Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Welcoming, attentive, quiet, comfortable, excellent meals, value for money
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A memorable stay in a high quality lodge!

Posted Mar 9, 2018 on Hotels
Great lodge to stay in. It is up-market accommodation where the hosts go out of their way to make you comfortable and the service is outstanding. The rooms are furnished with lovely furniture and the en-suite bathrooms are large. Would recommend. The fantastic Abel Tasman area speaks for itself - a great place to explore and do some walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

First class small motel experience.

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Very welcoming. 5 star experience in a small coastal town beside the world class hiking and beauty of Abel Tasman National Park. All of the dinners and wine pairing were simply amazing. This was our best stay in the 2 weeks on the South Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK and Devonport

Very Special service.

Posted Feb 11, 2018 on Wotif
Pros: The availability of help at any time
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The Abel Tasman is nearby. What more can you say.
Outstanding service and awesome help with excursions. Great comfort. Steve, prop.. couldn't do enough and the sense of humour was catching. Food among the best eaten in NZ.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Personalized, comfortable lodge

Posted Jan 17, 2018 on Hotels
30 minutes drive to Abel Tasman Park. Great service; we dined there twice. Well hosted small Lodge. Very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018 on Hotels
Wonderful British atmosphere and very comfortable and the garden was amazing. Perfekt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Exceptional elegance, comfort, and very friendly!

Posted Jan 10, 2018
From the moment we arrived and were warmly greeted, we felt pampered and cared for by Steve and Pete. Our room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. Great big shower with great water pressure, lovely continental breakfast service on gorgeous china, and helpful laminated directions to local hiking trails. Dinner of beef fillets and vegetables preceded by gazpacho was every bit as good as the best restaurants in Auckland and elsewhere. Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Complete Experience

Posted Dec 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Everything really but it’s friendly atmosphere and attention to detail reflect the owners and staff
Location: The beach
From being met at the car when we arrived to the friendly wave goodbye when we left Ratanui Lodge oozes with charm and friendliness. This also encourages the guests to interact with each other if they so wish and share experiences and ideas of where they might like to visit in the area. Steve also gives information of the hi lights of Golden Bay. The decor of the lodge is comfortably old worldly and lovely and the bathrooms are excellent as is dining room and lounge. A small pool adds to the experience even though The beach is over the road. The gardens are magnificent and well cared for. Ratanui Lodge tucked away in Pohara Golden Bay is a little gem and we certainly hope to return some time and as we live on Nelson this is a distinct possibility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasman New Zealand

Location, service, accommodation - nailed it.

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Wotif
The reviews I read before booking were spot on. The hosts were delightful and very helpful and knowledgeable. The room was clean, welcoming and the bed very comfortable. The personal touches made you feel ‘special’ and genuinely welcom. Cocktails in the lounge are a must do and thoroughly enjoyable. I dined in the restaurant at a table that had been set properly (very rare these days!) with a cloth and silverware and the food was delicious. Continental Breakfast was included and plentiful with cooked being available for an extra charge. This is a jewel of a place with hosts and service to match. It will be Pohara’s loss when they move on to their next venture but I wish them all the very best, they deserve it. Thank you Pete and Steve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in a very beautiful corner of NZ

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Wotif
Immediately felt at home with the owners' friendly and welcoming approach, attention to detail etc.