Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thurmont, MD

Nice romantic getaway

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Overall, the hotel was what I expected. Most bad reviews seem to be about the smaller rooms, we stayed in the Roman Tower Suite and everything was clean with some updates. They really need to up their food quality and drink selections. The restaurant was ok, the food was kind of bland. It was food my parents or grandparents would like, not much so for a newer generation of diners who expect better for their money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to read you felt the food we offered was only likable based on age. We have received a lot of great feedback from guests of all ages who enjoy the quality and variety of food we serve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Was an excellent experience! Nice room great staff! looking forward to go again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Nothing beats having an excellent experience int he Land of Love! We look forward to your return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Room wasnt ready when we arrived so our checkout time was pushed from 11 to 1, then 1 to 3 after we got to the room and found the pool to be flooding into the sauna. Issue was fixed by the time we came back from eating. Heads up, The Roman tower is literally the Champagne tower, just a little bigger with double amnemities and an isolated location compared to the other rooms. Both Tvs are old school and lack the hdmi ports the fanstasy apple rooms come with. The low point of our trip was dealing with the lady at the front desk who misinformed us on several occasions and chose to selectively forward our messages in order to save face. Note: Speak to a manager if there is an issue. The manager I did speak to handled everything professionally and was friendly as hell, which helped the mood dramatically. Im from NY so there are certain types of people I look forward to not having to deal with when On vacation. I felt there was a level of comfortability that came before professionalism when dealing with certain people. Maybe Im reading too much into it. 3rd time back this year, by far the most "interesting". If I come again it would only be for the fantasy apple room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. While we are disappointed to learn some of the service you received was not up to our standards, we are glad to see your overall trip was enjoyable and a manager could make accommodations to ensure your stay was enjoyable. We will follow up with the Front Desk Manager regarding your experience as we continue to work on offering our guests the best service possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Avondale PA

Big expectations. Bad experience .

Posted May 17, 2017
When you check in we wait or an hour cuz their room was not ready Panda Run what's the meaning of clean the way should be then we find out bugs in the room so when we call management instead of working either no refund or something to fix the mistakes she said somebody was going to get in contact are we still waiting for an answer will you have big plans and this happens is ruin
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry you found a couple of small beetles in your suite. Due to our location in the Pocono Mountains, you may find the occasional beetle, but we do perform routine pest control to ensure our suites remain free of any unwanted visitors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
It was a great place to go and bond with your wife , gf or significant other. Atmosphere very quiet relaxing peacefull. The lake n activities is the best part . Food is not bad but mediocore nothing to rave about
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're very pleased to read you found the resort great and loved the activities and lake!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why?

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Family
Cons: Everything
Location: In March...nothing
We were excited to experience the Pocono Palace for the first time, but quickly found our excitement erased by a dower front desk staff, slow check in, a severely dated room that lacked any modern conveniences and cleanliness. Sadly, we could never recommend this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to learn you were inconvenienced during your stay and will share your feedback with the Resort Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Stayed here for our anniversary and it was a great trip. Very peaceful. I ordered the Fairway room and it was cool. Due to not having hot water on our second night , we were upgraded to the Fantasy Apple room at no charge. This room blew our minds. The room is amazing !!!! Jacuzzi was better. The room had its own private pool as well as its own sauna. The Bose surround system was a plus. I wish I would've known about this room before because I would've definitely booked it. There was shuttle service ans due to not having a card it was super helpful. We were picked up from the bus station , as well as driven to Perkins and to CVS. It as super helpful. We didn't get a chance to do activities due to the weather and there not being enough snow , but there are fun things to do on the resort. My girlfriend and I took were able to take photos with the photographer - who was very friendly. When I booked my room , I didn't book with meals - so I payed separately for food. Breakfast was cool. Dinner was alright - wished there were options and a full buffet. Overall , the experience was an amazing one. I would definitely come back for another trip. Loved it and the staff ! Special thanks to Joe , Rob and Ray !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Congratulations on your most recent anniversary! We're humbled you would choose to spend such an important occasion in the Land of Love and even happier to read you had a great stay. The Fantasy Apple tends to amaze most folks- with 3 levels, an in-suite pool, and breath-taking view of Lake Echo, it's easy to see why. We certainly do hope to see you return in the future and enjoy more of what Pocono Palace has to offer!
2 out of 5
by Denise

Bad Vibe!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived around 7pm that evening and our room wasn't ready for us. The front desk pushed really hard to have dinner in their restaurant but all we wanted was to settle into our room! Check in is at 3pm and at 7pm our room wasn't ready!!! So they upgraded us to a room with a mini pool which we didn't book because we didn't want a room with a pool. Check in took over 30 minutes because the charged us more than Hotel.com did so they had to sort all the costs out. Once we got to our room, the temperature was so hot because of the heated pool that we had to keep the air conditioning on for our entire stay and its winter time in PA. The room smelled and there was water sweat all over the tile in the bathroom and tub constantly because of lack of venation. The room was outdated. When we went to take a shower, the water was black then went to rust until it became almost clear. The water in both sinks was rusty. You could only get wifi on one device.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to read about the various inconveniences you dealt with and have shared your feedback with the Resort Manager to review with our team.
2 out of 5
by joseph

Very dirty room but friendly staff

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very dirty, hair was still in the tub, towels and jacuzz from the previous guest. At 5:30am we heard a lot of noise from the room next door jacuzzi tub being full from the water pipe. The only thing I can say good about my stay was staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to read about the issue you had with your suite and towels not being removed from the previous guest. We're disappointed you were not satisfied with your stay and have shared your feedback with the Resort Manager.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star rating!