Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avondale PA

Big expectations. Bad experience .

Posted May 17, 2017
When you check in we wait or an hour cuz their room was not ready Panda Run what's the meaning of clean the way should be then we find out bugs in the room so when we call management instead of working either no refund or something to fix the mistakes she said somebody was going to get in contact are we still waiting for an answer will you have big plans and this happens is ruin
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry you found a couple of small beetles in your suite. Due to our location in the Pocono Mountains, you may find the occasional beetle, but we do perform routine pest control to ensure our suites remain free of any unwanted visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
It was a great place to go and bond with your wife , gf or significant other. Atmosphere very quiet relaxing peacefull. The lake n activities is the best part . Food is not bad but mediocore nothing to rave about
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're very pleased to read you found the resort great and loved the activities and lake!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why?

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Family
Cons: Everything
Location: In March...nothing
We were excited to experience the Pocono Palace for the first time, but quickly found our excitement erased by a dower front desk staff, slow check in, a severely dated room that lacked any modern conveniences and cleanliness. Sadly, we could never recommend this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to learn you were inconvenienced during your stay and will share your feedback with the Resort Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Stayed here for our anniversary and it was a great trip. Very peaceful. I ordered the Fairway room and it was cool. Due to not having hot water on our second night , we were upgraded to the Fantasy Apple room at no charge. This room blew our minds. The room is amazing !!!! Jacuzzi was better. The room had its own private pool as well as its own sauna. The Bose surround system was a plus. I wish I would've known about this room before because I would've definitely booked it. There was shuttle service ans due to not having a card it was super helpful. We were picked up from the bus station , as well as driven to Perkins and to CVS. It as super helpful. We didn't get a chance to do activities due to the weather and there not being enough snow , but there are fun things to do on the resort. My girlfriend and I took were able to take photos with the photographer - who was very friendly. When I booked my room , I didn't book with meals - so I payed separately for food. Breakfast was cool. Dinner was alright - wished there were options and a full buffet. Overall , the experience was an amazing one. I would definitely come back for another trip. Loved it and the staff ! Special thanks to Joe , Rob and Ray !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Congratulations on your most recent anniversary! We're humbled you would choose to spend such an important occasion in the Land of Love and even happier to read you had a great stay. The Fantasy Apple tends to amaze most folks- with 3 levels, an in-suite pool, and breath-taking view of Lake Echo, it's easy to see why. We certainly do hope to see you return in the future and enjoy more of what Pocono Palace has to offer!
2 out of 5
by joseph

Very dirty room but friendly staff

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very dirty, hair was still in the tub, towels and jacuzz from the previous guest. At 5:30am we heard a lot of noise from the room next door jacuzzi tub being full from the water pipe. The only thing I can say good about my stay was staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to read about the issue you had with your suite and towels not being removed from the previous guest. We're disappointed you were not satisfied with your stay and have shared your feedback with the Resort Manager.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star rating!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice couples getaway

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The Resorts have been around for awhile. Overall it's a intimate fun getaway. We go back every year. Breakfast and dinner is included. Food is ok not gourmet.Activities are also included . There are games entertainment if you want to join in. Champagne towers are very spacious and have your own pool in the room along with fire place, sauna and massage table. You can do activities at any of the resorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're happy to read you come back every year and have a great time with everything we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you back again next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Cons: Everything except drinks should be included in all inclusive. Not extra for many activities in the game room etc.
Location: Visited the Indian museum, about 2 miles away.
Without snow in the winter there is not a lot to do. Skiing and snow tubing are the main attractions. Indoor activities leave in the main lodge are very limited and need to be updated. Few activities are free, most have an extra charge. The room (Garden Apple) was clean with all the bells and whistles. The rug needed replacement The food was excellent. Very relaxing time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Actually, many of our activities are free. It's disappointing to read you were unaware of this and perhaps this is something we need to better explain to our guests at check-in. We're glad you enjoyed your time at the resort otherwise and found the food very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by THERESA

SWEET SURPRISE

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Room was Fantastic!!.. Staff was Wonderful...Food from cafe was okay... Waited long for our package we ordered to be delivered... Great Time!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words about your stay. We're glad you loved your suite and our staff. We apologize for the long wait on the delivery and will follow up with our Front Desk team regarding this. We hope we'll see you back soon!
5 out of 5
by Teresa

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star rating!