Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Escape to the country

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything. The gardens, the décor, the service, the meals, the location 100 out of 100
Cons: Don't change anything
Location: Fantastic beach walk or swim, heaps to do on the water if inclined or just watching other people playing about in canoes wind yachts etc
We were looking for a relaxing time . Every single aspect of our stay was faultless. Exceeded all expectations not only was the personal details, very classy service, attention to detail and the extra were really pleasant touches we were not expecting. Steve's genuine helpfulness made our stay even better than we expected, we don't usually go to the same place twice but this was possibly the best stay anywhere in New Zealand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian I from Auckland NZ

Great stay

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Excellant lodge to stay, great services from the host Steve, great dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from scotland

Peaceful Boutique hotel, near to the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: We cant think of anything
Location: It is close to all the attractions of Golden Bay - the most distant is Collingwood, 30 minutes away, where the Farewell Spit ecotours start.
We were greeted with complementary coffee, and strawberries as we arrived, and this high standard was maintained throughout our stay. The sit restaurant fixed menu meals were superb - 3 courses, on 3 days, each perfect, and with excellent wies to accompany the food. We would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing was too much trouble for our host who also arrang a delicious packed lunch for us on our departure.
Location: Beautiful walks along the Abel Tasman Coast
We arrived at Ratanui after a long drive to be greeted by a very friendly host who made us afternoon tea. The rooms were extremely well furnished and comfortable. We also arranged to have our evening meal here which was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Bucks, UK

Great stay

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Brilliant location. Friendly and helpful. Charming host.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Amazing service and welcome
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Bargain; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from New Zealand

Great service with a genuine smile

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Superb service and great experience all round. Very helpful staff and service with a genuine smile. We had hire car problems and the owner/manager even offered to loan us his own personal car while we waited for a replacement car to be delivered. You only get what you pay for with any hotel and whilst the rates are a little more than normal it is certainly worth it if you like quality and comfort.
5 out of 5
by Rex from New Zealand - Marlborough

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Service, these people could teach others on how to treat guests.
Place immaculatley clean, hosts had great attitude and very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Golden bay kayaks. Great customer service and overall kayaking experience.
This is the first 5 I have ever rated an accomodation. Can't thnk of anything that could be done better. They do it right!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jerry Sue from Albuquerque, NM, USA

Highly Recommended!

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels
Ratanui is a beautiful place, in a perfect location (directly across from the beach in Pohara). Each room is beautifully furnished and decorated with antiques, and the garden and common areas are wonderful. The breakfast was the best "continental" breakfast we've had, and is included in the price of the room. (We didn't have dinner there, but we hear that they're very good.) Steve, the manager, is incredibly friendly and helpful without being overly intrusive.