Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel with great views and pool (but beware!)

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel is set in the lovely Tuscan hills. Villa is well maintained and nice as are your hosts. Many good restaurants a short drive away. However, if you are there to enjoy a few peaceful days around the large, scenic pool, think again. Maybe to make needed additional funds, locals are charged to come and use the pool each day. That means it is full (no pool loungers left), often with 20 yr old kids from about 10am - 7pm. It is not conducive to quiet or relaxing. I would be ok with it if it was just the weekend and we had been informed of it prior but this goes on all week. Again a nice place and friendly people but you really can't just sit and enjoy a lazy day by the villa's gorgeous pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK

Excellent hotel with panoramic vista over the Arno

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Virtually everything!
Cons: It would be a good idea for the hotel to provide a small safe in each room and perhaps a small refrigerator
Location: Access is strictly by car because the hotel is well off the "beaten track" along steep and winding country lanes.
We received a very warm welcome from Gabriella & Christina who made every effort to make our stay a comfortable one. Most of the rooms have a panoramic vista from the balcony looking out over the valley of the Arno River and the wooded Tuscan countryside. The room was a good size and could accommodate three; The bathroom was very well appointed and the rooms have air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice; The hotel has its own restaurant and offers a very reasonably priced set menu each day. We were provided with a kettle and coffee & tea in the room. In the summer months there is a large swimming pool and sun terrace. What's not to love?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Great views and friendly people.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Overall I had a good stay and found the people helpful and friendly. The whole feel of the hotel was positive and the negative comments following only affected the first day. Unfortunately, on arrival, I had to search the hotel and get help from other guests to find the check in person. A notice said to ring the bell for reception but nobody answered either that or the phone. The appropriate person was busy with other duties and thought all guests were already checked in. He was quick to help when finally contacted. Late in the same day I had to ask twice for the canned music playing by the pool to be turned off (at about 1030pm). It had been left on by mistake after the pool closed and the speakers were facing my room. Both these things were dealt with and there was much else to commend. The restaurant for example is very pleasant and the food is good even if rather light on vegetables. The breakfast terrace is great with a tremendous view. Information in the room could be improved. It doesn't mention that breakfast and dinner are taken in different places for example and it would have been good to be given the wifi code without asking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel but very remote

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This hotel looks adorable from the outside but is very far away from everything so I do not recommend unless you have a car. Dinner was also very expensive and not worth it. Rooms were a little outdated and the air conditioning did not work. We informed staff of this and they told us they would come and check it out. We waited hours and they never did so we suffered through 2 very hot and stuffy sleepless nights. Do not recommend if you prefer a cooler, air conditioned room in the summer for sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Portland Oregon USA

Beautiful hotel in the Tuscany hills

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Villa La Malva. The location in the Tuscany hills is unmatched. The hotel was clean, staff were very courteous, and they even had a pool which we really enjoyed in the warm weather. No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura

Wonderful time

Posted Nov 19, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Gorgeous views, lovely room, staff were great and we really enjoyed the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great villa in a wonderful location...would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Murrieta, CA, USA

Great hotel in private setting

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Great hotel for couples with a car and sense of adventure.
Cons: nothing
Location: Awesome views, beautiful setting.
Very small quaint family owned and operated hotel in a beautiful setting. They were very accomodating and helpful. The dinners were outstanding. It is out of the way and I highly recomend only if you have a car and GPS system. We will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Tuscan hill hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Great hotel which feels deep in the Tuscan hills yet only a 20 minute drive from Florence. Very clean and great friendly staff. Would suggest you do need a car. Nice pool and terrace area. Driveway steep and gravel covered meaning lots of wheel spinning trying to get out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel la malva

Posted Apr 23, 2012
this small hotel is pleasant enough, ditto the owner, with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside, but falls down on three points:- 1. the heating is only turned on remotely by the owners at approx 7.30 pm and this is unsatisfactory on cold rainy April late afternoons, 2. much of the premises is an unfinished building site (the owners are creating 8 extra bedrooms plus swimming pool), and 3. the candle-lit dinners available on the two evenings we unwisely decided to dine in were served in a cold dining room and consisted of unappetising pasta & sauce, 'plastic' meat whether chicken or pork, straight out of the deep-freeze, which we were too hungry not to eat on our arrival & which we left mostly uneaten on the second occasion