Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kilsyth South

Really enjoyed our stay.

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were very friendly.
Cons: Put a light around the back, as you go under the carport it was very dark and we may have tripped over.
Location: The location was great.
The only complaint we had was when arriving back to the room late, there was no light outside so we could take the stairs up the the Captains Cabin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Tranquil, excellent location.

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Peaceful and quiet, a real place to chill! We loved the garden. There was a large fully equipped kitchen for cooking and also barbecues outside.
Cons: The rooms are very cramped. The first room we went to had no hanging space,or table or armchair, very basic.The hotel is in need of general repair.
Location: This hotel is close to the lighthouse and a short walk to many beaches, and the shopping strip with great cafes. no restaurants open at night.
This is a historical old guesthouse we had passed by many times in the past. Lovely but needing maintenance. Our room was very small and quite dark and we asked if we could move to a room overlooking the garden. This was no problem at all! Our room looked onto the beautiful back garden and pool area, and we had a little deck outside. We enjoyed the peaceful garden and swimming in the pool. The shops and beach just a very short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm hospitality in historic hotel.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Delicious dinner and breakfast in beautiful dining room. Family room has separate bedrooms and worked well for two couples. Delightful owners.
4 out of 5
by Neville

Quiet, quaint but NOT quirky

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely position - right at Port Phillip Heads, with the Rip, Port Phillip Bay and Bass Strait all within 200 metres. Nicely done out guesthouse, with friendly receptionist. Quiet too. our room was cool (without aircon.) but rooms facing the west (ours was to the east) would have been too warm with the 34 degree day and quite mild night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Average

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Wotif
Was very old. Too expensive for what you get. No air conditioning or heating. Colder inside than out. Very basic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay. I had the most basic room they have.

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Wotif
Rooms clean. Old building so expect basic. Will be cold in winter as no insulation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darwin NT

Family Favourite right next to the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: It's charm and location
A family favourite we have been coming here for years - with in short walking distance of a family friendly beach and just around the corner from a surf beach - this hotel meets all our needs. Large lawns, swimming pool and great guest kitchen to enjoy family BBQs, this year we ran into a bit of car trouble and couldn't check out at the prescribed 10am - the manager and staff were friendly, kind and understanding! I am sure we will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and shops great views

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Wotif
Staff very friendly and service was excellent 10/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely wee place to stay. Walking distance to shops, cafes, beach and lighthouse. Staff are lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: decor and service was great.. really clean.
Cons: Always nice to freshen carpet with so many people walking through, but other than that nothing, loved the room.
Location: walking distance to beach and coffee shops/cafe.. beautiful beach at point lonsdale, 10 minutes from queenscliff port with great shops..
we stayed in captains cabin, loved the space and decor of place. For someone who is prone to motion sickness this is the next best thing. my husband and i spent our 20th anniversary here and loved it.. management allowed late check out which was great too.. would definitely go back and room has 2 single beds so could also bring the kids. amble space for a couple of nights stay..