Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Upscale Motor Lodge Near Ocean

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Upon arriving at the lodge I was a little disappointed that it was a motor lodge which I did not expect and it was right off the road. However everything went uphill from there. Steve the host is excellent and everything from check in to cocktails and dinner was terrific. Elegantly set table for dinner, nice room, flowers everywhere and a pool and hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Coast, USA

Very Expensive, but Worth It

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, well-equipped clean spacious room.
Cons: This facility was very expensive
Location: Suggest taking the full day kayak tour available from Golden Bay kayaks
The Ratanui Lodge is directly across the street from the beach in Pohara. Steve, one of the owners is very friendly and very helpful. You have a choice of a continental breakfast or a cooked breakfast and cocktails and a Prix Fixe single-choice dinner menu is available in the evening. Suggest trying this dinner at least once during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great place to chill out

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Opposite beach, even more great beaches nearby especially if you like a challenging drive
Walked into the lobby and just new it was going to be a great place, spacious , clean, good atmosphere. The room was just as good facing on to the gardens. I forgot to say luxurious. We ate there on 2 occasions food was amazing best meals we have had in nz. Steve was knowledgeable about places to go and went out of his way to help. Not forgetting it had a spa and pool.
5 out of 5
by Silvia

Best WiFi ever

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
The Lodge Is very nice. Hospitality Great. Dinners were superbe. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA (USA)

Nice room, wonderful food, friendly people.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, safe, comfortable lodge. Great food, wonderful people. Right across the street from the beach, very near Able Tasman National Park. Much to do.
Cons: Everything was perfect. I wish we could have stayed much longer.
Location: Beach (a lot of it!), hiking / treking, waterfalls, kayaking, horseback riding.
My wife and I stayed at the Ratanui Lodge for two days in early December and only wish we could have stayed much longer. Our room was great, the staff were extremly friendly and the resturant was fantastic. A very special thanks to Steve who helped make our stay very memorable. This is a somewhat small, pleasant lodge (I think 10 rooms) and has alot of character and class. If your in this part of New Zealand do yourself a favor and stay a night or two (have dinner and a drink also).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very clean , service great , friendly hosts , lovely 3 course meal and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Beautiful location and excellent stay

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Everything was absolute perfection. Very beautiful accommodations, tasty breakfast and lively conversation with other guests.
Cons: Nothing. Everything was great.
Location: Abel Tasman National Park, Cape Farewell, Farewell Spit, Pupu Springs, and much much more.
Steve was a wonderful host! The rooms and reception/breakfast area are beautiful and charming. Very clean. Fantastic scenic attractions abound in the area here. The service we received was far and away beyond anything we ever expected. We loved our stay so much that we extended it for another night. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson

Quiet relaxed refined accomodation close to Pohara

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
We had a warm welcome,offered tea or coffee brought to our room on arrival.Our room was immaculate Beautiful pool spa and garden area.Cosy fire in lounge in the evening.highly recommend and will stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very nice hotel in quiet location

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Nice, clean rooms. Large, modern bathrooms. Good location to explore the area. Extremely helpful staff. Very well priced for the amenities.
Location: The Grove is just a 5 minute drive and very cool. Takaka is less than 15 minutes away. Pupu Springs about 20 minutes. One hour to Wharariki Beach.
The rooms and bathrooms were very large. Breakfast was simple but delicious. We ate dinner at Ratanui one night and it was great. Steve couldn't be more helpful or accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Wotif
One of the best that we have stayed at. Extremely well presented, lovely people, amazing food, awesome rooms. Absolutely wonderful. We will be back..