Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, excellent accommodations

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: everything, the amenities and the decor
Location: hikes, trails, golf in season, pool, great food
terrific staff, very gracious and accommodating; excellent buffet breakfast, great tours, and an outstanding swimming pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Hi Mark, Thank you for the great review! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

charming but a little worn

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Traditional room was small and dated but smelled very clean when I opened the door. Linens were crisp /clean and bed was comfortable enough. Pillows were very fluffy and plentiful. Toiletries were a nice touch as they seemed hand crafted and smelled wonderful. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Pool closed at 10pm but when the gentleman came to remind us it would be closing shortly he offered to bring my child a towel. I would definitely stay again but maybe upgrade to one of the nicer rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a resort that is 106 years old, our rooms tend to be a bit smaller than more modern designs. We do have bigger accommodations you might prefer - we hope to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

OK to Stay to sleep

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Ok place to stay near Shawnee Ski Area......very small dated room with very small dated bathroom and one chair in the room......old rug.......no complimentary coffee........ok pool for the kids
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Hi Mark, Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our proximity to Shawnee Mountain and our pool. We will work to improve the other aspects that you mentioned about your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Family Ski Trip

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Nice great location , plenty to do ,need late night food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Hi Tee, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful location and abundant activity offerings. We appreciate your suggestion about late night food as well - we're always looking to improve our guest experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting place to stay. Close to Mountain.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We stayed over 2 nights to ski at nearby Shawnee Mountain. The hotel has a very interesting history. The building is quite old and needs maintenance so manage your expectations. The room was cozy for two adults and two kids but needed some upgrading. Beautiful grounds and conveniently close to the Gem and Keystone restaurant which is very good. The pool and hot tub were decent as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your ski trip with us. We are lucky to be in such a beautiful location and have our Gem and Keystone Brewpub right on property. Our hotel is 105 years old and we are slowly but surely updating and improving our rooms. We are excited to offer upgraded accommodations to our guests in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Elegant and in good/shape.
Location: Skiing and beautiful area.
Myself and wife had a great time the piano player was great the staff very helpful great time will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're glad to see that you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close for skiing

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Could hear neighbors too well., but otherwise was quite comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the noise but we're glad you enjoyed skiing during your visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reminds me of days gone by.....

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
I can't say enough about this hotel. Came here for a romantic getaway. We walked in to find families sitting around the lobby area playing games and spending quality time together. It reminded us of a Norman Rockwell painting. This hotel is OLD and shows it's charm. The rooms are small (you can tell they had to use space to add private baths) and the age is there but it is built well. The staff is more of a family than employees. You can walk right over to the brewery on-site as well as a good restaurant (would recommend that over the in-hotel restaurant). Can't wait to go in the summer to see their island with glamping. It is rare to find a place where several families can go at once and have common areas all around to enjoy time together.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this great review! We are proud to maintain our history and promote quality time with friends and family. We can't wait to welcome you back in the summer; and hope love our glamping experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

quick stay

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: history
This is a quaint, beautiful old Hotel. The room was clean, the beds comfy, staff friendly. However, we arrived very late after midnight and had to leave very early the next morning. They gave us a room right next to another that was occupied, and the occupant had their tv blaring. It was late at night and we were very tired. That occupant was also up before us and made a lot of noise, Only complaint is why put guests next to each other when the hotel was obviously not full at all...we counted 10 cars in the parking lot? I will consider staying here again, but just a note to staff not to stack guests on top of eachother if you don't need to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Kaitlyn , Hotel Management
Hi Sally, Thank you for your review. We're glad to see that you enjoyed our beautiful location and friendly staff. I do apologize, however, for the noisy guests next door. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.