Ratings based on 1,199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horseheads, NY

No heat, no wifi, no working TV--need I say more?

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Honestly not much =(
Cons: Working appliances (heat, wifi, TV) to start.
Location: Off the beaten path up a mountain. Difficult to find parking at night as there were 2 weddings when we checked in late at night.
My wife and I were in the Poconos for a concert and needed a place to stay for the night. I booked the hotel in advance seeing mostly positive reviews--boy was I misled! I am not a very critical person or even all that picky as I have stayed in many 2.5 to 3.5 star hotels over the years, but this place needs some SERIOUS work in the rooms. Our room was freezing cold and the heat was not working as soon as we got up to the room. I called the front desk right after check-in and they sent up maintenance. All maintenance did was confirm it was broken and said an engineer would have to fix it in the morning. I told them that wasn't going to help us at all because we were only staying the night-they said sorry and gave us a space heater (which did not give off hardly any heat). We were never offered an alternative room. My wife quickly realized neither the wifi nor the TV worked. There was no TV remote in the room. There was dust EVERYWHERE and not something I would typically notice but my wife did, the baseboards throughout the room were disgusting. Again, I am not a picky person but for $150 per night this place was a complete joke. They refunded the "resort fee" of $21 (which I am not sure what that even provides anyways, but certainly nothing we took advantage of). I didn't push the matter at all, but still feel like I got really ripped off in this place. Thank God it was only for 1 night, because if I had booked multiple nights, there was NO WAY in heck I would have stayed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

One night only

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Beds were very comfy!
Cons: Resort fee should be waived for those who do not need to access amenities We were there to attend a 9:00 show at casino and left early the next morn.
Location: Close to the casino
For a large facility, it waa quite clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newfoundland, new jersey

It's a historic hotel..so don't get nuts!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Its character!
Cons: More staff....a hot tub by the pool....
Location: horseback riding, archery, hiking, golf, the outlets stores and lots of festivals in the surrounding towns...convenient to the casino.....
I love history...I love old buildings with character...this has it...It's not a modern state of the art hotel...Built in 1907-08 it has its own zip code and post office. To get to places you need to do some twisting and turning, ups and downs...but it's got nuance and charm. It seemed that they were short staffed but there are restaurants onsite, hiking trails, activities and other things to keep you busy and take it slow....the staff was friendly and helpful....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Mountain Resort

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Only spent the night and left early
The facilities were lovely. The classic mountain resort is well appointed. We enjoyed walking the grounds and exploring the buildings. The room was very nice and very clean. Our only negative was the slow dinner service in the dining room. The food was great but slow getting it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

No hot water but....

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Hiking, restaurants, site seeing
1st night no hot water, they moved us for remaining nights but at checkout would only reimburse the $20 resort fee because we booked with Expedia. Hopefully Expedia steps up to the plate but we will see. The resort itself is older but stately in a way. It is situated at the top of Mt Pocono with some great vistas and hiking trails. Food isn't anything to get excited about but area restaurants are good. We would go back but watch out for rooms in older section as they all seem to have hot water issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Great location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location is great. Hotel was a bit loud with room doors slamming. Friendly staff great price
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland, Michigan

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Spent two days here on our way from Michigan to New York. Marvelous and beautiful setting. Check in was very easy and even got into our room early. Room was great with a very comfortable bed. Inquired at the front desk for ideas of places to go and things to see. They have directions for various areas that are beautiful. Cant wait to go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartsville, SC

The Poconos

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Wonderful Gem we found totally by accident. I wish we'd had more time to stay and enjoy the amenities. We were passing through
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They blamed it on Expedia

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I would like to say , I didn't get the room I wanted because .. and I quote from the front desk "Ashley" Expedia doesn't tell the customer, getting a room you request it's not guarantee . What kind of nonsense is that? Horrible business . Didn't even ask me how my stay was. Is it because I used my Expedia points? Expedia please explain. I would even consider calling you guys and try to get my points back. Because this was horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 12, 2016
No toilet paper, towels or shower Curtain in room. Parking on a steep hill. Lobby out dated. Rooms clean but also out dated. Better off staying at a casino for a little bit more per night
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Getaway Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had these inconveniences. We will be sure to share this review with our housekeeping staff and Managers.