Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel with great views and pool (but beware!)

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel is set in the lovely Tuscan hills. Villa is well maintained and nice as are your hosts. Many good restaurants a short drive away. However, if you are there to enjoy a few peaceful days around the large, scenic pool, think again. Maybe to make needed additional funds, locals are charged to come and use the pool each day. That means it is full (no pool loungers left), often with 20 yr old kids from about 10am - 7pm. It is not conducive to quiet or relaxing. I would be ok with it if it was just the weekend and we had been informed of it prior but this goes on all week. Again a nice place and friendly people but you really can't just sit and enjoy a lazy day by the villa's gorgeous pool.
5 out of 5
by Seth from Utah, USA

Wonderful and quiet stay

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
It was fantastic and we plan to return as soon as possible. Great view, warm and friendly staff, fantastic in-house cook, authentic Italian experience, family run. A bit far from Florence, but only a 20 minute train ride. Recommend highly. Do yourself a favor though and rent a car if you're staying here. Getting to and from the train station in the town closest can be tricky without one.
5 out of 5
by Bill from Maitland, NSW Australia

Beautiful villa in Tuscany.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Kristina and Gabriella were very friendly and helpful. The dinners at the restaurant were amazing. They provided a cheap transfer to the nearest railway station. It was a bit further from the station than we thought, but really enjoyed our time there. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Aberdeen

Honeymoon Stay

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
First night of our honeymoon. Clean and comfortable. Bed a bit hard but typical for a European hotel. Beautiful view from the patio for breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Maria from Sydney , Australia

Tuscan holiday

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely location and lovely owners .Only downside was our aircon wasnt working properly and caused us discomfort, otherwise it was a beautiful peaceful location .would recommend for any other season but summer as it gets quite warm around 35 plus degrees .
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Las Vegas

Nice Hotel and Very Nice Staff!

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to relax and escape the city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westgate-on-Sea, Kent, UK

Excellent hotel with panoramic vista over the Arno

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Virtually everything!
Cons: It would be a good idea for the hotel to provide a small safe in each room and perhaps a small refrigerator
Location: Access is strictly by car because the hotel is well off the "beaten track" along steep and winding country lanes.
We received a very warm welcome from Gabriella & Christina who made every effort to make our stay a comfortable one. Most of the rooms have a panoramic vista from the balcony looking out over the valley of the Arno River and the wooded Tuscan countryside. The room was a good size and could accommodate three; The bathroom was very well appointed and the rooms have air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice; The hotel has its own restaurant and offers a very reasonably priced set menu each day. We were provided with a kettle and coffee & tea in the room. In the summer months there is a large swimming pool and sun terrace. What's not to love?
5 out of 5
by tiffany from cleveland

great, great, great!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
I can't say enough positives about this place! The staff is wonderful, the rooms are large and clean. I had a wonderful balcony and view of the Tuscan countryside. The food was great too. I went here alone without a car. So for small surcharge the staff would drive me to the closest train stop abt 5min away. Buses run very often so it's easy to get into Florence or other cities at that point. The staff helped me with researching train times. Also free Wi-Fi! Loved it!!!
4 out of 5
by Spc61 from Oxfordshire

Lovely little hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Having had a tiring few days in Rome, this lovely little hotel was an oasis of tranquility, in a pretty village in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, not far from Florence. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, providing maps and booking our entry to the Uffizi Gallery in Florence, saving us hours of queuing. The room was finished to a very high quality and we had a lovely terrace overlooking the Arno valley. Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice but it hadn't been clear to us when we booked that they weren't included in the cost of the hotel. It would have been better if they had been as it would have been unlikely we'd have gone elsewhere for breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel on 3 nights. The food was great but limited and we could have done with some vegetables! Also, we had to pay for extras such as water and bread, but didn't realise this until we came to settle the final bill. This should have been made clear upfront. The hotel was well placed for exploring Tuscany, though one road back to the hotel was scary to say the least! All in all, we had a lovely stay at this charming hotel and would strongly recommend it if you're considering visiting this part of the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Great views and friendly people.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Overall I had a good stay and found the people helpful and friendly. The whole feel of the hotel was positive and the negative comments following only affected the first day. Unfortunately, on arrival, I had to search the hotel and get help from other guests to find the check in person. A notice said to ring the bell for reception but nobody answered either that or the phone. The appropriate person was busy with other duties and thought all guests were already checked in. He was quick to help when finally contacted. Late in the same day I had to ask twice for the canned music playing by the pool to be turned off (at about 1030pm). It had been left on by mistake after the pool closed and the speakers were facing my room. Both these things were dealt with and there was much else to commend. The restaurant for example is very pleasant and the food is good even if rather light on vegetables. The breakfast terrace is great with a tremendous view. Information in the room could be improved. It doesn't mention that breakfast and dinner are taken in different places for example and it would have been good to be given the wifi code without asking.