Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
It was a nice getaway for a romantic weekend. We enjoyed our stay. We would go there again. For the younger and youthful crowds, If you go out of the hotel and into the actual city, you have more to do as far as enjoying the nightlife.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're happy to read you had a nice getaway and your weekend with us was romantic. We look forward to your return here and hope we can work towards making your stay worth 5 stars!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The room was really hot , the jacuzzi was broken, but next day when I complain they changed me to another room but they don't even apologize, they didn't give me an upgrade same room that I paid before not even to make me feel happy after what happened , the staff is good and also the food in the restaurant they treat me really good. And at the end after I paid almost 600 for 2 days when I did the check out they charged me $50 more they told me hotels fee which I didn't know about
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 11789

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Nice ralaxing place..My only complaint and its probably because I own A Powerwash and Roof cleaning company is the exterior needs a pretty good bath that only a company like mine could do..Other than that we had a goodtime
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad your stay was relaxing and your overall experience was enjoyable! We hope we will see you back soon for an even better time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: food,samall lake
Cons: Tear down these "pre-war" barracks (see picture)
MOTEL room with heart shaped jacuzzi.... Running toilet.... Broken refrigirator... Shower unit "stone age"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to read you didn't like the look of the outside of those suites. The insides of them are very nice and provide a romantic atmosphere for our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as great

Posted May 6, 2016
Room stunk like old ciggaretes and they told us we were flooding the night club when we got in the jacuzzi. The jacuzzi is one of their main selling points
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to read your room smelled like cigarettes- we have a no smoking policy that some guests choose to break, unfortunately affecting your suite. We do clean them thoroughly and use cleaning agents and scented sprays to help with the odors in these instances; we'll follow up with the housekeeping supervisor to look at alternate solutions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a lot of updating.

Posted May 2, 2016
This hotel is nice but still stuck in the 80s. Pool in the room is falling apart. When your saying in the dining room Only count on 1 drink because refills are impossible! The food is a little better than hospital food! I went to eat out a couple of nights instead. Your better off going on a cruise and getting the suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to read you didn't have an enjoyable stay at our resort. We'll be sure to follow up with the dining room staff about being more attentive on refills. We're surprised to read you didn't like the food- the majority of our guests love the food at both breakfast and dinner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Wrong room.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
We arrived thirty minutes before check-in which was at 3 and our room wasn't ready, we reserved a room with balcony and lake view. At 3:30 they gave us a room. We drove to our room and our room was a suite which only had a window and felt like a box. We called the front desk to complain about getting the wrong room and they told us our room wasn't available yet and if we wanted to wait they would give us our room later. We decided to wait. Four hours later we went to the front desk again to inquire about our room and they gave us another room. This time the room had a balcony with a parking lot view, again we called to complain about getting the wrong room and again we were told our room wasn't available yet and if we were willing to wait they would give us a room. At around 8 we went back to the front desk and again they gave us a room. We drove to our room and our keys weren't working. They activated the keys and we went back to the room, it had a "balcony" like front with two plastic chairs and a lake view, which wasn't bad but it took them all that time and three rooms later to get us into the correct room. Horrible. They should have the rooms ready before the guests arrive and if for any reason they aren't ready they should tell their guest where they are sending them to. Not just give them any room when the room they booked isn't available. Horrible service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're very sorry to read about this and have followed up with management regarding your issues at check-in to ensure this does not happen again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Filthy jacuzzi

Posted Apr 26, 2016
First off the resort is beautiful, has many activities you can enjoy with your partner. I was very disappointed in my stay because I could not use my jacuzzi at all. I stood there for 2 nights and complained that the jacuzzi water was dirty and I was told someone from room service will come check it out. Nobody came! I complained at the front desk and someone was suppose to go up to the room to check it out and yet no one did. I had to buy my own cleaning products to wash the jacuzzi, my husband and I scrubbed the tub and let it sit for about 2 hours and then let the water run. After we filled it up again we still noticed the water was still filthy. It's not fair that I had to go out my way on my vacation to clean this tub after I paid enough money for my services. When I told the person at the front desk she acted so carefree and didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. I will never stay at this resort again after this horrible experience it was truly disgusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We're very sorry to read about the issues you had with the jacuzzi and have reported it to maintenance. Unfortunately, if a filter needs to be changed it may produce sediment and we apologize for that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

A couple reconnects

Posted Apr 25, 2016
We usually travel to the Caribbean but had to stay closer to home this year. This turned out to be the exact place we should have been at this time. The staff staff and the food were amazing. The gift shop was even affordable. Great picture packages available for keepsakes.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Wow! We're happy to read we could wind up being an even more enjoyable experience than if you had gone to the Caribbean. We're even happier to read our staff could be so accommodating and make sure your stay was incredibly memorable. We look forward to your return in the future!
4 out of 5
by Amanda D

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four star rating- we hope your next stay is worth 5 stars!