place is beautiful and the mountains are beautiful, but most of the activities were about 1 mile up the road. We had 2 nights booked and we left after the first night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about yout experience with us. We will be sharing this review with our Management Team in order to improve future guest experiences. We are working to implement quiet hours at the resort to help with noise levels throughout the property. Also we are working to add an activities program to the resort that will give our guests more options. We thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Frequent stop when we are in the Poconos

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We love that this hotel is a one stop hotel. Once we check in, we never have to leave. From restaurants, arcade, pools, hiking and much more! Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is always friendly and goes out of the way to make you feel welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are always striving to create a wonderful atmosphere for our guests to relax and enjoy. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Weekend getaway with my husband and was pleasantly surprised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant experience and we hope you both will join us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from pa

Was close to my work meeting

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Staff helpful. Was pleased with hotel. Staff was helpful during and after my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Getaway Team , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Pocono Manor and we hope you will visit again soon!
5 out of 5
by Mervin

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, but the hotel needs a large sign in the front of the entry road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Pocono Manor Resort & Spa! We recently changed our name and logo so we are in the process of getting new signage. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay. Friendly staff and amazing breakfast buffet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our breakfast buffet! We hope you will visit us again soon to enjoy more great food and more relaxation!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the high price

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
I'm sorry to be writing a negative review, but we came away from our stay at Pocono Manor very disappointed. The room was tiny, which would have been OK, but the mattress was way too soft and lumpy (so, uncomfortable) and the bathroom was horrible. It appeared not to have been renovated since the 1980s; even the water glass that was provided was a thin plastic cup. Worst, though, was that we had only the thinnest trickle of hot water in the shower, making it very difficult to wash up after a day of skiing. Filling a hot bath was impossible. On top of that, the hotel should warn guests that if they do not have a 4WD vehicle, they will not be able to reach the hotel if there has been snowfall. Given that the quite steep mountain access road connecting the hotel to the highway was not plowed, the additional "resort charge" of $21.50, then, was particularly grating. All in all, we felt that the hotel is really overcharging, given the poor quality and condition of the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
We are sorry to hear there were disappointments during your stay at Pocono Manor. Please understand the Pocono area had a record snowfall of over 2 ft, many local businesses have been working hard to manage and remove the high volume of snow. We do apologize for the road conditions our teams worked throughout the storm to keep the roads as clear as possible. Our resort fee covers many other aspects of the resort such as complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning, the indoor pool, snow shoeing, sledding and more. Again we are sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we hope you will consider us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Manish

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thanks for your review! We are glad to see you had a great time at Pocono Manor Resrt & Spa.